We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We had on overnight stay at this hotel on our break back from Scotland.The checking in and out was very good.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.The complimentary breakfast was very good,the best we have had in a Holiday Inn! All ares were very clean and the beds very comfortable.Would not hesitate to stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

587 - 593 of 1,232 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

myself and my partner have just returned from a 3 day visit to the holiday inn express and we had a brilliant time. The hotel is very central to everything in Newcastle, We were visiting from Swansea as I was taking the missus to see Robbie Williams live at the metro arena which is only 5 minutes down the road. The hotel is Lovely, very clean and modern. But what makes this hotel extra special is the STAFF they were wonderful especially (Lauren and Lee) who we had some realy good laughs with. We will definitely return again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f19nch70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. I am especially glad that myself and Lauren made your stay
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is only five minutes away from the arena and the station, very central "excellent" for most attractions in the city.
The hotel it's self is very welcoming ,staff very friendly,the place had a good atmosphere.
The reception staff and breakfast room staff were very efficient and helpful and polite and chatty.
The hotel was very modern and the deco was of an excellent standard nice and fresh.
Our room was superb,comfortable beds once again deco up to standard .cleanliness of bathroom very good everything clean as it should be.
Our room looked out onto the main square above reception, room 409.There was minimum noise no interruption ,window was open all night too.Room nice and cool as it was a warm night.
Over all I have to say the best hotel I have stayed in,will be back again that is for certain. Well done to all the staff who work there!!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its very pleasing to read we are the best hotel you have ever stayed in.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Only down side was there is a temperature regulator in the room which actually doesn't work! Went to reception to inquire about this and and was told that its just an air circulator. But overall stay was good..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

I am sorry to read about the room being too hot.We have since had the system serviced and its now running 100% better.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I had booked 2 rooms for a wedding we were attending in Newcastle. We arrived VERY early and were given one room immediately and the other a few minutes later. The Staff could not have been more helpful. The rooms were light, airy and spotlessly clean. We had drinks and a snack in the bar. We had a couple of hours between the wedding and reception and went back to the Hotel. The Staff were very interested in the wedding as it had been held at the Theatre Royal. They arranged for taxis to take us to the Reception with no problem. We had been advised by the taxi driver that the hotel was notorious for stag and hen nights but we heard nothing. We were on 5th floor 526 and 528 and had a blissful nights sleep. Other relatives were on the 2nd floor and also heard nothing. Breakfast was lovely. Sausages, Eggs, Beans, Cereal, Pastries, Toast, Rolls, Cheese, Yoghurts - something for everyone with lovely coffee to boot. We were given a nice send off. We will return to Newcastle and will definitely stay here. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Try a high floor 528 right at the end of the corridor is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanRayYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your recent kind review.

We hope to see you again soon.

Warmest regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is really clean members of staff great very helpful indeed all of them.paul on nights really nice Michael I think is name is in the breakfast room always a smile on his face.hotel great location for the gate and diamond strip.breakfast nice would have liked bacon but eh ho we was happy .really warm hotel

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan197040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review.

Michael is over the moon to hear your lovely comments.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best wishes
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Stayed over a couple of nights ago on business and from the moment of arrival when a line of smiling faces turned toward me to greet me on entrance, the attention and professionalism of the staff far outweighed anything I experienced with 4 and 5 star hotels. Without being pushy, they just really couldn't do enough for me, whether that was directions to a good takeaway or helping me to ice, checking me in or out.
Room was comfortable, sheets and bed very clean with choice of pillows. The bathroom was done to a very high standard with tiled floors and walls rather than cheap vinyl I am used to at other budget hotels. Bath towels were really large and soft, lights worked to I didn't have to get out of bed to switch lights off at the entire room. Little extras such as larger than usual screen tv, well lit mirrors, separate futon, comfortable chair with the dresser ( none of that plastic 'stylish' rubbish you cant sit on).
The complimentary breakfast was freshly cooked, the fruit excellent quality and good range. Missed having bacon but for the value it was great. The only constructive criticism that I would have is that the walls needed a lick of paint, but the apparent cleanliness of the rooms and hotel meant I wasn't at all bothered by the scrapes etc. Location was ideal as it took me under 3 minutes to walk to the conference centre. Will definitely return and much recommend!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 218 - little bit of road noise but not overly loud and was comfortable and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Girl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

It’s very pleasing to read you think our hotel provides a 5 star service at a 2 star price. We hope you will tell all your friends about your great experience.

We hope to see you again in our hotel soon.

Have a lovely summer.
Kind regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,475 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,351 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,977 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,554 reviews
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £49 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing