We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights. Excellent hotel in a great location. Check in fast and efficient. Room and very clean. Beds comfortable. Breakfast very good. Cant find any fault with this city center hotel hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dunlade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for such a nice review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

565 - 571 of 1,198 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2014

This Hotel was a fantastic base for a stay in the fabulous city of Newcastle, but the staff deserve a mention as there service was second to none and will make my choice to stay here again an easy one.

John, Kimberly and Derek were just some of the team I had the pleasure to deal with but the rest of the team also helped make my stay both memorable and enjoyable.

I would recommend this hotel and their team of staff to anyone coming to Newcastle, good value, great service and a Canny place to visit..........:)

See you soon

Bob

Room Tip: 5th floor was as good as it gets, quiet and spacious...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2011bob2bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your 5 star review.

Its very pleasing to read John,Kimberley and Derek made such a lasting impression to your visit,they will be very pleased to hear this.

All the team look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.


Kind regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel room a little dated compare to other holiday inn... Location good. Breakfast a little chaotic no trays to carry the food.. But on a good points take away cups available. I would stay at this hotel again if others won't available

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking time out of your day to write your review regarding your recent stay at our hotel.

We are pleased to hear that our hotel and location met all of your expectations. The free breakfast is an area where we are continuing to improve upon and therefore we welcome all feedback from our guests the reason we now have no trays is so that we can spend more time speaking to our guests when clearing the tables so I am sorry that didn't come across in the service you received. We follow a comprehensive planned maintenance programme on our rooms and I would be interested to hear from you regarding which room you stayed in so I can check this out.

Again thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel whilst on business. The location is great, very central and close to the train station. It is very close to the metro radio arena as well. The staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable with excellent facilities. The included breakfast was fine, although there is a very limited selection of cooked items. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying again in future.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank ModVixen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

We are pleased to read the location was good.

We hope you will come back soon and visit our lovely staff.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This is a good choice if accommodation is needed near the train station. It was only a short walk, even if it took a little while to realise that the entrance was on the inner side, facing into Waterloo Square, rather than being off the Boulevard. I requested a room on high floor, and found that this was fairly quiet. The room was well designed. There was nothing superfluous or luxurious, but it was perfectly adequate for a short stay. The free wi-fi is very welcome, as is the buffet breakfast, which extended to cooked items as well as continental breakfast. The staff were polite and welcoming. There was unfortunately a hen night in progress when I stayed, which made walking through the public areas a bit uncomfortable and hectic at times. However, I somehow escaped any night disturbance.

Room Tip: If you are needing quiet for working in your room (or simply sleeping), it might be useful to ask wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridges012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and location to have everything that you needed for your visit to the city. Wel look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed here for my son's stag weekend as part of a deal which included other activities. The hotel was more than adequate for our needs. It provided comfy, clean rooms, a good breakfast and the staff were friendly and very helpful. I would stay here again as it was in a central position for all of Newcastles attractions and was within a stones throw of the Tyne Waterfront which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review it is much appreciated. I am glad you found the rooms to be comfy and clean you were able to sample our Free breakfast and you found my colleagues to be friendly and helpful. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Lovely weekend spent in a great holiday close to everything! The facilities for a wheelchair user were excellent and couldn't be faulted! Would really recommend! Staff were friendly and couldn't be more helpful. Great breakfast too!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaymaker048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Reviewer

Thankyou for taking the time to write your great comments, I am glad you found our disabled facilities to be excellent and couldn't be faulted.Thanks again for your 5 star review and we look forward to welcoming you back to Newcastle very soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,263 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,890 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £53 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing