We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food, poor service, small portions”
Review of Haveli

Haveli
Reserve with OpenTable
Haveli is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 1,303 Restaurants in Newcastle upon Tyne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$33
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Recommended by the Michelin Guide 2016 2015 TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 2015 Diners' Choice Award by OpenTable 2014 Asian Restaurant of the Year by the Journal's Secret Diner "The North East's finest Indian food - by several miles - and possibly the region's best fine dining too." Secret Diner, The Journal 14 June 2014 Haveli offers great Indian food prepared with only the freshest ingredients which are sourced locally wherever possible. Haveli raises the bar for Indian food in the North of England and on a par with the best the rest of the country has to offer. Haveli is perfect for casual dinners, special occasions and late night eats alike.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Four of us went on a Friday evening. Sadly, we won't be going back despite it being our nearest restaurant. The drinks are way overpriced (£9.50 for a glass of house white & £3.95 for a small bottle of Kingfisher!).
To be fair, the food was OK but a very limited menu but also, tiny portions (£2.50 for a bowl of pilau rice that wouldn't serve one person).
Not good, they will either wake up or won't be there long.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Jimland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaveliHQ, General Manager at Haveli, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback. In response, a 175 ml glass of the the house wine is £4.10. The price you have quoted is for the Lofthouse Sauvignon Blanc for a 250 ml large glass, i.e. one third of the bottle. We serve standard 330 ml bottles of Kingfisher and priced competitively and in line with other similarly positioned restaurants however we will look into it.

The introduction to our menu states the reason Haveli offers a select menu rather than the extensive menus offered by 'curry houses'. Quality is a priority for us in terms of ingredients, the quality of food presented to our customers and their overall experience. The menu is selectively cooked to order and ingredients are prepared specifically for the dish offered, e.g. the lamb for the Laal Maas is specifically marinated for that dish and the sauce specifically prepared for the lamb - we don't do substitutions with meats to sauces unlike a typical 'curry house'. Portion sizes are standardised to ensure a balanced meal in terms of protein to carbohydrate. We feel the the portion of rice is the correct size but please feel free to ask for more if it's insufficient for you.

We know that everyone who dined with us on that Friday enjoyed their evening so we've been unable to identify you. Maybe you came on another day? Regardless, please feel free to contact me at the restaurant or email on atul@haveli.net so that we can ensure your complete satisfaction.

Thanks,
Atul
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

208 - 212 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

After spending most of Monday on the road, Dad and I treated ourselves to an "early bird" supper at Haveli. In a lot of ways, I wish this place was more popular. Granted it was Monday evening and early, but we were only 1 of 4 groups there.

The early bird menu is good value - a choice of 4 dishes for each course. Dad has crab fishcakes and hake, and I had sandelwood chicken and Rajastani lamb curry. All delicious, although the curry was a touch on the spicy side for me, but nothing was too much trouble. A bowl of cooling yoghurt was brought to the table and the problem of my all-too-tender-tastebuds was solved. I will just have to go there more regularly to get my palate used to the lovely spices. Can highly recommend the Peshwari naan - fabulous.

Service is friendly, efficient and quick.

Tell your friends and come and eat at one of the best places in the area. And NO, I was not paid for this review. Just want to share.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank LadyHGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This must be the best Indian Restaurant in the North East.
First visited last November & was disappointed.
What a turn around- outstanding delicious food, subtle flavours, great ambiance & excellent service.
Normally don't eat sweets- but creme brûlée & the cheese cake were superb.
Highly recommend you try it

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Peter305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

if you are used to the night beer and curry then this is not the place for you. This is a place for people who enjoy food, the flavours the textures and the ambience of being in a place in the heart of the classically Darras Hall Broadway. It is also cheap - as a guide the cheapest bottle of wine will set you back 17- 24GBP and the beer will be 3.50GBP -however the food is very very good, large portions also very tasty and well presented. After had this special food completely agree with Secret dinner review. I can say Chef Imam is not only known for his great culinary passion he is also an adventurous food connoisseur. My advice is to take up the offer that they advertise (2/3 courses for 18-21GBP) from the set menu and spend a little extra on a quality bottle of wine. The service was excellent in my opinion and despite its surroundings not stuffy or snobbish at all compared to 8 month ago when i last went.
Myself and a colleage took advantage of their offer and had 3 courses and a prosseco cocktail for 25GBP each - plus a couple wines on the side. defiantly looking forward to visit again :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank shalini k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our visit to Haveli and we will certainly be going back soon. We went off the a la carte menu and had been told before we went to order the lamb kebab starter and it did not disappoint. Light yet full of flavour it left us wanting more. We shared our mains with one being a murgh chicken dish and the other prawn with black pepper and we both loved the prawn dish. The chicken was nice but was more subtle in flavour to the flavour packed prawn dish. Washed down with the extensive cocktail menu and a friendly, helpful service team we will be back again soon.

3  Thank dancingqueen18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haveli also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to Haveli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing