We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Won't Find A Better Location”
Review of Grey Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grey Street Hotel
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“You Won't Find A Better Location”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Lovely hotel, but it could do with a sign above the door to make it easier to find!
I was on a 'Lads football weekend' and had a twin room, which was clean, tidy and tastefully furnished, a step up from the normal B&Bs we stay at!
The location is perfect, I havent been to Newcastle in years , and didnt realise what lovely architecture was there, and this place is right in the middle of it, and just 2 minutes from the bars and restaurants of the Bigg Market.
Breakfast was a slightly odd affair, whereas most places these days go for the buffet option, here you order anything cooked at the table, and then can 'top up' by paying a £5 supplement to have what you want from the continental buffet, which in reality was just a few small packets of cereal, a bit of fruit and some yoghurt (one day they had croissants, the other they didn't), but what I did have was well cooked.
There is a bar that is in the hotel, which did sound lively, but didnt tempt me away from the bars outside. All 6 of us agreed that if we come up to Newcastle again, this is the place we will stay, and if I ever visited Newcastle with my wife, this is certainly the place I will head for.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Its great to hear that you enjoyed your recent lads weekend at the Grey Street Hotel and that you will be returning to us the next time your in Newcastle. Thank you for taking the time to write this review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    176
    112
    49
    18
See reviews for
47
210
18
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Superb central location in very safe area surrounded by lovely architecture. Near to just about anything and everything the traveller could wish to see in this great city. Room a good size with a generous ensuite bathroom. Friendly, helpful and welcoming staff. Our fifth floor room was next to a rooftop generator so was incredibly noisy. Concomitantly, a poor night's sleep despite the beds being comfortable. The carpet was absolutely filthy, to the point where our feet actually stuck to it. Imagine that little can be done about the generator but the carpets could be either cleaned or replaced. Would expect slightly more attention to detail from a four star establishment.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied with your stay. Apologies for the cleanliness of the carpet in your room, these comments have been passed on to all the cleaning team to ensure standards are raised. We are due a refurb in the near future so we shall take your comments into account.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

The location of this hotel couldn't be better, close to numerous restaurants, the shops and the river. However, we initially chose a standard room which was really small and on floor 2 on the street corner, we thought it might be noisy so we up-graded to a deluxe room for an extra £20, it was well worth it. The room was much bigger and on the 5th floor so we didn't get any noise from the road or late night revellers.
The public areas of the hotel are getting a bit bashed about now, the lovely original tiles going up the stairs are lovely but there was bits and dust on the carpets that looked like they had been there for a while. On the floor outside the lift was a breakfast tray which stayed there till the following morning. In out bathroom the wall at the side of the sink was splashed with toothpaste etc and looked a mess and on the back wall were splatters of who knows what. I told myself it was coffee just to ease my morbid imagination. The actual bathroom fittings were clean but the general feel of the place was that the cleaners just did the essentials, beds, sink, loo, etc and any other cleaning got missed. We didn't eat breakfast in the hotel (£10 each) but got a lovely bacon sandwich from the deli down the street for much less.
We had a drink in the bar, the décor looked a bit cheap.
The staff seemed friendly and I think the location and price were good. The beds were clean and comfortable BUT it is in need of a make-over and better cleaning standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay and that you would recommend others to pay the extra to upgrade to a deluxe room. We are due a refurb later this year, however are aware that this is not an excuse for the cleanliness of the hotel - your comments have been passed on to the cleaning team. We thank you for your feedback and hope that you would return to us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Close to everything the shopping mall, the old market, theatre and cinema it was an ideal place to stay without a car. The hotel room was spacious and lovely modern bathrooms. The light is not good in the room but they are going to be renovating within the next year but the rooms are still lovely . The staff where very friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jomiller1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Grey Street Hotel. And hope that you will come and visit once our refurbishment is complete later in the year. We look forward to seeing you soon, thank you for leaving a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Grey Street Hotel last night, having got the deal through Last Minute as a 'secret hotel' (which was obvious by the location).

Anyway, the location is spot on. Right in the heart of the city. A short uphill walk from Dean Street car park and 5 min stroll to both shops and Quayside. This I'm afraid is where the positivity stops. There are certain things you expect in a four star. Cleanliness being one. A good state of repair perhaps another. Not in this case. Our room was fairly small, which was fine really for one night, but the massive damp patch on the ceiling wasn't so acceptable, nor the cracked sink, mouldy/damp wooden bath panel or black tile grout. The bathroom door didn't close, it had to be locked to stay closed and the bed was pretty poor too. Sagging in the middle and lacking in support of any kind.

I'm not a fussy person, honestly, I'm really not. Four star? Not in this world, but give the place the TLC and general maintenance that it really needs and it could be.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent one night stay at The Grey Street Hotel. The hotel manager has been made aware of these problems and will be given our urgent attention. Please accept our sincere apologies. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I have just come back today and I have had to write a review, we had a great time all thanks to your lovely hotel and amazing friendly staff, the barman was lovely and really went out of his way for us and the older man just the same.
The rooms were great, huge and plenty of room to get ready, the bed was so comfy and I even came back early one night to make the most of a good night sleep in it.
I will be back here for sure, it's right in the centre of all the main bars, clubs and shops! Newcastle.. I loved it.. Grey street hotel.. Amazing, thank you all x

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Katechap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review :) We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and hope that you all enjoyed the hen weekend. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

We stopped in this hotel for two nights, the location is great , right in the middle of all the night life , must add the hotel despite its location is very quite, reception staff could not have been nicer, in fact the same could be said for every local we met . There is a 24 hr car park a few hundred yards away.
We booked a standard room, which was a little small but it had everything we needed and was spotless. Stay here it's great value you will not regret it.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Malhotra G, Manager at Grey Street Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay in the friendly city of Newcastle and love that you would stay with us again. Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
408 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Street Hotel

Property: Grey Street Hotel
Address: 2 - 12 Grey Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6EE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grey Street Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shop, party, relax or dinein the heart of Newcastle city centre. On Newcastle’s most prestigious street, The Grey Street Hotel Newcastle (in association with The Living Room Restaurant chain). The historic Grade II listed hotel is boutique and chic in style and cleverly merges the old with the new keeping many of the impressive Georgian Terrace’s original features and adding modern touches, making the hotel an interesting find for people looking for a unique place to stay. Adding to the prestige of the Hotel, is the magnificent restaurant which is part of The Living Room chain which can only be found in cosmopolitan city centre locations across the UK. The Grey Street Hotel is the only hotel association to the chain. Facilities■There are a choice of room types available at the hotel from standard rooms to suites■An intimate bar located in the cellar (available for private hire)■Meeting and conference rooms■Venue hire for weddings or special occasions Finishing Touches■Play station & docking station available■dvd and cd player & library■Crisp, white, Eygyptian percale cotton bedlinen■cafetiere coffee and herbal teas■broadband internet access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, ACCOR, Priceline, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grey Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Street
Grey Street Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing