We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most Satisfactory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Most Satisfactory”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Had a great bargain stay here for £25 in their sale. Room was well maintained as was the hotel in general. Priority Club members are automatically allocated rooms overlooking the courtyard for quietness, but any guest can ask for a room that doesn't face the busy main road. I found the breakfast to be to a very good standard and unlike other reviewers I saw nothing amiss with the size of the room where the self-service buffet was set out. Only minor gripe was how chilly the bedroom became overnight when I'd switched the air-con off, as even on the lowest speed setting the whirring sound isn't conducive to a good nights sleep. Luggage storage is free of charge for guests arriving before their room is ready, but a £2.50 charge applies for storing items after checking out of a room. Conveniently located hotel for those arriving by coach or train in particular. Set back from nightlife scene to minimise external disturbances.

Room Tip: Rooms facing courtyard are free of traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scotsjimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    458
    167
    53
    27
See reviews for
176
318
75
254
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 January 2014

would just like to say i would highly recommend this hotel when your staying in newcastle, This is 2nd time i have stayed at this hotel and had amazing customer service support on the both occasions. I would personally like to thank lee Anderson and Lauren Mccabe for everything they did for us and going that extra mile to help us when we really needed them, Thank you very much to you both and we will all see you very soon x

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liverpoolclaire_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I was staying with my friend over New Year. The room I was allocated was on the roadside & was very noisy with traffic. As I was staying for three nights I asked to change the room but I was advised that I had to check out, leave my bags at reception and come back at 2pm. When I returned to the hotel at 2.30pm the room was not ready. This was disappointing as we wanted to get ready for our New Year's eve celebrations!

Room Tip: Rooms on the courtyard side are quieter than the road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HamishWalker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Hamish,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel i Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear your room was not ready when you arrived back at the hotel at 2:30pm. We aim to have all bedrooms cleaned and back in the system by 2pm but unfortunately we have failed to meet this.

Please accept my sincerest apologies.


Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

This is one of the best hotel that offers good value accommodation. Good breakfast. It is clean. The staffs were nice as well. We stayed for 5 nights and have to say that we satisfied and would definitely return if we come around the town.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melanieang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 27 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review we hope to see you again next time you visit
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Great location, clean, tidy, modern comfortable room for money, accommodating, helpful staff!

Chaotic breakfast (short staffed) parking a problem if booking in on a match day , if not lucky like me for a change!

Definitely stay again! For the price, standard of room, and location, you can't go wrong! 10 minutes to Grey Street / centre/ Chinatown 5 minutes walk / Quayside 10 minutes / metro a short stroll!

Try!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Oatcake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Oatcake1,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I'm sorry to hear breakfast was chaotic.I hope this wont put you off visiting our hotel again.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Booked last minute for a Christmas night out in newcastle. Car parking is right next to the hotel and is free from 5pm - 8am , then 80p per hour or £5 per day. Check in was fast and easy. Twin room had comfortable beds and pillows and the shower was fine. Breakfast was turn up and help yourself. Sausage scrambled eggs and beans or continental. All staff were friendly and efficient. I would definitely recommend this hotel and will use it again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westbub59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear Westbub59,

Thank you for taking the time over this busy festive period to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014.

Happy New Year.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

My sister and I recently stayed at Holiday Inn Express. I normally stay in Jury's however my sister had booked Jurys.
The staff where incredibley friendly at reception, in fact as it was Children's in Need they where all wearing onesies which was funny.
We had a tiny twin room, but it was perfect for our needs. It was a little cold but we soon warmed up once we learned how to use the heating system.
My only niggle about the Holiday Inn was that the breakfast area is a little cramped and a bit of a pain trying to get your grub.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katrina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Katrina,

Thanks for taking the time over this busy time of year to write a review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am glad you found the onsies funny as all the staff here loved dressing u in them!

We hope you will stay with us again when you visit the City.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,227 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,824 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing