We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Modern hotel in a superb location (just 5 minutes walk form the central station). Staff very helpful, rooms comfortable and clean and the complimentary breakfast more than adequate.
No hesitation in recommending

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ian_wilson002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to write a review.

We hope to see you soon.

Kind regards
Lee Anderson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 1,199 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2014

stayed here as we needed a place to stay for a few nights when we started work at the hospitals up here. all in all it's a perfect hotel for £45/night.
the staff are perfectly friendly and so helpful. they really do go out of the way to help you with whatever you need.
the room is a fine size. it's not super spacious but enough for two people sharing and afterall, it is mainly for business.
always nice to have a bar in a hotel so you can simply sit and relax. the bar was a tad expensive (more london pub price than london hotel!)
even the breakfast was good. it starts at 7 and has takeaway bags so, if like me, you leave for work at 7 then at least you're still getting your money's worth.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank dwc840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest
Many thanks for reviewing your stay with us. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, found your room to be comfortable, enjoyed our Express Start hot buffet breakfast and that you found our location to be everything you wanted. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at Holiday inn Express for two nights when I was in Newcastle for a Newcastle match. Perfect location, only a 10min walk to the stadium, and even less for shopping. Free, simple breakfast.father&son (10)


  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Gard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so very much for posting such a kind review of your stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future.
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This was the perfect place for our three day stay in Newcastle. It seems that everyone who works here is friendly and helpful. Our double room was spacious and clean with everything you might need - including free wifi. Free breakfast had something (and plenty of it!) for everyone - cereals, croissants, cheese, scrambled eggs, sausages, baked beans, muffins.... Position is ten minutes walk from the station, right on the edge of Chinatown and next door to the fabulous Electric East (Pan Asian restaurant). Easy walk down to Quayside and over the Millennium Bridge to the Baltic. We will be back next time we come to Newcastle...

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room away that doesn't face onto the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sophie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you so much for posting an excellent detailed review of your recent stay. I'm delighted that you enjoyed our location and were happy with the facilities that we offer in the hotel. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Lovely and clean, great free breakfast, comfy bed. Though shower not fantastic !
Reception staff friendly and informative, the male receptionist gave us some useful information regarding sights & walks to do to in the evening. Certainly 100% better than our recent stays in both travel lodge and premier inns !!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you so very much for posting such a kind review of your stay with us. I'm delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay and I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the not too distant future. Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a wee city break
Room was nice , clean and well maintained.
Staff were genuinely friendly not just a painted on smile , exceptionally helpful.
Breakfast was also very good nice and hot and lots to choose from. Would deffo use this hotel again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Citybreakchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for writing your great 5 star review regarding our Brilliant Hotel it was especially great to hear that you found my colleagues to be genuinely friendly not just a painted on smile and exceptionally helpful.
We hope you stay with us again soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here for one night to allow my daughter and I a shopping trip. Hotel was very easy to find and car-park next door very reasonable. Staff went out of their way to help with buses and taxis. Breakfast basic but adequate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mrsscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holidayinnexpressncl, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2014

Dear Guest

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review regarding your one night stay at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle. We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Kind regards
Lee Anderson
Guest Services

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
Hotel Indigo Newcastle
#7 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,895 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,058 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hotel
Sandman Signature Newcastle Hote...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre

Address: Waterloo Square, St James Boulevard, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 4EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £52 - £166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in the heart of vibrant Newcastle at the Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre hotel. Located near Newcastle Central Station, our modern hotel is a short stroll from the city centre's cosmopolitan shops, bars and restaurants. Start your day right at our Express Start buffet breakfast which is always included and enjoy a choice of both hot and continental items. Ask Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's friendly front desk staff for tips on sightseeing and getting around the city. Help yourself to tea and coffee during your business event in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centres 2 air-conditioned meeting rooms. Getting to meetings around Newcastle is a breeze thanks to our proximity to the A1 and train and metro services from the station 300 metres away. Our convenient city-centre location, a short walk from historic St Nicholas Cathedral, makes us a good base for sightseeing. Stroll across the sweeping Gateshead Millennium Bridge for a night out in the Arts Quarter's hip bars and restaurants and head to the huge MetroCentre 3 miles away for hundreds more shopping and entertainment options. After a day's sightseeing, unwind over drinks in Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre's contemporary bar, open 24 hours, or catch up on email with our free Wi-Fi. Our helpful staff will be happy to order takeaway food for you to enjoy in the comfort of your modern guest room. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle City Centre Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne
Holiday Inn Newcastle Upon Tyne
Newcastle Upon Tyne Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing