We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good city centre base for Newcastle visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Excellent staff, clean, well equipped room with free wi-fi and breakfast included. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main train station and is in a safe, non-threatening location. Check out is 12 o'clock so no need to rush. Advance booking is recommended as savings are considerable over arriving on the day.

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank PhilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

624 - 630 of 1,209 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Not the first time I have stayed here and always has the same good professional team to welcome you and deal with any issues or requests. Since my last stay they have upgraded the TVs and have free wifi throughout. With a free hot or cold breakfast included this is a great place for families, individuals or groups wanting to be in the centre of the great nightlife of town.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danieljgallagher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Perfect hotel for business trip and a good rate. Location great for Metro, walking to the city, St James Pk etc. This isn't 4 or 5 start luxury but good standard hotel, better than the Premier Inn in the city (much quieter) and having breakfast included in the price useful. IHG cardholders get free wifi, but it is very slow but you can puchase wifi upgrade (I used my mobile broadband instead).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gr8critic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

This is a fairly new hotel and the standard of décor reflects this. The rooms are clean and well fitted out. The bed is very soft but that is personal. I do not like the soap containers screwed to the wall, I think this cheapens the place. Nice large shower and a good size desk if you need to work. Internet is free but very, very slow unless you pay a premium.

It is about 5 minutes walk from the station and very easy to find. It is about 10 minutes walk from St James so if you are going to the football and travelling by train it is ideal. Breakfast acceptable and a very nice bar area.Staff all helpful and polite.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alancohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Hotel is spacious, clean and bright (not to the point were it gives you a headache) I like the idea of having to use your room card to use the lift so you don't have unpaying guests wondering upstairs. I left a couple of cards in my room which one of the house keepers kindly handed into reception for me to pick up. Breakfast was a little confusing, I did want a full english but didn't know if I had to ask a member of staff or help my self so I just settled for a bowl of cornflakes and a glass of juice. The hotel is on a busy road but after about 9pm there wasn't much noise.

Room Tip: Akbars is about 100 yards from the entance and there is a premier shop just over the road from Akbar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed a couple of nights on the fifth floor. The service was friendly and check-in was quick. The quality of food at breakfast was a little low, and the choice was limited. On the plus side, the room was comfortable and there was a good choice of TV channels. But the room price was exceptional so on balance, not a bad stay at all.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Adrian,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel in Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear the quality of breakfast was below standard.

I will pass your comments on to the hotel managemnet team and hopefully we can look at ways of improving this.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Having arrived after drive from Scotland, I found the hotel, but no clue as to where the parking was so I stopped on the street to nip in and ask. The multi story next to the hotel has a VERY VERY narrow entrance (as you can tell with all the scrapes/paintwork on the walls. Upon entering the hotel, looks very spacious and pleasant, and the guys at the service desk were friendly and welcoming (love the Geordie accent!). The guy on the desk told us about there being alot of stag/hens in the hotel and gave us a room away from them so we could get a quiet nights sleep. The room was nice and modern, with a good sized TV, and an excellent toilet/shower. Upon going to bed, the traffic noise is very noticeable (even though it sits on the main road) and we just couldn't get to sleep with the noises coming from the "air circulating" unit which sounded like a fridge every 5 mins, only way louder. Couple that with the noise of water running every 2 minutes and the toilet "bubbling" every so often and you can see why this is the worst nights sleep, ever. The pillows were labelled as "firm" and "soft", soft being like sleeping on just the mattress and firm being a rock. Mix and match them and you still cant get a comfortable sleep, and a sore neck in the morning. Not even worth the free breakfast! Premier inn for me next time!

Room Tip: Bring your own pillows and earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris-Scotland1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Good Afternoon,

Thank you for your feedback and i apologise for the issues you encountered during your stay with us. We have looked into the issues regarding the a/c systen and the water and have rectified these problems. I do hope that you will give us another chance to show that we do provide a high standard of accommodation, please contact me personaly at the hotel.

Kind Regards
David Metcalfe
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,491 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,923 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,293 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,070 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing