We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
299 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 257 helpful votes
“Super stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed only 2 nights at the Holiday Inn Express, but it was a wonderful stay.
Check-in/check-out: we had booked the room via an internet set. Both check-in and check-out went smoothly and efficiently.
Staff: Courteous – not merely the formal politeness, but really nice.
Rooms: quite spacious and very clean; sufficient sockets to charge cell phones etc. Coffee/tea making facility was a godsend (unfortunately no fridge). Bed was sufficiently large and comfortable. A/C worked perfectly. Wifi was also perfect – easy access, no need to repeat log-in every day or after returning to the room, fast. Only downside: no safe.
Bathroom: had the practical solution of being divided into two since the door to the bathroom could be used, once opened, to close the entrance to the section with the toilet. Toiletries: shower gel/shampoo (2in 1) in a dispenser; hand soap in a dispenser. If I remember correctly, the hotel offers complimentary toothbrush etc. on request.
Breakfast: not many dishes but tasty; no egg station but scrambled eggs available. The two main plus points: dishes were replenished until the very end of breakfast time (so even late comers got to enjoy the whole range) and there was a coffee machine that made espresso, cappuccino latte etc. and the taste of the coffee was super!
Smoking: smoking is not allowed in the hotel and consequently, smokers stand outside, near the entrance. I read one review that mentioned they were bothered by the smoke. However, I also noticed that this space outside is not really inviting to smokers (who are, after all, paying customers as well), given that no shelter is provided in case of cold or rain – so I am sure smokers are also not very happy to be there. One solution that might make both smokers and non-smokers happy would be creating an outside but also appealing space for smokers to congregate without bothering or being bothered. I am sure many smokers would be even happier if they could actually be served a drink or coffee there.
Location: a big big plus. It’s close to the central railway station (3-5 min. on foot; no problem even if you have suitcases with you). It’s also close (10-15 minutes) to both the new center (Haymarket) as well as the old one that begins at Monument or to the Quayside (take for instance Grainger Str. followed by Newgate Str. or Grey Str.). Basically, whatever route you take you get to walk through wonderful neighborhoods and to see wonderfully restored buildings.
So, would I stay at this hotel again? Yes.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind review.

See you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    454
    165
    53
    27
See reviews for
174
317
75
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

great location, with car park next door, very reasonable and free 5pm until 8am which is very unusual for a city centre car park, Very friendly and helpful staff. Rooms spotless and quiet, was on the second floor facing the square. Plenty of eating places close at hand, Breakfast was good and included in the reasonably priced room rate

Room Tip: room facing the Square is probably best away from traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and location to have everything that you needed for your visit to the city. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future
Best Regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We arrived before the check-in time and were allowed to leave a couple of bags with them, for free, until we came back later. There is a £2.50 charge to leave your bags after check-out, but it's free to leave them before check-in. The reception desk staff were very polite and our room was very clean and neat. Bed was VERY comfy! :)
A lot of stag and hen parties in the hotel, but we didn't have any bother with them and didn't hear them after we'd gone to bed, so they must have been given rooms on different floors to us.
The breakfast was ok, it wasn't the best I've had at a hotel, but considering we didn't have to pay extra for it, (as it was included for free) it was fine and up to the standards we would have expected. There were a few different choices of cereal and some yogurt options, as well as a few cooked breakfast items as well.
The hotel was less than a 10 minute walk from the main Newcastle train station, which was great. Although, because it is so central that meant there was a constant noise of traffic outside. The traffic noise wasn't as bad when we shut the window and really didn't bother us, but if it would bother you then I'm sure you could ask for a room on the opposite side to the road where it is quieter.
Overall our stay at the hotel was very good and we'd definitely use this one again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the opposite to the road would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire77G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for the hotel. I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and location to have everything that you needed for your visit to the city and the beds really comfy. Welook forward to welcoming you back in the near future Best Wishes
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
westmids/calaegos
Level Contributor
116 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well situated in City centre with car park close by. By the way parking is free if you arrive after 5 and leave before 8am, which we did. We stayed on a Saturday night when the hotel was invaded by Hen and Stag parties. To be fair the hotel put us on a floor well away from them so we were not disturbed by any late night revellers. Family room a bit on the small side compared to other HI Express we have stayed in, but generally fine. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. One complaint however is the tendency to allow people to congregate at the entrance smoking. On the Saturday evening the Hens and Stags were standing smoking at the entrance and we had to fight our way through a wall of thick smoke to get to reception. It also doesn't give a very good impression of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Makk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear Guest

Thankyou for taking the time to write your review, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and were not disturbed by any of our guests over the weekend. With regard to smoking at the front door we have recently reviewed our policy and are ensuring we are a lot tougher with regard to guests standing in the entrance.We look forward to seeing you at the hotel again soon

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We had on overnight stay at this hotel on our break back from Scotland.The checking in and out was very good.The reception staff were very friendly and helpful.The complimentary breakfast was very good,the best we have had in a Holiday Inn! All ares were very clean and the beds very comfortable.Would not hesitate to stay here again and will recommend to friends and family.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future.
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2014

myself and my partner have just returned from a 3 day visit to the holiday inn express and we had a brilliant time. The hotel is very central to everything in Newcastle, We were visiting from Swansea as I was taking the missus to see Robbie Williams live at the metro arena which is only 5 minutes down the road. The hotel is Lovely, very clean and modern. But what makes this hotel extra special is the STAFF they were wonderful especially (Lauren and Lee) who we had some realy good laughs with. We will definitely return again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank f19nch70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Dear Guest

Many thanks for reviewing your most recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you were happy with with all aspects of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back sometime in the future. I am especially glad that myself and Lauren made your stay
Kind regards,
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is only five minutes away from the arena and the station, very central "excellent" for most attractions in the city.
The hotel it's self is very welcoming ,staff very friendly,the place had a good atmosphere.
The reception staff and breakfast room staff were very efficient and helpful and polite and chatty.
The hotel was very modern and the deco was of an excellent standard nice and fresh.
Our room was superb,comfortable beds once again deco up to standard .cleanliness of bathroom very good everything clean as it should be.
Our room looked out onto the main square above reception, room 409.There was minimum noise no interruption ,window was open all night too.Room nice and cool as it was a warm night.
Over all I have to say the best hotel I have stayed in,will be back again that is for certain. Well done to all the staff who work there!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel here in Newcastle.

Its very pleasing to read we are the best hotel you have ever stayed in.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephenson Quarter
Crowne Plaza Newcastle - Stephen...
#7 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,050 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#8 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,004 reviews
1.0 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing