We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be put of by venue, food is great.”

Sky Chinese Cuisine
Ranked #227 of 1,262 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Sky Chinese Cuisine is a traditional Hong Kong style restaurant located in the heart of Chinatown Newcastle. Serving Dim Sum, Hotpot and a full menu all day, every day - Sky Chinese Cuisine prides itself on delivering delicious food, in a friendly and welcoming environment.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't be put of by venue, food is great.”
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Nice little restaurant, although you need to take a lift from the street to enter the restaurant.
Food is good to great depending on the mood of the chefs but service can be slow and grumpy so you need to wave a lot if you need another drink with your meal !! However, GREAT value for money.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    61
    20
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Durham
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fine Food, Slow Service!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

3 people, 2 courses plus 3 drinks, £50. Good value as the food never disappoints. The service on the other hand does. We were sat for around 5 minutes waiting for our drinks order to be taken and another 5 for them to arrive. We waited another 10-15 minutes to place our food order and waited around 30 minutes for it to arrive! We went after the lunch rush to avoid such delays. The restaurant was not busy at all but still we waited. In fact I'm still waiting for coffee I ordered which hasn't arrived yet. That said, the food is fantastic and I like the atmosphere and old fashioned decor so I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kazntoneDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Street Elevator to the taste of Hong Kong”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

China Town Stowell Street lots of really good choices and prices, went out last minute for a meal with my wife and fancied a change. Noticed the street elevator taking you up 2 floors to a very clean and organised restaurant. We were greeted and seated with ease. services was superb and food was excellent a set menu reasonably priced and added Dim Sum. Wine and tea was very pleasant, A must visit for the fans of Cantonese dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Too noisy, too ordinary.”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Sky is access through lifts on the ground floor so disabled access is great. The layout of the restaurant is very chaotic and like every typical chinese restaurant. Chinese Restaurants need to bring their interiors to the 21st century. This interior is dated, mundane and stereotypically your quintessential chinese restaurant. Your old style karaoke machine that hasn't change in many a year to the dated walls and poor design. Do we really what to see exposed hot water machines and doggy bag containers, tissues.... all which should be kept in the kitchen and out of sight. These restauranteurs could take some tips from modern day restaurants on how a restaurant should look and run. The noise is the other major factor, the decibel metre would run off the scale- you couldn't hear your neighbours voice. The food was your typical chinese cuisine that was good at best, not excellent like at Happiness Inn.
Good chinese food, nothing special.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dennisnufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good food, quirky service.”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Been a few times now and we're finding that we like this place more and more. When Mango's closed down I was desperate for some real Ho Fan Singapore Noodles (Mango's were the best in the world) and Andrew at Landmark pointed me towards Sky. Thank you so much.

Access is odd being via a small lift or a very industrial type staircase but don't let it put you off. Inside the place is fine, a large airy room and bright. The service is strange at times but I go for the food and not to be pampered and mollycoddled by someone just wanting a large tip.

They get the bill mixed up, and sometimes they get the order wrong, but it's always put right and they are always pleasant about it. The prompt service makes up for the few shortfalls.

My family have been with us twice and they love the place. The Salt & Pepper Spare Ribs are succulent, sweet and savoury. The Smoked Chicken Shreds are second only to Ho Ho's (late of Kensington) and the Dim Sum selection is as good as anywhere we've been to. We have a 4 month young grandson and the staff are understanding and accommodating. A real family welcome. In fact I think I'll go again tomorrow!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sky Chinese Cuisine also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Sky Chinese Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing