We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food ”

Shiraz Indian Cuisine
Reserve with OpenTable
Shiraz Indian Cuisine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #276 of 1,266 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$32
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Set in the Heart of Newcastle City Centre near the infamous Bigg Market, Shiraz offers a fusion of beautiful, authentic Indian Cuisine within a stylish, contemporary setting. Our newly refurbished 100-seat restaurant caters from individual dining to large groups.For a truly rewarding dining experience, you can find us up the stairs on the first floor of 39b Groat Market.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food ”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I visited Shiraz mid week with a groupon voucher. We arrived about 10 minutes before it opened but they kindly sat us down and served us, with complimentary popadoms on arrival too! The waitress was very polite and friendly. She helped us to choose two great dishes. I had the Chicken Jaipur Jeera and it was very authentic tasting- a little spicy but not too hot. Best curry I have had in a long time! People started to come in from about 6pm as they have a happy hour every night from 6-8pm where you get a main, rice, drink and popadoms for under a tenner each- really good value especially for the quality of the food and service.

Helpful?
3 Thank nicola b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    214
    74
    38
    25
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is somewhere I would never go back to. I will be honest we went using a Groupon voucher and it was obvious from other tables being served that we were on much poorer servings. The food was poor, with little flavour. 2 courses plus popadoms was over and done in 45 minutes.

Helpful?
2 Thank Caroline E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surina C, Public Relations Manager at Shiraz Indian Cuisine, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
Good Morning,

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant.

We are sorry you did not enjoy your time with us at Shiraz, however I can assure you we DO NOT discriminate anyone who comes in on a Groupon voucher. All of our customers are treated equally and our aim is to ensure you enjoy your experience with us so you then return.

When a customer comes in on a discount voucher our chefs are not aware so they do not cook anything differently nor do they change portion sizes. As you can see from the rest of the reviews on trip advisor no other Groupon customer has felt they have had inferior treatment and we feel this is an unfair impression of our restaurant.

If you could email me at Surina@shirazcuisine.co.uk it would be much appreciated.

Kind regards
Surina Collins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous Groupon”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Purchased this groupon and my husband wasn't too sure as a few years ago we went here and walked straight out again. However we were thoroughly pleased that it's been taken over and it is now outstanding. The staff couldn't do enough to help they were ever so friendly and even with stag parties, the atmosphere was buzzing and friendly - girls who were serving were very proud of their restaurant.
Food was top quality and we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“OK, not outstanding”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Went midweek on a business trip. Had the set menu which was fairly good value at £9.99, but a drink and a couple of extras still bumped it up closer to the typical £20 mark. Can't really say much more than it was OK...Food, ambiance service was satisfactory but not much of a wow factor. Maybe better at weekend when there would be a few more people in; or maybe I'm being a little unfair as eating out on business on your own isn't the best experience (Billy no-mates in the corner !)

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont be put off by the exterior and Steep Steps !!!!”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Gorgeous food, mountains of it. Nothing too much trouble for any of the staff. Very friendly, very accommodating. Ordered through Groupon and to be honest we were worried as to what to expect. One of the best Indians we have had, Lamb chops to start with was delicious and the Lamb main dishes were divine. Drinks are reasonable around £2.00 for soft and £3.50 for alcohol. And to top it all off a 50% discount voucher for next time !!!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee-ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shiraz Indian Cuisine also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Shiraz Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing