We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean, tidy, modern comfortable room for money, accommodating, helpful staff!

Chaotic breakfast (short staffed) parking a problem if booking in on a match day , if not lucky like me for a change!

Definitely stay again! For the price, standard of room, and location, you can't go wrong! 10 minutes to Grey Street / centre/ Chinatown 5 minutes walk / Quayside 10 minutes / metro a short stroll!

Try!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
Thank Oatcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2014

Dear Oatcake1,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I'm sorry to hear breakfast was chaotic.I hope this wont put you off visiting our hotel again.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,228)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

658 - 664 of 1,228 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked last minute for a Christmas night out in newcastle. Car parking is right next to the hotel and is free from 5pm - 8am , then 80p per hour or £5 per day. Check in was fast and easy. Twin room had comfortable beds and pillows and the shower was fine. Breakfast was turn up and help yourself. Sausage scrambled eggs and beans or continental. All staff were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westbub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear Westbub59,

Thank you for taking the time over this busy festive period to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Happy New Year.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express. I normally stay in Jury's however my sister had booked Jurys.
The staff where incredibley friendly at reception, in fact as it was Children's in Need they where all wearing onesies which was funny.
We had a tiny twin room, but it was perfect for our needs. It was a little cold but we soon warmed up once we learned how to use the heating system.
My only niggle about the Holiday Inn was that the breakfast area is a little cramped and a bit of a pain trying to get your grub.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2013

Dear Katrina,

Thanks for taking the time over this busy time of year to write a review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am glad you found the onsies funny as all the staff here loved dressing u in them!

We hope you will stay with us again when you visit the City.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I have just recently returned home after spending last week managing a tour for Albion Soccer Club from San Diego.
I stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and can honestly say that the staff were excellent through out.
Nothing was to much bother, and all enquiries and questions were dealt with in a positive manner.
This was the first time the company had used this hotel, but will definately be back.
Hotel is ideally situated for all attractions and only a few minutes walk into the city.
Would just like to thank Andrew and the staff once again, for making the trip such a great success.

Robin wood
Excel International Sports.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M13WOO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Mr Wood,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Thank you for your kind words of praise. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Merry Christmas from all the team at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre.


Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

On first impression the room was clean, but inspection of the bed revealed serious faults. Yes indeed the sheets had been laundered, but sadly retained what were obviously semen stains- pretty yucky and should have been thrown away . The mattress was ripped and the bed base very dusty. A cheap, thin, synthetic, hair-encrusted, plastic-backed mattress protector ensured that little sleep would happen, particularly as air-conditioning wasn't satisfactory and a heavy synthetic duvet raised the temperature. Add to this the constant mega-loud traffic noise and I wasn't very happy in the morning. Dirty grouting in the bathroom and toothpaste stains in the basin completed the room's less-than clean picture.
This hotel is in a convenient central location and staff are lovely, but whoever spends the money here, needs to upgrade standards, employ more house-keeping staff who can do their jobs properly, remove ancient torn mattresses, thoroughly inspect ALL linens and replace stained items. I am not a fanatic, but when I stay in a hotel I need to ensure that my bed is clean - this is a fundamental requirement and everything else pales by comparison. Oh yes- breakfast was adequate. I definitely won't stay here again, but the staff are delightful!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Tessie1,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its very to pleasing to hear the staff are lovely and delightful.

I am very sorry to hear you had some issues with the cleanliness of your bedroom during your stay and wondering if it would be possible for you to contact the hotel directly so we can rectify this problem.

On behalf of the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed here a number of times. It is centrally located and excellent if you are going to the Arena, just a short walk away. Located nearby also Chinatown. This is a holiday inn express, and anyone who travels knows what their breakfasts are, so I am amazed at some reviews expecting something more. Also hotel is immaculate and staff friendly. There is a secure car park next to hotel which is only £5. Obviously depending upon the evening you go, it is a party city. However the hotel do realise this and all you have to do is when booking request a quiet room, they do have quiet floors where they put us all together. Excellent hotel, lovely staff, immaculate.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, they will provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miss H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Dear Amanda,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel at such a busy time of the year.

It always makes the staff and I very happy to hear we are lovely.We hope you will stay with us again when you visit our city.

On behalf of all the team here at Newcastle we wish you a very Merry Christmas.

Warmest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I am writing this from my hotel room as I can't sleep, nothing to do with being in the city centre,I can handle that..but it is now 01.45 and I have been trying to sleep for 2 hours..there is a constant distant humming, sounds like someone is vacuuming! Or a dim drilling noise.. And it's been going on for ages...add that to this constant sound of what seems to be a very loud light switch being turned off and on repeatedly from the room next door...surely can't be it's been doing it for 3 hrs...

I drove up from north of London today to meet up with my son to drive him home from university tomorrow for the Xmas holidays. The hotel itself is decent, the room is clean, the bed is comfortable so no complaints on that score. Also great location, 5 mins walk to St James's and 10 to Eldon Square shopping..

Just wish I could get some sleep ahead of the long drive back tomorrow...:-(

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjc1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Sjc1965,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear you did not have a great nights sleep when you stayed with us.Please could you get in touch with the hotel and let us know your room number so we can look into this problem.However we do have staff on duty 24 hours a day and i do wish you would have contacted us so we could of rectified this problem before your departure.

Once again please accept my sincere apologies and i hope this will not stop you from staying with us in the future.

Merry Christmas.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,338 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £43 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing