We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Nearby Hotels
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$108
US$91
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$77
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$119
US$115
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Novotel Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$99
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$37
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (1,254)
    Filter reviews
    1,254 results
    Traveller rating
    507
    493
    173
    53
    28
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    507
    493
    173
    53
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscity centrecar park next doortrain stationscrambled egg and beansfree breakfastmulti story car parksofa bedbusy roadbudget hotelsst james parkexcellent locationself servicereception staffstag and hen partiesmin walkstayed here for two nightsyogurt
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    739 - 744 of 1,254 reviews
    Reviewed 17 July 2013

    I had a miserable time at the Sandman Signiture hotel which was nearby and was desperate to move out and find another hotel. So after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor I called Holiday Inn Express to see if they can help.

    It was after midnight but luckily they had a room and even offered a discount because I called late. From the moment I called the receptionist he was very helpful, polite and honest about the room. I said I was a very light sleeper and wanted a quiet room and I was offered a choice of rooms to suit my request. I chose the rooms facing the courtyard (the back) in the end and it was indeed quiet.

    There was the odd noisy reveller passing by but that is expected as it is so close to the city but there was no noticeable car noise or noisy air conditioner units. It was such a relief to be able to check in and be offered a nice, quiet, clean, warm, cosy, good value room, especially as I had a horrible experience from the other hotel.

    I ended up staying two nights so am able to say breakfast was good value and had all your basics, nothing fancy but non the less it filled me up. There was a nice selection of Twinnings tea.

    It was my first time staying with Holiday Inn and I would certainly come back to stay again.

    Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the courtyard and away from the lift if you want quiet.
    • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank MrSChen13
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

    Dear MrSChen13,

    Thank you for taking the time out your busy day to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

    I am thrilled to hear you preferred our brand to the Sandman. The team here at Newcastle look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on your return visits to Newcastle.

    Best Wishes

    Lee Anderson
    Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

    Stayed here on Sunday 14th July and checked in ahead of their normal check-in policy of 2pm. Settled in the room, initially getting to grips with the technology of the room's aircon and digital TV. Satisfactory for the price of the room and good value for a city centre hotel. Went out into Newcastle city centre for an afternoon's browsing and then came back, showered, change and went out for evening meal.

    Came back around 10pm and attempted to switch off aircon so it was not going all night but was unable to owing to the control unit being faulty. Phoned down to reception and was told that they were unable to do anything as it was an electrical issue and would need to be sorted by site maintenance. Night porter whom I spoke to did say that if there was another room available, he would move us but at that present time, the hotel was expecting to be full.

    Received a call back to room about 10mins later saying that they had been able to find another room for us to move into and would send someone up to help us move. Quick and speedy action taken by the night porter and very satisfied with the new room, much quieter and comfortable. Overall, excellent service and patience by the hotel staff, would definitely stay again. *****

    • Stayed: July 2013
      • Value
      • Location
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank tjgrant1973
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

    Dear Guest,

    Thanks for your recent review.

    It always makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy when people praise us for our great customer service skills. Our training that we recent underwent has clearly paid off.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future. Kindest Regards

    Lee Anderson
    Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 July 2013

    Holiday Inn Express is ideally situated being adjacent to BR and Metro stations with Bus Station just round the corner.
    The staff were welcoming and friendly. The accommodation is well designed with even a separate WC.
    Breakfast is a buffet providing a good range of hot and cold food that sets you up for the day.
    There is a large multi story car park next door.

    • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank KenMcA
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

    Dear KenMcA,

    Thank you for taking the time out your busy day to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

    We look forward too seeing you again when you next visit the area.

    Kindest Regards

    Lee Anderson
    Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 July 2013

    This is a clean modern hotel which could not be more conveniently situated. 5 min walk from station and central shopping. 10 min to St James Park and 15 min to university. Comfortable beds, quite so a good night's sleep. Restricted breakfast menu - hence only 4 stars. NO BACON! Super-friendly staff.

    Room Tip: Choose a room which looks out onto the courtyard.
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank 4Elmsman
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

    Dear Tim,

    Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you had a nice stay with us. Our complimentary breakfast has a wide variety of products including hot items such as sausage, egg and beans and a full continental selection.

    I am especially glad you enjoyed our nice comfortable beds.


    We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

    Kind Regards
    Lee Anderson
    Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 2 July 2013

    Stayed for one night as we went to a concert at City Hall (20 minute walk away). Super friendly staff, comfortable and very clean room. Secure parking next to the hotel in a council run carpark -free from 5pm - 8 am and only 80p an hour after that so a bargain. Hotel is near station for those arriving by train. Breakfast isn't great -just remind yourself it's 'free'.
    The only criticism we'd make was that we didn't really need a warm duvet in June!

    Room Tip: overlooking the square is quieter
    • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank hazel-paul
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2013

    Dear Hazel

    Many thanks for your kind review. It makes the staff here at Newcastle very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay.

    For future stays in this warm summer weather we do have thinner sheets available if required.

    We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

    Kind Regards
    Lee Anderson
    Guest Services

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews