We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here a number of times. It is centrally located and excellent if you are going to the Arena, just a short walk away. Located nearby also Chinatown. This is a holiday inn express, and anyone who travels knows what their breakfasts are, so I am amazed at some reviews expecting something more. Also hotel is immaculate and staff friendly. There is a secure car park next to hotel which is only £5. Obviously depending upon the evening you go, it is a party city. However the hotel do realise this and all you have to do is when booking request a quiet room, they do have quiet floors where they put us all together. Excellent hotel, lovely staff, immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 December 2013
Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at such a busy time of the year.

It always makes the staff and I very happy to hear we are lovely.We hope you will stay with us again when you visit our city.

On behalf of all the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    458
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
176
318
75
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshunt, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am writing this from my hotel room as I can't sleep, nothing to do with being in the city centre,I can handle that..but it is now 01.45 and I have been trying to sleep for 2 hours..there is a constant distant humming, sounds like someone is vacuuming! Or a dim drilling noise.. And it's been going on for ages...add that to this constant sound of what seems to be a very loud light switch being turned off and on repeatedly from the room next door...surely can't be it's been doing it for 3 hrs...

I drove up from north of London today to meet up with my son to drive him home from university tomorrow for the Xmas holidays. The hotel itself is decent, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable so no complaints on that score. Also great location, 5 mins walk to St James's and 10 to Eldon Square shopping..

Just wish I could get some sleep ahead of the long drive back tomorrow...:-(

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear Sjc1965,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a great nights sleep when you stayed with us.Please could you get in touch with the hotel and let us know your room number so we can look into this problem.However we do have staff on duty 24 hours a day and i do wish you would have contacted us so we could of rectified this problem before your departure.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies and i hope this will not stop you from staying with us in the future.

Merry Christmas.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Stayed in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle for 6 nights. Our room was clean, modern, bed sheets/linen were exceptionally soft, mattress comfortable, and at least on the 5th floor it was nicely quiet during night time.

However, don't expect too much from the breakfast: It was rather simple (no veggies at all) and every morning they were running out of some food, so be prepared to wait for a while if you want e.g. scrambled eggs with beans. Also, free WiFi connection is quite slow. TIP: If you're staying for several nights, ask WiFi code for multiple days. We received on our first 2 days a code, which allowed us to use the Internet only for 24 hours, so we had to pick up each time a new code from reception, until someone realized to give us a code for 4 days. Also, as you can connect only one device/code, I think they should give the codes based on the number of guests, not rooms (as me and my fiancé both needed to use our laptops).

Then again, this is affordable hotel with excellent location, so I guess you can't get it all! Nevertheless, I'll be happy to stay in this hotel again, and thus can recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TuKri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Tukri

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to leave us your review whilst everything during your stay was not 100% satisfactory I am glad you are going to be staying with us again. With regards to WIFI you rightly so should have been given a code for your whole stay and I apologise you were not however your code operates two devices so you should have both been able to work. When staying again if you have any issues just contact any team member who will be glad to help.

Hope to see you soon

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed for a few nights in November. Reception staff were friendly and explained everything we needed to know about the hotel clearly. Room was clean and comfortable, decent TV and free but slowish WiFi. Bathroom was clean, so the important things are correct. The breakfast was OK for me, but the room where the food is laid out is a bit on the tiny side.
A small amount of noise outside in the early hours, but this is a hotel in Newcastle not a rural retreat.
The hotel is easy to find when driving up from the south. It's a short walk to a good selection of bars and places to eat.
The nearby car park has way too many privilege type parking bays which visitors can't use so watch out for them. It's cheap by UK standards at £5 a day and very close to the hotel. Though for some reason there are steps between the two not a ramp.
If we go back to Newcastle will more than likely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear BrianBasil,

Thanks for taking the time out your busy day to review our hotel here in Newcastle city centre.

Its wonderful to hear that if you do visit Newcastle again you will stay at our hotel.

I am sorry to hear that the WIFI was slowish but for a small fee of £5 you can purchase high speed internet access for up to 3 devices.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

I stayed there last week and was very impressed. I was recognised as a Gold Card Member and the check in was remarkably swift. The receptionis was very friendly and we compared notes about Rajasthan where we had both visited.

The location was perfect - just a 5 minute walk from the station and close to a number of good restaurants.

The quality was good and what you would expect from a Holiday Inn Express. The room was comfortable and very quiet which meant I had two good nights sleep.

I will be staying there again over the next few months

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the aquare
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nsojer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Nsojer,

Thanks for taking the time out your day to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its great to hear you had a good nights sleep when staying with us.We look forward to welcoming you back when you next return to Newcastle.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

I stayed here on a Sunday night and was impressed with the friendly staff and room on the 4th Floor, and the price was most competitive

Staff even did my photocopying with no charge and nothing was to much trouble from the receptionist, and staff at breakfast was very helpful

I ordered a taxi for the following morning and should like to thank the staff for their effective and efficient customer care skills

Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Kevin E,

Thanks for taking the time out your day to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Have a Merry Christmas

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I say I should be a hotel critic for how often I stay in hotels of this price range and the holiday inn express Newcastle would have to be the worst review. Its good for location to city centre and room was a good size, clean and soft bed. Decent bathroom and fresh towels every day. However the breakfast was disgusting. Seating area looked impressive however food was laid out in tiny room, no one could move, and there was only sausage egg and cold beans. No beacon, mushrooms, tomato, hash browns.. the usual you would expect. It stood in a tiny un-presentable stand.Then I ended up spitting the egg out as tasted fowl. I Thought it might be a "one off" however next day we opted just for a coffee as exactly the same, we heard at least two other people complaining to staff about the food. There are plenty of places near by to get a nice breakfast for less than a fiver. Now I know why the breakfast is included in the price. Also during the night was a lot of noise about 3-5am when the bars close, also workmen and bin men early mornings.
The Jury's Inn 5 minute walk away is a lot better and similar price. Large hotel with impressive reception and great River Tyne views if get high up room. No noise to keep you awake through night and breakfast - you'd think you were in a much more expensive hotel

Room Tip: don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JillhelenNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear JillHelenNewcastle

I am sorry to hear that your breakfast experience with us was disappointing for you. Holiday Inn Express as a brand offer a continental breakfast with 3 hot breakfast items across the estate. I have spoken with our kitchen team to ensure that the quality of all products is acceptable before being sent to the serving area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,232 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,825 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing