We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel,with good service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed for 1 night Back in January,before leaving for Scotland..

It Really was express Check In & Out...They kept the Baggage for us on our depature day so we could spend a day shopping freely.

Rooms are almost new & clean,powerfull shower,while Breakfast was ok as well.

Would return.

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer
Thank you for your kind comments, I’m glad to read that your stay with us met your expectations. We do spend a lot of time updating our rooms to keep them looking new even though we are over 6 years old.Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back with us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

950 - 956 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and i stayed here while visting Newcastle for the Eat! festival. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and well informed about where places were localy.

Sadly the room was very hot, and we were not able to lower the air con it stayed at 24.5c for the whole of our stay, would not be so bad had it not been 26c outside too!

Breakfast was pretty poor too, scrabbled egg would have been perfect if they had not drowned it in pepper. Bacon was rock hard and inedible, as were the pastry items.

for £49 a night was OK, glad it didn't cost more.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2011

Dear TripAdvisor User,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I’m sorry to read that on this occasion you didn’t feel everything stood up to your expectations. Regarding the problems you encountered with our air conditioning the panel in the door way shows the temperature it is outside which can be quite confusing to our guests, we do have a number of fans available should you require one and would recommend on really warm days that you have a second key card which is then left in your room. Our breakfast choice is expanding and now contains three hot options sausage, beans and scrambled eggs and, vitally, still remains free of charge for all our Guests. I am glad you found the staff well informed and shall pass this information on to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Many thanks
Lorraine Watson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

Location is superb, literally minutes from railway station, city centre, Arena etc. Spotlessly clean, spacious room and bathroom above average compared to other "budget" chains. Breakfast is self service but good choice of continental and some cooked dishes and seemed well organised in terms of replenishment. Would imagine may become noisy at certain weekends but we stayed on a Friday evening and weren't woken up.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArbroathLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. My team will be particularly plased to here such high praise. I would like to say we do everything we can to ensure our guests do not suffer from excess noise from being in the City Centre and are glad we got it right on this occasion

Thanks again for your comments
Lorraine Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

Cracking place to stay, good staff, immaculate rooms and a hearty buffet breakfast. Can't fault this place, I have been here many times and the standards have never dropped. On my last day I checked out at 5.30am for an early fligh, the manager offered to make me an early breakfast, fantastic!! I can't think of many hotels offering the service this, well run hotel offers day and night.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Danieljgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. My team will be particularly plased to here such high praise. When you next have reason to visit Newcastle please feel free to contact me where we would be pleased to offer you a special rate
kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel itself is the usual to be expected from this chain, clean modern interior with all the expected amenities, but slightly sterile.

The location is excellent, 5 mins walk from practically everywhere – and easy to find from the station. Breakfast was good also.

As a group of lads we were treated with a certain amount of contempt by one staff member who was quite rude for no apparent reason, but on the whole other staff were friendly and helpful. It was strange to arrive back after a night out to find bouncers on the door but I guess it is Newcastle!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mariner_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Thank you so much for your comments, we really appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies that one of my team members did not offer our normal level of service. We do have door staff on the hotel on a Weekend as is normal for hotels in Newcastle this also helps with any problems that may arise from noise from large groups
Thanks again for your comments
Lorraine Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I've called this the 5 minute hotel because everything is 5 minutes away. The A1, the station, the town centre, the football ground, the pubs. A great location.

We had a lovely stay, check in was easy and quick, the room was modern and clean. The road side of the hotel is a little noisy with the window open, but then you are in a big city centre so it is to be expected.
The staff were helpful, friendly and provided a relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was basic but good and plentiful.
There's a multi-story car park right next to the hotel which was only £4 a day.
We will definately stay here again when in Newcastle.
Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkybarkid107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2011

I've called this the 5 minute hotel because everything is 5 minutes away. The A1, the station, the town centre, the football ground, the pubs. A great location.

We had a lovely stay, check in was easy and quick, the room was modern and clean. The road side of the hotel is a little noisy with the window open, but then you are in a big city centre so it is to be expected.
The staff were helpful, friendly and provided a relaxed atmosphere.
Breakfast was basic but good and plentiful.
There's a multi-story car park right next to the hotel which was only £4 a day.
We will definately stay here again when in Newcastle.
Well done.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkybarkid107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2011

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. As you stated the road side can be a little noisy with your window open, however the higher up the building the better or if you want total peace and quiet ask for 5th floor courtside. We do also have full air conditioning and fans so there is no need to open windows. The car park is free from 5pm until 8am the only charge being through the day. Thanks again for your kind comments

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,893 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £52 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing