We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“quirky”
Review of The Herb Garden

The Herb Garden
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$26
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“quirky”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

we visited as a family on a sunday lunch time,we were quickly shown to a table by a waitress who then told us she would move us to a more comfortable booth when it became available.once we moved we ordered our drinks i was driving but managed a small mouthfull of the dry house wine out of my mothers glass and i must say it was very nice and reasonably priced,3 of our party went for the sunday baked egg dishes and all said they were cooked to perfection and were delicious, i went for the happy ham pizza which was fine no better or worse than any other pizza i have ever eaten but maybe not worth the price tag we all had desserts which had mixed reviews my chocolate pot was very good it was a deliciously rich velvety chocolate,the brulee also got a thumbs up however the other three who all had the tirimasu were slightly disappointed .the decor is very modern and the toilets also deserve a mention they are immaculate and the sink in the ladies is amazing. would i return? yes i would if i happened to be in that area of the town but i probably would not go out of my way.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank shirleynixon1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    215
    59
    8
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Visited The Herb Garden for a wedding reception with my wife and friends. Hadn't heard of this place so wasn't sure what to expect, however it was very good. Food was great with a lovely selection of cold meats, cheese, vegetables and fresh bread etc to start followed by pizza, chicken, salad and more for the main course. Service was pretty good as was the decor, very rustic interior and nice layout. Well worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Vegas_Vacation12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Do they really grow all of their own herbs and salad on that wall?!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went here on a bit of a whim on a Friday night and had to wait a little while for a table - not a problem as we could have drinks at the bar and there was a good buzz to the place with lots of people there. I've walked past a few times and you can't help notice the giant horse in the doorway. It's a really cool place being in old railway arches, modern decor with herbs growing in barrels on the back wall!
The food was great. Starters and main courses all delicious, we were all pretty full by the end of our meal! Plus both food and wine very reasonably priced for the quality of what's on offer. One of the better new restaurants in Newcastle I think. It's a little out of the way but definitely worth it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank olipom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Different”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This restaurant with cool relaxed modern decor including lots of glass jars where herbs are grown, is convenient for the central station. Had good service from a waitress but some waiters a bit over-zealous with refilling glasses. Cheap and reasonable house wine. The food was middling - a pizza was helpfully divided on request into veggie and non-veggie but was nothing special taste wise despite costing nearly £10, and a main course salad although made with an interesting mix of ingredients lacked dressing and taste. Did not have dessert.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sussex1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A bit like jamie olivers. Give it a go”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Reasonably priced. New slick modern decor. Friendly staff. If you like jamies italian restaurants I'm sure you'll love this place. You've got to try the fresh artichokes. Absolutely delicious. Good for catching up with friends as it has a mellow and relaxed atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank 123marc321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Herb Garden also viewed

Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne and Wear
 

Been to The Herb Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing