We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but that's about it.”
Review of Grey Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grey Street Hotel
matmat69
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location but that's about it.”
Reviewed 15 October 2013 via mobile

Booked a "mystery hotel," in Newcastle which ended up being this one. Now the mystery has been revealed we won't be back! It's location is perfect, in the city centre with bars, restaurants and shops on its doorstep. No parking is provided but car parks are at close hand, a full day or two will set you back a few pounds mind. Sadly the hotel itself has been a massive disappointment. The glossy website describes it as a boutique hotel but our room was more broom cupboard. It was small and next to a restaurant extractor fan which was very loud. No warning of this was given at any stage. The in room lamp did not work and we had one towel despite the booking being for two people. Simple short comings I have never encountered before. The city itself either saves the hotel or gives licence for the poor standards we have encountered.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank matmat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are sorry to hear about your disappointment with your recent visit. I'm afraid due to our location of city centre we have no parking facilities however as stated there are a range of nearby car parks for you to use. We are sorry to hear that your room did not meet up to your standards and apologies about the mistake of only receiving one towel. Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    176
    112
    49
    18
See reviews for
47
210
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile


So the price seems great value and when you walk in there is great service and all seems well. Then come the niggles, on a small scale the decor is tired and the rooms a bit poky. But the biggun is the non-existent noise insulation. When the church bells outside tolled 2am like they were in the room I actually woke thinking I was at street level rather than on the 5th floor. The night revellers joined the bells to make sure i was well awake for the next couple of hours. A great hotel if you have been out on a blinder and are ready to pass out, but if you are after a quiet night not the best choice.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDave300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your recent stay. I'm afraid that due to our fab city centre location that this sometimes comes at a price, like any other city centre hotel and the external noise can sometimes be an issue. However I'm afraid that this is out of our hands and cannot be controlled. We hope that you will return your custom to us in the future. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 October 2013

How can I get across how bad this hotel was? Front of house was non existing, lift smaller than an old phone box. The bedroom was hot - no air con and window had broken catch so was open and could not be closed. The noise from the busy street was deafening, not to mention the noise from night clubs the that went on to morning.

The breakfast, served next door, was terrible - little choice and burnt offerings.

The only good things I can say about this hotel was the bathroom was OK and the hotel was in great location - handy for train and buses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay. Our air con is now fixed, however we apologise for the inconvenience this may have caused. Sorry to hear that you will not be returning however thank you for your feedback to help us improve our services for future guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed from Friday to Sunday. For a few lads wishing to sample the Newcastle nightlife this hotel was ideal. The one major negative is the lack of a decent bar, but because the location there are numerous pubs on your doorstep, together with any type of eaterie you would care to mention.

We arrived on an early flight and went straight to the hotel . We were advised that check-in was 3pm so that's when we returned. There was a queue forming, but didn't have to wait too long to be checked in. Although the young receptionist was no Sarah Millican she was professional and friendly. We were given 3 rooms on one floor which was an added bonus. They were clean, fresh and had all the extras one would expect, including a couple of bottles of water which were much appreciated the following morning . The bathrooms were spotless and the shower was excellent. . We did n't leave the rooms until the late morning, but came back in the evening to a clean room with all towels etc replaced..

Because of the type of weekend we were in Newcastle for, the late night street noise did not effect us , but I would have no hesitation in booking this hotel for a family break

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coluga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent lads weekend visit to Newcastle. We agree that our onsite bar could do with a little TLC however this is on the cards to be done in the future. We are glad to hear that you appreciated our little touches such as the bottles of water - which I can imagine after a night out are very good touch. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to the "toon". Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very decent hotel right in the heart of Newcastle on its prettiest street.

We stayed a Saturday night and as you might imagine the noise outside was pretty bad but we didn't expect anything else. Luckily it was cool enough to just shut the window and the double glazing pretty much did its job. The one star off was for the bust air con that we didn't need but on warmer days would be an issue if you had to choose between suffering the heat or the noise.

Other than that it was great to be able to walk out the front door and be in the heart of things. All facilities fine, staff helpful and polite. No free WIFI is an annoyance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNexpatHanoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are also pleased to announce that our Air Con is now fully fixed and working once more. We do agree that our location cant really get any better and its great that you appreciate this. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

We love the City of Newcastle and go there often on business and family visits. It is a very friendly place which is why we were surprised on arrival at the Grey Street Hotel by the sullen and unfriendly receptionist that check-in time was 3PM, some twenty minutes later. She didn't check a screen, just said "none of the rooms are ready until three!". This is an admirable feat of choreography when the magic moment arrives and the transformation happens.
Any way, missing the magic wand moment we left our bags in the open lobby area (apparently no baggage room) and spent some time in the newly refurbished Fitzgeralds bar nearby.
On our return there was a different receptionist who was equally unfriendly and unsmiling.
Grey Street Hotel is in a nice building, has small but adequate rooms, plenty of tea, coffee,shampoo etc, modern furnishings but, in our experience, old worn out mattresses which sag in the middle.
We spent two nights there then checked out (at 1100) and moved to The nearby premier Inn where we were welcomed at 2pm with a smile and a good nights sleep for half the price

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank blackandwhitecat99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
It saddens me to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay at the hotel. I am very sorry to hear about the unfriendly welcome that you received from the reception staff and agree that this is not the service in which you expect. Especially within the friendly city of Newcastle. We are aware that some of our rooms are in need of a little TLC and we are in the process of organising this.

Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for business last week. On check-in I was helped up to my room with my suitcases and shown a large spacious room with all the facilities I needed. The room was modern with a large bathroom and a great shower. You are given tea and coffee making facilities, and the shampoo and conditoners smelt beautiful. Perfect for an overnight stay. Whilst I was there I couldn't get the DVD player to work so the man on reception promptly came to my room with another one and set it up which was really helpful. In the morning the reception booked a taxi for me and I was able to leave my other suitcase with them whilst I went to Court. All in all this is a nice little hotel with kind staff and it is in a good position near the Quayside. I would stay here again and recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GizzyKelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Its great to hear your enjoyed your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you appreciate the effort in which the staff went to to ensure that you were happy during your stay and were pleased with the size and quality of your room. Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
476 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,372 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Property: Grey Street Hotel
Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing