We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great hotel with helpful staff. I left my mobile phone and the staff arranged for it's return. We had a huge room which was very clean room and the bed was great. The meal we had in the restaurant next door was nice although the portions were on the small side for the price. I would highly recommend this hotel and will use it the next time I am in the Newcastle area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonaidhMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one. Thank you for your comments on our comfortable rooms. Our team members will be pleased to receive your feedback as they endeavour to give all our guests a high level of service. Thanks for taking the time to review your stay; we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (558)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 558 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for a week to visit family. Room spotless, excellent service from all. Cleaning staff worked hard with the usual great assistance from Maureen. Airport was busy in the early hours with planes flying right over, but no fault of the hotel. See you again at Christmas.

Room Tip: Best upstairs, less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that your stay with us was a good one and Maureen and the team will be pleased to receive your feedback, as our team members strive to give all our guests a high level of service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed one night before heading north into Scotland. First point I noticed was that the hotel seemed quite advanced compared with other Premiers.
Cards instead of keys, however you have to remember to place the card in the slot next to the door otherwise the electricity doesn't work (bit of a problem if you leave something on charge whilst you are out).
Large LED television mounted on the wall, however being a bit too close to the wall made it hard to plug my external hard drive into it to watch movies from it!
Mirror had a number of lights built into it.
Bed was comfortable, had a good night's sleep, and despite the terrible weather, we didn't get wet walking to the Beefeater next door for food!

Room Tip: You should have a large LED tv in your room, if not ask for one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay for three nights. The staff at reception was very helpful and very chatty as well. The room was clean and cool with good night sleep. The journey to Morpeth and others was very easy in car. We shall come back again in future

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPremierInn11, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind Regards, Claire Maddison, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Couldn't fault the staff - they were friendly and very helpful but there is not a hope in hell that I will stay here EVER again. Room was unbearably hot in the recent heatwave, as there was no air con. The hotel is situated directly underneath Newcastle flight path. I could virtually wave at passengers, the planes came THAT close!
The windows only open about three inches and it's a toss up whether to have a slight waft of cool air and be woken every five minutes by plane noise, or melt into a pool of disgruntled customer, never to be seen again. I opted to strip the bed of its sheets and 'sleep' on the chaise near the window to try and get some relief from the overbearing heat. Not much was forthcoming and the noise was horrendous! I managed about an hour and a half of sleep before making an important presentation the next morning. Not impressed!
It is not a buffet breakfast and I didn't have time to wait for an order to be taken (they are a tad slow in the restaurant), so made do with fruit and a cuppa.
The receptionist was lovely and when I responded honestly to her question about whether I had enjoyed my stay, she was most apologetic. This poor review is not the fault of staff. Management need to install air conditioning and much better double glazing to keep out plane noise and maintain a temperature that it is possible for a human being to sleep in! The one saving grace is that I received an email from the person who booked the room for me, saying that Premier were refunding the money. That was impressive, because at no point did I ask for a refund.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you are a light sleeper. Directly under flight path and unbearably hot in war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Angie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

polite welcome on arrival and a clean modern room but very hot at 28 degrees , tried to alter the temp but then realised this was not possible anyway we thought it would cool down later . bedtime still 28 put the fan on thought i would sleep with just the top sheet but there wasnt one ? and couldnt open the window due to a very busy roundabout and that it is situated on the flight path.The bed was rock hard not at all like the literature describes "sink into our comfortable beds "and the bed was so creaky well i slept at 1am and was awake at 4.45 and that was it !! as we had booked for 2 nights i would have liked our money back and we could have booked in elsewhere but it appears the no quibble guarantee is not accurate.The receptionist asked why i had not gone to report this at 4.45am ( could they have amended the situation then ) i would have if there had been a phone in the room .she agreed it was hot but said that some of the other premiers are hotter!! the bedroom staff were then involved and said an extra quilt would be put on the mattress and an extra fan given and also it should be cooler as there would be less people staying.i was also informed that i should nt expect to sleep as well in a hotel as i do at home.......good nights sleep guarantee ???....well by this point the receptionist agreed to refund one night. a very thin quilt was put under the mattress the extra fan was not brought and it was still 27.5 degrees i did get some sleep probably as i was so shattered from the previous night. I was glad to leave and we continued our stay in the north east in a comfortable hotel. my first and last visit to a premier inn

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are however, pleased to learn that you were refunded in line with our Good Night Guarantee. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Thank you once again for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Beware understaffed in restaurant for breakfast, although staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast good but very poor service. Hotel very clean and looked after. Car parking limited and floods very easily. Poor ventilation in rooms in warm weather and poor storage of clothes in rooms.Location of hotel good for access to amenities, but very close to the airport flight path.



  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PHIL717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a relaxed stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments has been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth Park
Holiday Inn Newcastle - Gosforth...
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
879 reviews
2.6 mi away
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosforth Park
Newcastle Marriott Hotel Gosfort...
#34 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,059 reviews
3.9 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Holystone) Hotel
9.2 mi away
Premier Inn Ashington Hotel
5.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Newcastle International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel

Address: Moor Farm Roundabout | Annitsford, Newcastle upon Tyne NE23 7QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#6 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#12 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £45 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well placed for Whitley Bay and a short broomstick ride from Alnwick Castle, aka Hogwarts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing