We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2014

The hotel staff was very helpful.nothing was to much trouble Hotel near to station and not far from shops
The room were clean .I would stay there again.the breakfast was good there more than enough food there.





Room Tip: More tea and coffee and milk in the room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,191)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

591 - 597 of 1,191 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

Without a doubt and without hesitation, if you are deciding on a hotel in Newcastle, I would wholeheartedly recommend this one. From the warm and professional welcome from John to the spacious, airy and extremely clean facilities, this hotel is a one size fits all. The staff cannot do enough for you and Lee Anderson and Michael in particular were exceptional. They were extremely personable (a double act in fact), very funny and exponentially informative about the local area. The staff very cleverly have set floors for stag and hen parties so that as a couple, we were well away from any noise and late night antics. In room 425 we faced the courtyard therefore heard not a sound of traffic or fellow residents. We were extremely happy with the large, clean room; utilised the free wifi and there were many TV stations/music channels to entertain us whilst we got ready to explore the city. The hotel is superbly located, minutes walk from the shopping centres, many, many restaurants, the cocktail bars on Grey Street and the quayside market on a Sunday. The breakfast is excellent for the price, with the options not limited to continental and sausage, scrambled egg and beans so just short of a full breakfast. Eat till you're full and they provide brown bags and paper cups should you wish to eat on the go. We particularly fell for the charms of Decantus- a Spanish gin bar on Grey street where you receive a tapas dish per drink and the gin cocktails are to die for... We also enjoyed before and after drinks in the hotel where there is ample choice; the drinks are fairly priced and again, thank you to Lee and Michael for your wit, humour and great company. You should both be recognised for the valuable role you play at this hotel as we would return purely on the basis of your conduct. Thank you for a fantastic stay!!! Navenka and Mick xx

Room Tip: Courtyard and on the fourth or fifth floor are quieter and don't include stag or hen parties
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Navenka L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review.

It was a pleasure having you and your partner stay with us at the weekend and Michael is over the moon to be part of my double act!

Please recommend our hotel to all your friends and we do look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Just home from a fab weekend in newcastle! There were 15 of us on a hen party and the hotel had everything we needed.
Great central location, clean rooms with great facilities and all the staff were so friendly and willing to help in any way possibl. Great brrakfast especialy as its free!
Would defenetly recommend and hopefully visit again

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cliomc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your recent kind review.

Its so pleasing to read the staff here are so helpful.

We hope you will come back and visit us again soon for another hen party!

Kindest regards
Lee Anderson
Guest services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

I spent one night in this hotel and would definetly never come back.
The night I spent their was windy. The problem is I couldn't sleep due to the whistle and noise created by the high wind.
The room was small and not well maintsined.
And above all, the complementary breakfast wasn't good. I had to look for breakfast outside the hotel.
I don't recommend this hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank Zouari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

I am very disapponted to see you only gave our hotel a 1 star review due tho the high winds in Newcastle during your stay.

I am sorry to hear the breakfast wasnt good I will pass your comments onto our management team.

I hope you will come back and visit the hotel again.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Giving this 5/5 because it was exactly what we wanted! Great location for the arena, spotlessly clean, reasonable parking next door, excellent staff! And it was really cheap with a free breakfast thrown in!

Will definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank eds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle city centre.

Its great to see you gave us 5 stars, Thanks.I hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

This is now the third time we spent the night here.So now it is time for me to write a review. Reception is light and clean with a bar attached to it. Via 2 elevators you go up to a max of 5 floors. Nice spacy corridors lead you to a surprisingly room with a double or twin bed. In room television and free Wi-Fi for the guests. Nice bathroom with a good solution to use one door for two "rooms", bathroom and toilet. Tea and coffee facilities in the room. Breakfast is served downstairs next to the reception, annex bar. The breakfast is not a breakfast one should expect from a Holiday Inn Express. Since our last visit it improved tremendously to an almost complete English breakfast.
Parking is the nearby parking garage, In the weekend, (fri-sun) for only 5 pounds. As it is done via a display of your ticket behind your window screen, one can go in and out as many time during this period. This is a place I can highly recommend!!.

Room Tip: As for twin beds, specially if you are not used to sleep in a double bed. The higher up the less noi...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LenOudshoorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review on our hotel here in Newcastle.

It is always pleasing to hear our hotel is highly recommended by guests and that we have improved since your last visit.

We thrive to keep up with our competetors and are pleased to hear we are doing so.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Decided to book this hotel for a short city break with my wife. We were looking for a city centre hotel near to the train station and the city centre and the Holiday Inn ticks both boxes. Train station is a two minute walk away and the town centre about 5 minutes away. The room was ok for a short break and had everything we needed. The room had a kettle, hairdryer and a large screen TV. The TV has an HDMI point so you can plug in your tablet or lap top if you need to. We noted a number of stag and hen parties checking in during our stay but we they do not make any noise and we had an undisturbed sleep on both nights of our stay. The bonus of picking this hotel is the free breakfast which was very good. Near the hotel you have lots of places to eat and drink and just across the road from the hotel is the discovery museum which is worth visiting. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel if you are looking for a decent budget hotel in Newcastle.

Room Tip: Book a family room with a double bed and couch as they are bigger than the standard rooms but cost t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank servite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent kind review.

Its always nice to hear that our guests appreciate our complimentary breakfast.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest Regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,277 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,871 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,046 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £49 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing