We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Nearby Hotels
Jurys Inn Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$70
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Royal Station Hotel(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Indigo Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$80
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$115
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
    US$89
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$78
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Free Parking
    US$91
    Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
    US$87
    Priceline
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Reviews (1,259)
    Filter reviews
    1,259 results
    Traveller rating
    512
    493
    173
    53
    28
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    512
    493
    173
    53
    28
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewscity centrecar park next doortrain stationscrambled egg and beansfree breakfastmulti story car parksofa bedbusy roadbudget hotelsst james parkexcellent locationself servicereception staffstag and hen partiesmin walkstayed here for two nightsyogurt
    Filter
    Updating list...
    659 - 664 of 1,259 reviews
    Reviewed 16 March 2014

    This is now the third time we spent the night here.So now it is time for me to write a review. Reception is light and clean with a bar attached to it. Via 2 elevators you go up to a max of 5 floors. Nice spacy corridors lead you to a surprisingly room with a double or twin bed. In room television and free Wi-Fi for the guests. Nice bathroom with a good solution to use one door for two "rooms", bathroom and toilet. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast is served downstairs next to the reception, annex bar. The breakfast is not a breakfast one should expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Since our last visit it improved tremendously to an almost complete English breakfast.
    Parking is the nearby parking garage, In the weekend, (fri-sun) for only 5 pounds. As it is done via a display of your ticket behind your window screen, one can go in and out as many time during this period. This is a place I can highly recommend!!.

    Room Tip: As for twin beds, specially if you are not used to sleep in a double bed. The higher up the less noise you have from all the partiers during the weekend.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank LenOudshoorn
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thanks for your recent review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

    It is always pleasing to hear our hotel is highly recommended by guests and that we have improved since your last visit.

    We thrive to keep up with our competetors and are pleased to hear we are doing so.

    Kindest Regards
    Lee Anderson

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 16 March 2014

    Decided to book this hotel for a short city break with my wife. We were looking for a city centre hotel near to the train station and the city centre and the Holiday Inn ticks both boxes. Train station is a two minute walk away and the town centre about 5 minutes away. The room was ok for a short break and had everything we needed. The room had a kettle, hairdryer and a large screen TV. The TV has an HDMI point so you can plug in your tablet or lap top if you need to. We noted a number of stag and hen parties checking in during our stay but we they do not make any noise and we had an undisturbed sleep on both nights of our stay. The bonus of picking this hotel is the free breakfast which was very good. Near the hotel you have lots of places to eat and drink and just across the road from the hotel is the discovery museum which is worth visiting. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a decent budget hotel in Newcastle.

    Room Tip: Book a family room with a double bed and couch as they are bigger than the standard rooms but cost the same.
    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank servite
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thanks for your recent kind review.

    Its always nice to hear that our guests appreciate our complimentary breakfast.

    We hope to see you again soon.

    Warmest Regards
    Lee Anderson

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 15 March 2014

    Hotel located near bar and restaurants.metro station and train station is a five minute walk giving access to all areas of Newcastle
    Ten minute walk to universities and football ground
    Staff very helpful,car park next door £5 to leave car all day.
    Rooms well equipped and comfortable.

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank woodfamilyLeeds
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thanks for taking the time out your busy weekend to review our hotel.

    It is always very pleasing to hear our staff are very helpful.

    I hope to see you back at our hotel soon.

    Kindest Regards
    Lee Anderson

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 14 March 2014

    Stayed one night on a Thursday night and was just okay for me, the rooms where stuffy so I had to leave the window open to let some air in but the street noise was crazy up until about 4am.

    Hotel was abit like a hostel full of young people drinking loads and been loud I suppose it is Newcastle afterall party capital.

    Breakfast was good and the staff where all nice who I came in contact with.

    £2.50 to leave a bag was steep as never experienced a bag charge in any HI Express before.

    Wouls I stay again....probably not as too noisy for me.......

    • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank copleycop
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014

    Dear Guest,

    Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

    I am sorry to hear your room was stuffy.Please feel free to request a fan from reception the next time you come to visit us.

    We look forward to seeing you again soon.

    Warmest Regards
    Lee Anderson

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

    Stayed here for 2 nights, just for a mid-week break with the boyfriend. Great hotel, friendly staff, clean & quiet room. Breakfast was okay, dont do bacon though :p but I can deal with that. Would happily stay here again.

    Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    Thank curlyyboo
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

    Dear antonette_christie,

    Thanks for your lovely review.

    I am sorry about the no bacon on the breakfast but unfortunately due to IHG brand standards we are uable to provide this.

    I hope this will no put you off visiting our hotel again.

    Warmest Regards
    Lee Anderson

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews