We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LONG delay to check in. Crazy room allocation system.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“LONG delay to check in. Crazy room allocation system.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

Room not ready at 2pm to check in - long delay and just asked to wait in the bar. Still no room at 3pm. Finally got into room at 3.30 after long discussion with receprion staff - who had allocated rooms that were ready to guests who had yet to check in. A bizarre system that kept many people waiting. Staff not helpful and no offer of drink while waiting for them to get rooms sorted. Room fine once we finally got there
Poor respsonse from management to a follow up email.
Good location for city centre and good on site parking.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hilltopfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle and I am really pleased that you found the hotel to be in a good location with good on site Parking. We obviously had a very short busy period at the time you arrived and I am sorry that we kept yourself and friends waiting to check in. We do try to keep all the groups together and allocate others to the "quiet" floors wherever possible as this means that we do not receive any noise complaints later on. I am also sorry you were not happy with management response should you wish to contact me on 0191 2246850 then I would be glad to be of help.Thank you once again for your comments
Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    432
    439
    161
    52
    27
See reviews for
166
309
72
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2011

Great standard of accommodation for the price. Very central location. Breakfast very good quality. The staff very not only helpfull but very pleasant with it. Well done Holiday Inn Express :)

Room Tip: Got a great deal through last minute.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenMojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City. We are very happy to hear that you had a very pleasant and comfortable stay and appreciate your comments I have passed them onto our team, and look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the future

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
91 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were there for one night in July 2011. Location is so convenient. Only 5 min. walk from the railroad station. The staff was so friendly and when we asked about toruist information, he provided us a map and kind instruction how to get to that place. When we visited Hadrian's wall next day, they kept our luggage for free of charge. As we had some time to kill in the evening, we used their internet connection at the lobby. They gave us password although we have already checked out. I was not feeling well but I was able to rest at their lobby.

The room is perfectly clean. It has water kettle and instant coffee and tea and milk. Very quiet and confortable bed. Nice shower. Good breakfast. Great deal for the price.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SingaporeQueue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Guest,

It’s a real pleasure to read your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m also very glad that my team really did go the extra mile to make your stay it would seem – your comments will most definitely be passed on.

It’s worthwhile booking in advance for the best rates and sometimes deals
We hope you’ll make it back to stay with us again in the near future.

kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta,Malta
Level Contributor
221 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

We stayed for 1 night Back in January,before leaving for Scotland..

It Really was express Check In & Out...They kept the Baggage for us on our depature day so we could spend a day shopping freely.

Rooms are almost new & clean,powerfull shower,while Breakfast was ok as well.

Would return.

Room Tip: Top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mario A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer
Thank you for your kind comments, I’m glad to read that your stay with us met your expectations. We do spend a lot of time updating our rooms to keep them looking new even though we are over 6 years old.Hopefully we'll be able to welcome you back with us again sometime soon.

Kind regards
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2011

My wife and i stayed here while visting Newcastle for the Eat! festival. The staff were great, nothing too much trouble and well informed about where places were localy.

Sadly the room was very hot, and we were not able to lower the air con it stayed at 24.5c for the whole of our stay, would not be so bad had it not been 26c outside too!

Breakfast was pretty poor too, scrabbled egg would have been perfect if they had not drowned it in pepper. Bacon was rock hard and inedible, as were the pastry items.

for £49 a night was OK, glad it didn't cost more.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
Dear TripAdvisor User,
Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay. I’m sorry to read that on this occasion you didn’t feel everything stood up to your expectations. Regarding the problems you encountered with our air conditioning the panel in the door way shows the temperature it is outside which can be quite confusing to our guests, we do have a number of fans available should you require one and would recommend on really warm days that you have a second key card which is then left in your room. Our breakfast choice is expanding and now contains three hot options sausage, beans and scrambled eggs and, vitally, still remains free of charge for all our Guests. I am glad you found the staff well informed and shall pass this information on to them.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Many thanks
Lorraine Watson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Location is superb, literally minutes from railway station, city centre, Arena etc. Spotlessly clean, spacious room and bathroom above average compared to other "budget" chains. Breakfast is self service but good choice of continental and some cooked dishes and seemed well organised in terms of replenishment. Would imagine may become noisy at certain weekends but we stayed on a Friday evening and weren't woken up.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArbroathLass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. My team will be particularly plased to here such high praise. I would like to say we do everything we can to ensure our guests do not suffer from excess noise from being in the City Centre and are glad we got it right on this occasion

Thanks again for your comments
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Cracking place to stay, good staff, immaculate rooms and a hearty buffet breakfast. Can't fault this place, I have been here many times and the standards have never dropped. On my last day I checked out at 5.30am for an early fligh, the manager offered to make me an early breakfast, fantastic!! I can't think of many hotels offering the service this, well run hotel offers day and night.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danieljgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 29 June 2011
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with us. My team will be particularly plased to here such high praise. When you next have reason to visit Newcastle please feel free to contact me where we would be pleased to offer you a special rate
kind regards
Lorraine Watson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#13 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#9 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day with a choice of hot and cold items at our complimentary breakfast buffet, and ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our complimentary Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing