We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious authentic Italian food and drink.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Di Marco Caffe

Di Marco Caffe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$6
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Delicious authentic Italian food and drink.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Popped in here for a coffee but got enticed by the food menus on the wall and ordered two salads. They were delicious, fresh ingredients and good value. Very simple but filling and the coffee was superb, full of flavour and creamy.
Will be back to sample the plentiful Italian dessert selection another time.
Lovely bustling small cafe, service is excellent and outside seating on Grey Street when the suns out is lush!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    16
    3
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy in the heart of Newcastle Upon Tyne”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Get the Italian experience at this friendly city centre caffe that provides top quality Italian coffee, hot chocolate, tea, wine, beers, croissants, cakes, ice cream, pasta, sandwiches and salads. There are special deals on coffee and cake as well as pasta dishes and a glass of wine. Always a friendly welcome from the English speaking staff. Ambient Italian music plays as you sit and enjoy your drinks or food whether chatting with friends or simply watching the world go by. You can sit in doors or there is a pavement sitting area if you prefer to be outside. The number of regulars or customers returning is a recommendation in itself, proof that folk are more than satisfied with the drink, food and service. If you want to try a little Italian, the staff will help you to get it right.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Crap experience ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

The waitresses didn't speak very good English, and didn't understand that I wanted something slightly different to what was on the menu. When I got my food, it was wrong. The waitresses didn't speak when the food was put on the table which I found rude.

Helpful?
1 Thank SianRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Wonderful coffee and cannoli to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

Costa was packed and as we walked down Grey Street I spotted a man sitting outside of this little gem and liked the look of the coffee he was drinking. Went in and had a couple of cappuccino, absolutely excellent. Had another and a cannolo which was the best I have tasted since Sicily. It's time to support small independent coffee shops like this and it will be our regular stop when in Newcastle. Not to be missed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John_Delap044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Amazing Coffee and Cake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

This little treasure is amazing. The expresso is the best in town and the cakes are tremendous. Relaxed atmosphere and very tidy and efficient premises. I suspect they will be needing bigger premises when word of mouth spreads.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Di Marco Caffe also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Di Marco Caffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing