We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Handmade Burger Co

Handmade Burger Co
Ranked #173 of 1,243 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
317 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

This place was great. We ate here on a Friday lunch time during half term and the place was spotless even through it was busy. The staff were friendly and fast. We opted for the lunch time special which was burger and chips and a soft drink for £6.50. The portion sizes were good and the food arrived quickly and hot.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hsasmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    71
    28
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great burgers, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

A great choice of food on the menu but I just ordered a "Classic" burger - it was lovely and tasty and along with the huge bowl of chips to share, the whole experience made for a pleasant evenings meal. The restaurant was busy but the food came quickly and the staff were so nice, nothing seemed too much trouble. I have eaten at a couple of restaurants in this chain and at both the staff are fantastic. I shall be going there again and suggest you try it too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pimartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OMG!!! This place is fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I came in yesterday for some midday lunch, and what can I say apart from it was the best restaurant I have eaten in! The food was hot and fresh and them chips are to die for! I went in for the 6.50 lunch deal what amazing value for money would recommend to any one passing by the gate to pop in for a visit the staff where great Simon and Michaela where so polite and helpful they made me feel right at home.. Safe to say I will be returning before the weekend ends :D

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank maggs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best burgers in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is a great place for a special burger. The staff are always very helpful and polite. The burgers are delicious. The chips are some of the best we have ever had. The milkshakes alone make this place worth a visit. There is also the option of ordering a 'bun-less' burger if you prefer a low carb option. Both the Gate and the Metro Centre locations are equally good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Holidayfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Food lovely, service so-so”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

Visited here for a pre-cinema meal. The food itself was really nice, no complaints. The service however was so-so. There were 2 people in our party, we queued up at the same time to order and there was a member of staff on each of the 2 tills however once my friend had started to get served the other staff member promptly walked away from their till (a girl with pink/purple hair) leaving me unserved and having to queue until my friend had finished ordering. I was then served by Fernando who was friendly and efficient. Upon getting back to the table, my friend who was already back advised that he was given a loyalty card when served. I was served by the same person but not offered a loyalty card. So service a bit hit and miss here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hpooljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Handmade Burger Co also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Gateshead, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Handmade Burger Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing