We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay, Hot & Noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
227 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Okay, Hot & Noisy”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Stayed one night on a Thursday night and was just okay for me, the rooms where stuffy so I had to leave the window open to let some air in but the street noise was crazy up until about 4am.

Hotel was abit like a hostel full of young people drinking loads and been loud I suppose it is Newcastle afterall party capital.

Breakfast was good and the staff where all nice who I came in contact with.

£2.50 to leave a bag was steep as never experienced a bag charge in any HI Express before.

Wouls I stay again....probably not as too noisy for me.......

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

I am sorry to hear your room was stuffy.Please feel free to request a fan from reception the next time you come to visit us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    454
    165
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
316
75
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, just for a mid-week break with the boyfriend. Great hotel, friendly staff, clean & quiet room. Breakfast was okay, dont do bacon though :p but I can deal with that. Would happily stay here again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank curlyyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear antonette_christie,

Thanks for your lovely review.

I am sorry about the no bacon on the breakfast but unfortunately due to IHG brand standards we are uable to provide this.

I hope this will no put you off visiting our hotel again.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for one night for a girls night out in Newcastle.
Hotels location is great, 5 min walk from train station, bars and clubs etc.
Hotel is very clean, rooms great, I stayed in a double.
Very comfortable bed and an excellent hot shower.
Breakfast was ok, continental breakfast was included in my room rate.
Could really have done with some bacon and eggs though!
Overall a good stay and worth the room rate charged.
I would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sugar_bubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear sugar_bubb,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We hope you will stay with us again when you next visit the area.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here over the Valentines weekend. Hotel ideally situated for shopping, nightlife, restaurants etc, however very popular with stag and hen parties. Room very clean with a lovely bathroom, tea and coffee provided and a hairdryer. Wifi available in the bedroom with good reception, tv had a good signal too. Bed was comfy but the hotel could benefit from extra glazing, the road side which we were on was quite noisy, even in the middle of the night. When we asked what time breakfast was we were told it was advisable to get there early as it got very busy with all the stags and hens. We didn't want to get up that early so gave it a miss the first day. The second day we went down about 9. Breakfast was ok, nothing more - no bacon but scrambled egg, sausages, beans and cereal and fruit . There seemed to be quite a few people wandering around in their pyjamas which was a little offputting, the hotel should really not allow this in the dining area. I know with the Holiday Inn Express it's advertised as a complimentary breakfast, but considering the price we paid I would have expected a better breakfast and better standards. All in all with the staff being so pleasant and the nice room the stay was ok.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear RosieB8

Thankyou for taking the time to write a review, I am pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us.
Our free breakfast buffet is extremely popular but I apologise that you didn’t get to experience it at its best. I have spoken with my team to discuss your review and we will work to improve the breakfast experience in future.
Again thanks once again for taking the time to write your review and we look forward to welcoming you again here soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my friend room was clean and comfortable . The location was great and central for bars and restaurants. We ate at nearby after seeing Sarah Millican which was only 5 mins walk. The car park was close and only cost £5 for 24 hours so meant we could go shopping next day which again is only 10 mins walk. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank concertlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Concertlover,

Thanks for your recent review.

I am pleased to hear you will visit our hotel again and we cannot wait to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranves-Sales, France
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

We had an excellent stay at this hotel which is clean, comfortable and very centrally situated. It is 5 minutes walk from the train station - so close the taxis won't take you. Whilst you won't get picturesque views - it is surrounded by high rise buildings - it is in a quiet courtyard with no traffic at the front of the hotel. The rooms are a good size, the beds comfortable and the bathrooms clean - shower no bath for the rooms we had. The breakfast is self service but provides cooked as well as continental. The coffee, whilst machine made, is really quite good. Not continental standard so if you are French or Italian you may be disappointed but by UK hotel standards it was a decent cup of coffee. The staff were charming and extremely helpful. There is a bar which is open in the evenings and perhaps during the day although we only used it in the evening. So all together a very comfortable stay and at 45 pounds per room excellent value. Would recommend it.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MartiniJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear MartiniJane,

Thanks for your kind review.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent staff, clean, well equipped room with free wi-fi and breakfast included. Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the main train station and is in a safe, non-threatening location. Check out is 12 o'clock so no need to rush. Advance booking is recommended as savings are considerable over arriving on the day.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,117 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,147 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing