We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn Express standard as you would expect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Holiday Inn Express standard as you would expect.”
Reviewed 3 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on a trip to the Newcastle Theatre Royal. The hotel is what you would expect from the Holiday Inn Chain, although a little far away from the centre of the city but ideal if you are visiting on the train. Rooms are a good size, we had 2 adults and 2 children in our room but it did not feel crowded. Paid £64 through www.hotels.com.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robgermaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your recent comments concerning our Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City
Our Guest Services Team strives to ensure that every guest has an enjoyable stay and from your comments I can see our team excelled in making you feel welcome and comfortable and I will pass on your comments to all of the Team.

May I thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Newcastle City Centre.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    463
    168
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
325
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Sayed here for one night with two kids and it was ideal. The pull out sofa bed was pefect for the kids to sleep on which meant not having to pay for a second room. We used to live in Newcastle and Northumberland but this hotel wasn't here when we left 15 years ago. It's ideally located a short walk from Central Station. How can ShirazMerlot say it wasn't city centre?
The staff were very friendly and helpful and coped very well as they had had a major issue with the water supply on our day of arrival. Extra towels for the kids were brought to our room straight away when I mentioned there were only 2 bath towels in there.
We heard a few revellers in the middle of the night in the quadrant courtyard below but hey, its not a country house hotel, is it?
I agree with the reviewer about the pay and display parking at the adjacent car park being inconvenient. Overnight parking is free but you have to pay £5 from 8am for a day ticket. We didn't mind the cost but we did mind having to set the alarm to get up, to get dressed , to go and put a ticket on. Still, it was better than having to pay £20 as you would have to in London.
Breakfast was as expected at this type of hotel , being mainly Continental but the buffet area and breakfast room were immaculate and the food was freshly replenished. It was completely self service including hot drinks but you didn't feel rushed or fussed over. In fact it was so relaxing, three girls were having breakfast in their pyjamas!!
Would definitely stay here again on our next visit to Newcastle

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Maria C

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.It is a great motivation when someone gives us such great feedback. I am sorry to hear though that you had to get up early to leave the car park, one of my colleges should of made you aware that you can pay and display from the night before and you don’t need to leave at 8am.
I hope this will not put you off visiting our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest service assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

We were staying on Good Friday for a concert at City Hall. Calls itself city centre but it certainly wasn't, quite difficult to find, we asked several locals and nobody had heard of it and even taxi driver took us to the wrong place after the concert!
We asked for a quieter room and fair enough at check in the receptionist told us we were on the 4th floor as floors 1 & 2 were full of stag and hen do's. We had 2 rooms which were of a good standard and clean, although they hadn't even started to prepare/clean them when we tried to check in after 2pm. We arrived back after concert at approx 11.30pm and what looked like 2 bouncers were in reception! After a night-cap in the bar we eventually went to bed about 1am, only to be woken at 3am by a group of stags trying to set off he fire alarms and then again at about 4am by the same group knocking on doors and running away.
Breakfast was included in our rate, but wasn't anything special. Luggage storage available at no cost.

Room Tip: If you want to even attempt sleep don't go for 1st or 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirazMerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank You for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn around. It sounds like we fell below your expectations. All of the City Centre Hotels including ourselves are only a 5 minute walk to the main shopping areas however there are no hotels right in the shoping areas. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Stayed for the one night and got a fab deal standard double room two sharing and a buffet breakfast for a brilliant price of £55.00.
Booked yesterday on the spur of the moment,we got to the hotel about a hour after we had booked and had a little wait as our booking had not come through,the reception area was manic as a few groups of Stag and Hen parties were all trying to check in at once and the reception was only manned by two,over-worked and tired looking men.
Lee was really nice and very helpful and soon had us checked in and we were settled into a nice room on the 5th floor that was more than adaquate,double bed,sofa,desk,wardrobe and a en-suite shower and loo. The room was warm and clean with a TV and a hair-dryer. The Holiday Inn is in a great place,near to the O2 and china town and only ten mins walk to Eldon Square. The nights sleep was not so good as someone set off the fire alarms at four in the morning,False alarm thank god!
However there was some IDIOT banging on the door of our neighbour from four in the morning to five urging him to get up,are you up?..Oh your now up! By this time everyone on the 5th floor was up..Grrr. Breakfast is basic but ok,beans,sausages and scrambled eggs,could be hotter. My only real fault was the number of hen parties and stag parties that are allowed to book in at one time..so noisy and it was like trying to eat your breakfast in a platground!
Would go back but NOT on a weekend.

Room Tip: If part of a couple or over 40 yrs avoid at the weekend,full of teens...hen parties and stag do'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for providing your recent review concerning your visit & stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.

Without guests providing us with valuable feedback we are unable to improve the services and standards that we offer.

Please be assured that your comments have been noted and will be reviewed by the Management Team at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.

Kind Regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Well managed, informed staff, who were very welcoming. Clean comfortable accommodation, good nights sleep, not noisy, though did stay midweek. Nice atmosphere.Well placed 5-10 mins from station. Close to everything. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review concerning your stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, I can see from your review that you experience on this occasion met your expectations, and would like to thank you for taking the time to provide your review

Without reviews either positive or negative we are unable to improve our customer service levels to maintain one of the best in the area.

Thanks Again
Lee Anderson
Guest Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ripon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We arrived to an extremely efficient reception, Chris booked us in with the minimun of fuss, easy going, helpful and made my daughter and myself feel at ease immediatly.The room was in a quiet area ( which at the time of booking i requested,this had not gone unnoticed , we were placed in the quiet area . Our room was clean,soundproof and everything was there that should be.The cleaning staff were most kind in giving out more tea bags without questions.Chris was there to guide us through our directions that we needed to know. The breakfast was very good with plenty of variety for everyones needs. When we came to check out again it was done in a nice friendly manner,this time by Lauren.She went out of her way to deal with leaving our luggage to collect later, making sure everything had been ok with our stay.A very nice friendly Hotel which we definatly will use again.

Room Tip: 5th floor, which is the top floor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DAWNROPER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. I am especially happy that my team members Chris and Lauren gave such great service. We spend a lot of time ensuring our guests receive their room requirements and I am glad we were able to give you the quiet room you asked for.We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise. Sincerely

Lee Anderson
Guest Services Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Excellent mood and friendliness of staff. Bar very pleasnt Breakfast; standard Express fare but more than adequate, room warm.... But noisy. No car park altough there is a car park adjacent but it's not so good as all the lower floors are reserved and the pay and display is "odd" so you have to either go back at 08:00 and buy a new ticket or leave at 08:00. There are plenty of eating places around but it's not the most salubrious of areas...I ate in Akbars excellent... In area again will consider it and th eproblem isn't the Hol Inn but it's location...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PBH0017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 April 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
I’m sorry to hear you had to get up early to leave the car park, one of my colleges should of made you aware that you can pay and display from the night before and you don’t need to leave at 8am.
I hope this will not put you off visiting our hotel again and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.

Best Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest service assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,217 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing