We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good value and convenient for the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“good value and convenient for the city”
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed for one night as we went to a concert at City Hall (20 minute walk away). Super friendly staff, comfortable and very clean room. Secure parking next to the hotel in a council run carpark -free from 5pm - 8 am and only 80p an hour after that so a bargain. Hotel is near station for those arriving by train. Breakfast isn't great -just remind yourself it's 'free'.
The only criticism we'd make was that we didn't really need a warm duvet in June!

Room Tip: overlooking the square is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hazel-paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Hazel

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

For future stays in this warm summer weather we do have thinner sheets available if required.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    447
    451
    164
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
314
74
247
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2013

came for a couple of days work and received superb service from Lee and Lauren. They handled my additional books and gave great recommendations for places to see and restaurants to eat in. I will always stay here when I come to Newcastle

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Lorraine,

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you had a brilliant stay. A lot of our time is spent on team training and we are happy to hear its paid off.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirfield
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel on a girly weekend away. Its modern, clean, well located and the staff are very pleasant and friendly. Considering the hotel was full with stag and hen parties we didnt hear any noise overnight. The service was consistently good and the reception team were efficient. We liked the evening reception team in particular as they happily provided us with lots of tea/coffee and milk supplies for our room.
The breakfast room on the Saturday morning was extremely busy and we had to queue for quite some time to select our food. On the Sunday we went for breakfast earlier and did not have to wait at all. There is a nice plentiful selection of continental type breakfast items with eggs, sausages and beans also available.

I would return to this hotel and spend another weekend in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Our room was at the far end of the corridor away from the stairs and lifts. It was nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoxyMirfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear FoxyMirfield,

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you had an enjoyable stay. A lot of time and effort is taken to ensure hen and stag party's are segregated from other guest when possible and I am glad this payed off.

I am especially glad you enjoyed breakfast and realised to visit a little earlier on a Sunday as it gets very busy as you noticed on Saturday.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rutherglen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Not a bad hotel ,this.
Stayed Saturday with friends as we were down for horse racing.
Hotel ...clean and tidy,Check.
Staff....friendly,Check
Rooms ..neat and acceptable,Check.

Check out, leave bag in reception,"That will be £2.50,Sir" Whit?
When did this practice begin???

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank celticlegend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Rutherglen,

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Unfortunately we have a large number of our hotel guest wanting to leave there bags both incoming and outgoing with limited space therefore we charge a small fee on departure hoping to discourage some guests from leaving there luggage. Many hotels do not offer and luggage storage facilities and the train station nearby has a fee of £7.00 .


I am glad this has not deterred you from future visits

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wembley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Stayed here in June 2013 for one night. I needed a hotel near Newcastle Central station (I'd stayed before at County Thistle, which was noisy and grim and Jury's Inn which is luxurious but pricey if you're just going to sleep and go).

I was really very pleased - this is new and clean and mostly quite quiet and very well situated.

Best thing was the price - just over £50 for a large double room. It was advertised as including Continental Breakfast, so I was expecting nothing more than tea and toast, but there was fruit, choose, cold meat, scrambled egg, beans, sausages, warm croissant as well as all the usual cereals and bread/toast.

I have given a score of 4 but could have given 5 if it wasn't for the sirens from the main road outside, the pink stain on the carpet and the rusty shower curtain rail. Don't get me wrong - these did not spoil my stay in the slightest.

Checking in and out were very good. Didn't take advantage of the tea and coffee-making facilities and the TV as I was only there for less than 9 hours but they looked to be of higher than average quality.

I would definitely choose this hotel again. Thank you to all staff for maintaining this to a high level of quality.

Room Tip: ask for a room that overlooks the quiet square rather than facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Steven,

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It makes us very happy to hear the hotel is quite new when actually we have just celebrated our 8th birthday. I am also glad you have been able to book one of our special offer rooms at just £50.oo and where able to take advantage of our complimentary breakfast.

As for the stain on your carpet we are due to get a selection of new carpets in the next coming month.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Perfect hotel for access to transport, shops, quayside and a whole host of cultural amenities - all within a few minutues walk. Its modern, clean and airy with great facilities (power shower head included) at a good price. Breakfast is included and there is a great choice of options. They also has soya milk for me. Staff service is fantastic - welcoming, professional, informative and friendly. You will get a warm welcome at reception from Kimberley; and an even heartier one from James at the Restaurant at Breakfast. Whatever the occasion, this is a well appointed, well designed hotel that provides you with access to everything Newcastle and the surrounding area offers. When all other hotels were priced off the planet because of the Rhianna gig, this hotel retained its normal prices and didn't rip people off. Well worth it and I will definitely go back.

Room Tip: I had a room on the inner side of the boulevard/square, above reception entrance, on 4th floor - wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rubydafc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Ruby Gooner,

Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the team here at Newcastle feel very special,im especially glad that you specifically mentioned Kimberly and James who will be thrilled to receive such praise.

We get a lot of requests for specific dietary requirements and we try our hardest to meet these requests and im glad we did on this occasion.


We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestatyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Typical Holiday Inn with the expected decor and so on, the rooms where very clean but the sofa bed the children had to sleep on wasn't great but what do you expect for the money. The staff were brilliant really helpful and considerate!

Room Tip: We were automatically given a room on the top floor far away from the hen and stag nights because we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowy0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 10 July 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very glad to hear the staff where brilliant, really helpful and considerate during your stay. We do have a small number of older sofa beds which are due to be replaced at the end of this month as part of our ongoing up keeping of the hotel.

Thanks again for your kind review

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.4 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing