We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect budget hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay in the Holiday Inn on a recent trip to Newcastle, clean warm room, comfortable bed, good customer service. No complains what so ever.

Multistory car park next door offered free overnight parking.

Five minutes walk to the station, 15 to the quays, overall, perfect

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is always hugely motivating when a guest takes the time and trouble to write a review, I also note that you loved the location, the parking is a great bonus being free from 5pm until 8am.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre soon.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

752 - 758 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

Stayed here in a twin room with a friend just visiting Newcastle to see the city. Our room on the 4th floor was just what we expected. Our needs were few and we were quite content. The bathroom was clean. Everything worked. We slept comfortably and in peace. We enjoyed our "help-yourself" breakfast We chose what we wanted and didn't have to wait to be served. It was very relaxing. The newspapers were a bonus.
I thought the idea of having shelves instead of drawers in the rooms was a bit spartan and wouldn't like it if I was staying for any length of time. I appreciate it must be easier to clean but I'd rather not look at all my stuff on display. Also I found there were not enough places to put things in the bathroom. Why remove the hooks?
Anyway, this is not too important as we enjoyed our visit very much.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is always hugely motivating when a guest takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff here at the hotel.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre soon.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

Great hotel close to the centre of town. Staff very polite and hotel very clean. Not your average Holiday Inn Express. Really impressed with overall feel and excellent staff service. Looks to be new. Car parking not great though as you have to use the multi story next door but cheap at 5.00 all day to 8am next day. Would recommend

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fchgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel. I am pleased that you thought our hotel was a hidden 'Gem' and the team gave excellent service. We are actually not new we are nearly 8 years old so I am glad you could see the hard work the maintenance team and housekeeping team put in to making the hotel feel as if it is new.Thanks once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you back here at Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre in the near future.

Best Wishes
Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Spent a couple of nights here with my husband and some familymembers.
The staff was superfriendly, the breakfast area was roomy and the food great!
The rooms were all nice and clean.
Only a couple of minutes to the centre of Newcastle.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MajorSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is always hugely motivating when a guest takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff here at the hotel. To ensure future great prices ensure you book direct with the hotel for the best possible price.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre soon.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

We couldn't have had a better experience ,The staff were so helpful in our dealings.
The position & value for money were wonderful. Couldn't recommend the Hotel more.

If you are arriving in Newcastle Central Station , this is the Hotel to book.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Oigle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review on our hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us!

It is always hugely motivating when a guest takes the time and trouble to acknowledge the staff here at the hotel.

Once again thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back to our Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre soon.

Best Wishes

Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2013 via mobile

Stayed overnight with friends rather than trekking home early or paying an extortionate taxi fare. Room rate excellent especially as there is breakfast to be had. I did worry that the hotel would be noisy and filled with hen dos and the like but not so. Rooms clean, reception staff great all round bargain for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emilyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,

Firstly I would like to thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We strive to give great and impressive service and we work very hard to ensure we are the best holiday inn express around it makes us the staff here at Newcastle city centre Very happy to read we made your stay enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future. Once again thank you for the wonderful review and kind words of praise.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Stayed here recently while catching some music at the Metro Arena. Really easy to locate and good value parking a stones throw away - £5 for 24 hours- excellent value for city centre parking (just watch out you don't inadvertantly park in a 'reserved' spot).

The customer service really stands out at this hotel- from reception right the way through to evening drinks, breakfast and check out. Very pleasant, friendly, extremely helpful and down to earth staff. We watched the guy behind the bar on an evening dealing with people in varying states of intoxication and credit to him- he was brilliant.

Our room was a decent enough size- not huge but decent enough. The only thing was we had an adjoining room and the sound proofing was not great. For the hour we had relaxing in the rooom before we went out the noises from the room next door became quite irritating but luckily this wasn't an issue later in the evening. If they had been noisy we would have heard everything I suspect, so bare this in mind. Clean bathroom (shower only- and the water pressure was a litte feeble) and room, bed was comfy enough.

Breakfast was buffet style- plenty of choice of simple average quality breakfast stuff. We certainly got a decent feed to start the day.

The location of this hotel is brilliant for a night at the Metro Arena and also for the shops.

I would definitely recommend and would stay here again.

Thanks.

Room Tip: If you have an adjoining room and noisy neighbours it's probably worth requesting a change of ro...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helensuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to review our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that the customer service really stands out at our hotel. We spend lots of time reviewing our training needs and this seems to have paid off.

We look forward to welcoming you back here at Holiday inn express Newcastle city centre in the near future.

Best Wishes
Lee Anderson
Guest Service Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £50 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing