We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Muy Bien”

Shiraz Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Shiraz Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #265 of 1,261 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Set in the Heart of Newcastle City Centre near the infamous Bigg Market, Shiraz offers a fusion of beautiful, authentic Indian Cuisine within a stylish, contemporary setting. Our newly refurbished 100-seat restaurant caters from individual dining to large groups.For a truly rewarding dining experience, you can find us up the stairs on the first floor of 39b Groat Market.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Muy Bien”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our second visit to Shiraz although we didn't write a review last time thought we would put pen to paper this time. From the minute we entered the restaurant we were made to feel welcome by friendly staff. We were swiftly shown to our table and served by a very polite and multilingual waitress who was happy to converse in Spanish for a laugh. The service that followed was excellent as was all of the food. Although we used a woucher the portions and free popadoms and pickles were no different to what we would have paid had we not had one.

We will definately be back as we were given a 50% off discount of all food when we next return.

Muchas gracias

Lorraine and Peter

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    74
    38
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
92 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Absolutely Fantastic Service”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Another excellent visit to Shiraz. As always we were made to feel welcome from the moment we entered and looked after until we left.

We were a party of six and the service was great. Sometimes when visiting other restaurants the service drops a little when you have a larger party, however, not here. We all had different starters; Shiraz Chicken Tikka, Onion Bargee, Garlic Chilli Prawns, Vegetable Cutlets. The chilli Prawns were amazing!

Our main courses ranged from; Vindaloo, Korma, Tikka Masala and a couple of vegetarian dishes and the were all fantastic. If you fancy any dish made either hotter or cooler the chef is always happy to oblige. All of the courses are competitively priced so a visit will not break the bank but the quality of food served is excellent.

I have to say this is one of our favourite restaurants and we are never disappointed after a visit. Thank you to all the staff for making us feel like friends rather than customers.......

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stormy0507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
““Lovely restuarant ””
Reviewed 15 May 2014


It Was Briliant i Was last night with my boyfrend end it was superrrrrrrrrr underful staf verryy lovley end will bek sunn

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Serban000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable evening”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We were visiting Newcastle for a mid week break to see Michael Bolton at the city hall , and decided to visit Shiraz once again. The food and service was once again excellent, so good that we visited again the next evening. We had two very enjoyable evenings and we will definitely be returning in the not too distant future.
The food was delicious

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“great find”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We were here last night, and were pleasantly suprised! Went with voucher, and were shown very promptly to our table, by a lovely young waitress. Popadoms and dips followed, as we ordered drinks.The food was delicious, and the staff were always on hand to attend to extra drinks etc. All in all a pleasant experience, and we will certainly return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karentimmins53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Indian Cuisine also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing