We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”

Shiraz Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Shiraz Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #281 of 1,266 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in the Heart of Newcastle City Centre near the infamous Bigg Market, Shiraz offers a fusion of beautiful, authentic Indian Cuisine within a stylish, contemporary setting. Our newly refurbished 100-seat restaurant caters from individual dining to large groups.For a truly rewarding dining experience, you can find us up the stairs on the first floor of 39b Groat Market.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We were very impressed with the food, tasty and the lamb dish i had was very tender. The staff were attentive and friendly. The only down side was we had to wait for 50 minutes between our starter and main which was rather frustrating but the restaurant was busy at the time. Will be going back again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    74
    38
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Lovely welcoming staff made this a great meal. The food was plentiful and delicious with a great range of choice including lots of vegetarian options - and quorn chicken if you wanted it in replacement for any of the chicken options. The meat dishes were cooked excellently and full of flavour. Would recommend this restaurant for its excellent value, taste and friendly staff.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutely lovely in every way”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

the food , the people and the atmosphere was perfect . it wasn't to expensive , the prices are inline with most indian restaurants. The flavours in the food stood out so they are memorable . the poeple working their were very polite and respectful . i really hope to see this restaurant still there in another ten year ,I will definitely be recommending and visiting again .

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank motan546800mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The outside of this restaurant does not do it justice. It is just a doorway as the restaurant is upstairs so not much to show but once we stepped inside the service was just amazing! We were very impressed from the start and just hoped our food would be as good. We were in luck as the food was outstanding. I can easily say this was the best indian cuisine I have ever had. The service continued to be very, very good. The staff were polite whilst also being very friendly and they also made very good suggestions on what to eat. All of their meals can be cooked to be mild or hot so they cater to everyone. We will be back!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great time!”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Me and my girlfriend went to Shiraz after a long day of shopping! First thing we noticed that other trip advisor reviewers mention was its looks. Outside was just a door way well painted and tidy. The inside however was well lit and clean! Personally we felt that it was rather pleasant!

We were greet and shown our table straight away and ordered our drinks! Quickly and friendly. The staff was well prepared for a busy night and were very friendly and chatty! We ordered our food and it came in no time! We both had lamb sheesh kebabs and they were incredible!! Very soft and juicy with a hint of spice! Fantastic!

After that our main came. My girlfriend got South Indian chilli chicken: 'it was amazing' she said. Sweet and succulent! She was very impressed! I got Chicken Tikka Garam Masala and it was superb! Very rich and great tasting! Rice was good fluffy and lots of it! Garlic naan was garlicky and soft with doughy crust! My perfect naan! Haha

The toilets were small and cramped. Yet...there were absolutely spotless. That's a good thing. Couldn't complain at all!

Overall it was good value. Great food. Great service. Great looks. A great restaurant!

Will be returning in the near future! Cheers guys!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Finlay V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Indian Cuisine also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing