We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Booked this hotel for a couple of nights for myself and my daughter and wouldn't stay again. The good points are the hotel in lovely and clean with friendly staff and within walking distance to city centre bars, restaurants and shops. We found the rooms small but acceptable with not enough room to hang or store clothes clothes for two girls for more than one night, so things were left in our suitcases to crease. The hot choice for breakfast was very poor only scrambled egg, sausage or beans, which tasted awful. Where our room was located we found very noisy all through the night when people came out of pubs and clubs nearby. Found the hotel expensive for what you got and have stayed at a better hotel not far from this one and got alot more for our money.

Room Tip: Think this hotel would be good for young people who just want to put their head down for a night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Andrea A,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your review is vital for improving the service and quality we offer to our valued guest. I am pleased to know that you find our staff friendly, hotel lovely and friendly staff. On the other hand, I apologize for the inconvenience the breakfast and noise issues you have encountered may have caused. It is always hugely motivating when one takes the time and trouble to acknowledge or give points for improvement. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future. Thank you once again for your valuable comment, and if you might have any suggestions that will contribute to enhancing your stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    464
    462
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
181
322
75
256
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

we stayed here for 23 nights due to work commitments .we have 2 adults and two children .
on arriving staff were very welcoming and very presentable. we got into our room ,it was small but clean and tidy ,we had to phone reception for bedding for the children ,but had a welcoming response on telephone and had a member of staff at the door within minutes with the bedding and offering help.we was on the top floor overlooking courtyard for a few days ,very quiet .we then moved to a larger room (disabled) road side , the room was great size for a family and made our stay a lot more comfortable ,again room was clean and tidy .it is alot more noisy on the road side ,but we like to hear people living so that was fine for us ,however if you dont like noise ,i would advise asking for courtside .we had a few issues with cleaners ,but i would like to stress everytime the issue was dealt with promptly ,always listening and learning ,which is a great thing .my advise dont come home and complain on here ,pick up the phone while there speak to reception or go down and speak to them ,they are very friendly and will sort the problem quickly ,which will result in your stay being more happy. breakfast ,now there a lot of moaning on here about breakfast ... there shouldnt be, it has everything you need from toast ,bread rolls croissants,,yoghurts ,jams,cereal ,sausage ,beans ,scrambled eggs,,marmite,marmalade, cheese ,fruit,tea ,juice,coffee,water,milk ????what more do you need .... all served clean ,and fresh ,no complaints we all loved it.
great location ,kids loved there stay ,close to everything ,would 100% stay again .
thank you all :-))))

Room Tip: quiter rooms courtside .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Karen D,

Firstly i would like to thank you for your recent review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

It was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us for such a long period of time.It is very pleasing to here you will stay with us again on your next visit to Newcastle.

Once again Thanks and A very Merry Christmas from all the team here at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle city centre.

Kind Regards

Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute for a girls catch up weekend. Fantastic location for city centre night out but far enough away that you don't have to hear drunk people staggering down the street. Staff are very friendly and the option to be able to store luggage if arriving early is an added bonus. Would happily stay again

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank nat029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Nat029,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back here again soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Needed a room for a night to attened a gig at the O2 academy. This hotel is extremely close by so it seemed the best choice. For a double room at £69 I thought it was not worth that much. Positives: Comfortable bed, choice of pillows, welcoming reception. Negatives: Lights complicated in bedroom, key system tricky to use to open doors, lifts etc. room was small with brown streaks streask and drip marks down the wall, wall peeling away, flickering light, breakfast disappointing. Overall though we didnt need much as it was only for a short stay but for any more than one night would be a struggle. Not the worst place by far it was fab at night because of the thick curtains which let no light in and although we had a room by the main road it was very quiet.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Dear Eleanor F,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This hotel is okay, but the charge of £2.50 just to look after a bag after checkout was really disappointing. I left before 8am so to charge when I'd left so early seemed like really poor service. Everything else was okay: room and bathroom fine, breakfast okay but it's the service that counts. As a guest I felt let down. In this price range service is something Premier Inn seem to do much better and I wouldn't stay here again.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is on a busy road
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Dear M T,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is truly regrettable to see the service you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We were pleased to see such high marks for Cleanliness and Sleep Quality. We do take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to highlight areas where our hotel could benefit from improvement. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your thorough and candid comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We were in Newcastle on an emergency and booked the most reasonably priced hotel online. The staff were all so helpful and friendly going above and beyond their role to make our stay easier. Can't fault the accommodation room great, and rates included breakfast. It made a traumatic visit more bearable. Fantastic location near to the centre and the Quayside.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Holiday Inn Express fits in between Travelodge and Premier Inn quality wise but could so easily be equal to Premier Inn

The only thing that lets it down is the free breakfast, it has to be free because not many people would pay, cheap nasty sausages, quite often i dont bother having breakfast and grab a tasty sandwich at a local shop. This time i did venture down for breakfast only because there were no teabags in my room

Room was clean and tidy and i will stop again but probably skip breakfast!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Njh131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Nijh131

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable and that you regularly stay with us.

I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed the breakfast. Our breakfast offering is constantly under review and we appreciate all feedback on how we can get this right. Some of the other hotels in our group are currently trialling new products and presentation and we hope to make some changes to our offering in the near future.
I really do hope that you will choose to stay with us again.
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,212 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,100 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,852 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing