We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Massive WOW! Magical Atmophere”
Review of The Herb Garden

The Herb Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,667 reviews
1,249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 865 helpful votes
“Massive WOW! Magical Atmophere”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Newcastle has always teetered on the brink of being the coolest UK city and with the addition of the Herb Garden and other original restaurants opening lately and soon, its finally going to make the grade. The freshly chopped logs and wood burning pizza ovens in the window, the array of paper ceiling lights and the coup de grace, the largest hydroponic herb garden in the world harvested every day. Continuous background house music, amazing pizzas and salads and LUCY the lovely Surrey waitress, but wait.... dry tiramisu? More on the menu please, make use of your ovens with more pizza snacks. I can't wait to return though this is Newcastle's latest number 1 edition.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    215
    59
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food excellent staff and quirky!”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Visited one night with a friend, the service was excellent all the staff were very attentive and this in my opinion makes a big difference in a restaurant, they weren't over bearing and were really friendly! The food was great my pizza was really good my friend said his was okay, the salad we ordered as a side order as well was good. The concept of the restaurant is great and situated in one of the railway tunnels makes it really quirky, excellent concept! I will definitely be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GMPremierApartments
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“In some ways unique to the rest of them”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here with a few friends and was welcomed and served by friendly attentive staff. To be able to see how they grown some of their produce whilst you eat on top of the decor which is part funky part ornate was great. Pizzas of good size and plenty of toppings. Did not dare try their chocolate desert but have heard it is to die for.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 78sparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic food ��”
Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

We have just enjoyed a really fresh tasty lunch and we would thoroughly recommend this restaurant to anyone. Reasonable prices.
The staff were very friendly and provided great service. They grow their own herbs and salad on site.
Decor is modern and inviting will defiantly be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank Deanorae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great design, good food, good price”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

First of all, I was surprised to find such an interesting restaurant in Newcastle. The design is brilliant. The food was very good too and reasonably priced. The staff were well mannered and attentive.

Almost a perfect place, so why didn't I give it 5*? .... the humidity was too high (possibly as a result of having a herb garden in a tunnel!)

I would also advise the owner to get the bottom edges of the tables sanded - they are very sharp.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mejulie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Herb Garden also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Herb Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing