We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace & Quiet”

Cafe Rouge - Newcastle
Ranked #186 of 1,261 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Café Rouge Newcastle is a French restaurant serving a delicious all-day menu of classic French dishes with a contemporary twist, from steak frites and boeuf bourguignon to a selection of croques and baguettes ideal for a quick meal. Whatever the time of day - breakfast, lunch, dinner or anytime in between - we have a dish to suit your mood. We also host a live music night every Thursday evening from 6pm.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace & Quiet”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Had dinner with my son early doors evening. Food excellent and service very good. Price very reasonable, with discount voucher! Would recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank GIL P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    109
    63
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Never a bad experience”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The food at Cafe Rouge seems to be constantly of a good consistent quality (unlike other chains).

Lots to choose from and usually not too badly priced. Though, some of the more expensive dishes are perhaps why they always seem so quiet, in comparison to other chain restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ponteland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lost its appeal”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

15 years ago I really enjoyed going to Cafe Rouge (Cheltenham and Plymouth where my daughter went to university so great for a meal when we went to see her). At the time it seemed a bit different, usually had a bit of a buzz, and the prices were OK for what was on offer. Now I find Cafe Rouge usually fairly quiet and the service has been pretty grim. shame.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food great wine”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

Great place with a definite French feel to it.food and wine both great and good choice of desert.I will recommend it to anyone that wants to feel like he is somewhere else but the Uk.service was good and not on top of us while eating.

Helpful?
Thank Iordanis G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Pre-theatre dinner”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was the first time we had been to Cafe Rouge and only went there because my son had bought me a gift card for my birthday,you have to pre-book which is very advisable.
On arrival we were shown to our table by a very friendly waitress who gave us a table towards the back away from the bar area,we were given a menu and were given plenty of time to choose.we chose the 3 course option which was £15 a person and we were not disappointed with the portion size,there was soup,salmon or chicken salad for starters,fish cakes,chicken for mains and apricot cake or ice cream for dessert.
Through out the waitress was very helpful and made sure we had everything and didn't push us to have more drinks.when we paid the bill we got a voucher for a breakfast which was buy one get one free.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Rouge - Newcastle also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Cafe Rouge - Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing