We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot praise highly enough!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cannot praise highly enough!!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my missus came to Newcastle to see Fall Out Boy in March this month. We were looking for a hotel in a nearby area which is also clise to the city centre. We looked here (on tripadvisor) and the reviews had us sold. When booking the hotel the price for this fantastic location and perfect for our needs cost us next to nothing!
The only problem is the parking, unfortunitly you have to pay for parking in the nearby multistorey carpark (if you can find a place) however it was reasonably priced. The hotel itself is clean, great staff and good facilities. The hotel room was clean, large and cleverly designed. Comfy bed, choice between soft and firm pillows, sofa bed (not that it was needed but still comfortable to sit on) television and hanging facilities.
I did have to contact them to change my booking but they were quick to reply and amend my booking waver.
Breakfast was also free... Not sure if it was just a one off but it definitly went down a storm after a few bevvies the night before
Thank you very much Holiday Inn, I have already recommended you and hope to be staying in another one in the near future :)

Excellent

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuart I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    454
    165
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
317
75
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on a business trip for 1 night. Check in was not very friendly and one man doing the check ins and the bar at same time. After filling in my form with name and address and getting my key card he left my details on top of reception to go and serve someone.

Data protection ? I hesitated and went to take the form but left it. Wished I had but I complained later. The room was ok but the loo smelt of urine and on inspection was not clean at all! I did not look too closely obviously but not a pleasant odour. Coupled with the roadworks near by I found it hard to find the parking as well and reception centrally were no use in helping me .

Would not stay here again when I am back in the North East.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review.

I am very disappointed to read about your problems during your stay.

If you can please could you contact our hotel and give me some more details on your reservation.

We take cleanliness very seriously here at Holiday inn express and it is very sad to see we did no meet our promise this time.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my family including 2 children aged 7 and 2. From the moment we checked in the staff were so friendly, Michael and Kimberley were so friendly and efficient. They gave us colouring pens and a game for kids as we arrived early before room ready. Then throughout the stay another Michael was really friendly and efficient at breakfast as a waiter. Staff gave us suggestions for local restaurants, advice on museums around the area. Brilliant short break in newcastle! Staff should be praised for making the hotel stay part of a great couple of days.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cmmay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent review.

Kimberly and Michael will be thrilled to see thier name on Tripadvisor.

We hope you will visit us again soon.

Kindest Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed here for two nights while work was being done on our house. Staff were pleasant, the room was basic but clean. Nice central location so we could get around town easily. Free breakfast was fine: basic with croissants, yogurt, cereal, etc and a limited hot choice of sausages, beans and scrambled eggs.
For the price we were more than happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fayNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cal12, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

It's very pleasing to read you had a pleasant stay.

We hope you will stay with us again when you next visit the city.

Kindest Regards

Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

+: location: safe/ walking distance from station; friendly staff; quiet, in spite of best efforts of guests on hen/ stag parties; grab and go breakfast
-: limited breakfast options (bacon? Guests have mentioned this previously & other Holiday inns manage it); attention to lime scale accumulation in the bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PnutMinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear Guest ,

Thanks for your recent kind review.

Unfortunately due to the express brand standard we are unable to provide bacon at this moment in time however we do offer a large selection of other breakfast items.

We hope you will visit again soon.

Kind Regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Decent hotel, decent staff and decent rooms however, there was no bacon at breakfast, bit upsetting but everything else was good! Derrick on the bar is a top chat and bouncers on the door is a must especially when there's pizza flying all over the shop!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Luton89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Just returned from a 2 night family break here, and would definitely book this hotel again. Helpful staff, clean, basic room, good shower, quiet room provided (as requested) on 5th floor. If you're an especially light sleeper, you might wish to take earplugs - being city centre, you'll hear some sirens, but apart from that, it was quiet.

Staff incredibly friendly and helpful - showed us where to find menus for local takeaways, offered advice on good places to eat, and showed us where to find plates, napkins and cutlery, saying that we were welcome to bring takeaway food into the breakfast area if we preferred, rather than taking it to our room, Breakfast area also has a microwave available.

Ideally located for museums and attractions such as Life, Discovery museum (only a couple of minutes walk away), Newcastle Central railway station, and Metro. Premier shop nearby, and lots of takeaway food options on that street - Afghans was excellent for burgers, pakora etc, with extremely friendly staff.

Excellent breakfast range, with staff replenishing as items ran low - rolls, croissants, bread/toast, several kinds of fruit juice, yoghurt, ~ 6 varieties of cereal, mini muffins, cheese and fruit, as well as sausages, scrambled egg and beans. If you're in a hurry, there are also brown bags and disposable cups to take breakfast away with you.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room when you book - staff happy to oblige.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,049 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,196 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#25 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Lastminute, IHG, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing