We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, excellent service”
Review of Dacantus

Dacantus
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Decided to try Dacantus and were definitely not disappointed. From the overall ambience to the excellent service and food this has to be one of the nicest places visited in a while. Would definitely recommend and can't wait to go back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sumar_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 296 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Went for the Restaurant Week offer but will go again. Recommended.

Nice rice tapas/ aperitif served with glass of wine (good selection of wines by the glass). We both had pâté followed by sea bass. Well cooked although I did not think tagliatelle was necessary with the fish, chorizo and peppers. Also good friendly and professional service.

Apparently there will be a tapas menu within a couple of weeks which will add to the attraction.

Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Simple proposition; superb drink, food and service. Beatifully appointed, excellent setting couldn't wish for a more pleasant afternoon in Newcastle.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

hi Toni, been reading your responses to some of the reviews and admire your honesty. we visited for second time last night and would say the following.. service - excellent. g&t's - excellent. pinchitos - excellent. Think you have got the concept and execution perfect. esperamos verte por alli algun dia. Richard & Lourdes

Thank rgb99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I went to Dacantus for a night out with work colleagues last week and I was really impressed. The food was lovely and the staff were pleasant. I was so impressed that I recommended we go there for a couple of drinks to celebrate a friend's birthday. However when we entered, we were told in a rather unfriendly manner that some tables were reserved and whilst there was a table free, because we were only having drinks, we could only sit there until someone came in wanting food. The waitresses manner did not go down well with my friends and to be honest I felt a little disappointed because I'd been raving about how nice the place was...needless to say, we decided not to stay. Just because we weren't ordering food we were made to feel very unwelcome. Surely our custom is as good as anyone else's?

    • Service
2  Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toni A, Manager at Dacantus, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

It's a shame you were disappointed that there was not a table available for you to have just drinks. Of course we value both dining and non-dining customers, but unfortunately we only have 7 tables, and on busy evenings we are usually fully booked for diners (we don't take bookings for drinks only). Our waitress was obliged to inform you that the table was available, but was required at a later time when it was reserved for the customers who had booked a table for a meal. I’m surprised you felt the waitress was rude, as all our customers comment on our friendly, helpful staff. You appear to have taken it as a snub, which if course was not intended, but obviously we have a duty to those who have reserved for dinner to have their table available for them when they arrive. We have lots of seating at our long bar for those wanting just to enjoy a drink.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dacantus also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Dacantus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing