We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The BEST holiday cottage EVER!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
67 reviews
View from the hot tub
View from cottage
Cottage garden
view from cottage
The girls out in the garden with the Colonnel
The comfortable Chaise long.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter G
Knottingley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“The BEST holiday cottage EVER!”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

We tend to holiday in the UK, and have rented holiday cottages up and down the country. We have now stayed at Petty Knowes Cottage on 3 occasions and have loved it every time. It is, by far, our favourite holiday rental.

Situated in beautiful countryside, at the top of a hill, the location is perfect and the owners, Gordon and Joanne, could not make you more welcome. The property is very tastefully decorated, comfortable and well equipped. Most holiday rentals have poorly equipped kitchens, not so at Petty Knowes, where they even provide an expresso coffee maker! A welcome picnic basket and bottle of wine are provided, and you will also find shampoo, conditioner, shower gel and moisturizer in the bathroom, which has a fantastic walk-in shower.

There is a hot tub and sauna for the guests to use, and the recent addition of the "gin room" gives an extra space in which to relax. The real fire is very cozy on cold winter evenings.

There are some good National Trust properties nearby, and the Scottish border is only a short drive away, making the cottage a great base to use whilst exploring the surrounding area. The fact that we've stayed there 3 times (so far) and have always found plenty of things to do, shows that the location is perfect.

I have recommended Petty Knowes to some friends, and they have now stayed there twice, and are planning a third trip. What more recommendation do you need?!!

I could go on and on and on, but I will finish by saying, go find out for yourselves, you won't be disappointed. (Dogs are welcome too).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2016
Thank you very, very much for your kind review. To have guests leaving us feeling refreshed and full of life is really important to us. To see guests coming back to us as 'return offenders' or friends is even more gratifying! Hoping to see you both very soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
missljw
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best cottage we've stayed in!”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We stayed here a while back now - didn't know they were on trip advisor at the time. But what an amazing little cottage!
On arrival Joanne and Gordon the owners were lovely and very welcoming, we arrived very late due to bad traffic and they had put a few nibbles out for us which was a lovely touch. As it was my birthday they also did a little birthday package. Everything you could need was in the cottage to make it home from home.
Sitting in the hot tub in an evening with a clear outlook around you and starry skies makes the experience even better.
Couldn't have asked for anything more, and if I had felt the need to I'm sure it would have been accommodated.
It's a very rural location which is what we were after for a quiet romantic break away, nice walks and villages nearby to see. But not to long to get to bigger towns.
Overall it was a fabulous weekend we had here and we will be back in the near future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry9999
1 review
“Relaxing get away!”
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015

We have been twice now, the stay was fantastic both times. It's great to get away from it all and stay in a lovely relaxing and quiet location. Great for dogs and pubs/shop a short drive from cottage. View was amazing, welcome pack and information provided in the guest book was fab! The owners are lovely too. Can't recommend enough. Looking forward to our next visit :)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 January 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
futuraair
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“VISITING IS A MUST”
Reviewed 20 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A beautiful stone cottage set in beautiful countryside but with all the mod cons and comforts of home. Animal friendly and fantastic hosts who make you feel like part of the family.

Perfect to take some time out of our very busy day to day life and relax outside in the hot tub before going into the sauna for some me time.

I would thoroughly recommend a visit here!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home away from home
Liked least: Having to leave.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
1 review
“Fantasic! A beautiful cottage in a glorious setting.”
Reviewed 27 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Warm and gracious hosts, you will want for nothing in this lovely old cottage with every modern amenity. Great, great, great!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning fires, the hot tub, the sauna, the decor, coffee machine……….
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malcysbab...
Cleveland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Absolutely fabulous, didn't want to leave !!”
Reviewed 15 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Love it, love it, love it!! What an absolutely perfect little haven. Cottage is decorated throughout to a very high standard, however, for us it was the attention to detail that put the cherry on the cake. On arrival we were met by the very welcoming owners Joanne and Gordon who proceeded to give us a guided tour. The cottage was spotlessly clean, lovely sized living area, kichen was very well equipped like home from home, also what a fantastic welcome basket which was greatly appreciated, homemade scones, cream, jam, butter, sandwiches, quiche and rocky road bake which was amazing not forgetting the bottle of wine also!! The bedroom is fantastic, yet again its the little quirky signs, tea lights and love hearts hanging all around the cottage that make it a lovely romantic retreat ♥. As if all that wasn't enough there is a massive hot tub that you are allowed the use of. I can't emphasise enough just how magical it is sitting in a hot tub in the dark and I mean its dark, watching stars shoot across the sky, for us, utterly breathtaking!! So, all in all I can honestly say that it is the best cottage we've ever been in, and we've stayed in quite a few. Planning our next visit already. Happy days :-D thank you again to Joanne and Gordon (eggs for breakfast in the morning) haha

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing