We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Location, Location, Location”
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a typically good value Premier Inn where you know pretty well what to expect. The rooms were as usual comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom included both bath and shower. However, this one differed from most in 2 respects:-

Firstly, it was absolutely superbly located for any trip to Newcastle, being right on the Quayside overlooking the river and below the iconic Tyne bridge with a view of the Sage Centre and The Baltic in Gateshead. If you want to you could stay virtually immediately across the river at the Hilton Gateshead paying their prices! The Premier Inn is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions of Newcastle and Gateshead, including the Main Station, although the station and city centre are uphill.

Secondly unlike most Premier Inns it is in an historic building - The Exchange. This means that the rooms, although furnished in the standard Premier Inn manner, are slightly different, being higher and with long old-fashioned windows. To us this was no defriment but gave some character to what is usually completely standard and lacking in character.

There is also an on site restaurant where we enjoyed good value meals.

We had a very pleasant and comfortable 3 night stay here at unbelievable prices for a city centre hotel by booking and paying in advance. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    576
    286
    91
    49
See reviews for
342
583
76
235
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed over a weekend, rooms are freezing cold and little heater didn't make a difference, to add to this the kettle was broken....tried phoning reception 7 times on our 1st evening with no response...loud bar on corner so due to lack of double glazing it felt like u were inside the bar...asked receptionist next day and got shrugged off.
Great location for nightlife but rather unfriendly staff when u come back at 3/4am...they were obviously having a bad night!
Just getting heating sorted would be a great start tho!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cityhopper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed my whole time. A very special thank you to Christina who fulfilled my every need ;-o I would definitely recommend it to my family and friends. I am chairing again in the near future and hope to stay there again

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigshow123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

When Conrad Hilton was asked about what was the decisive factor in making an excellent hotel, he was quoted as saying, "Location, Location, Location". Well the Hilton in Gateshead certainly meets thet requirement with its site on the banks of the Tyne overlooking the Bridge. But what is easily overlooked is the fact that the Premier Inn at the Quayside in Newcastle has an even better site. It is located right on the historic quayside and faces Gateshead, with wonderful views out to the Tyne Bridge, the iconic Sir Norman Foster Sage Theatre and the Gateshead Millenium Bridge. It is situated in an old Georgian building, the facade of which has been faithfully restored and kept clean to fit in with the surrounding buildings. Inside the rooms are obviously on the large side for a budget chain, as they are conversions in an old buiding. Our twin room was spacious enough to have room for a large double bed and a single, with high ceilings and two large windows looking out onto the river.
Checking in was made easy by the friendly reception staff; I have to mention Laura by name as she was extemely courteous and helpful throughout our stay. The underground car park is easily accessed from Lombard Street, but there are limited spaces, so if you are driving make sure you book a space in advance by calling the hotel with your booking reference to reserve a spot
We spent three days here and had booked breakfast in advance, and we were not let down by the standard or the service; it was as good if not better than the majority of hotel chains that operate with a swankier name.
On the Sunday morning we woke to find a host of market stalls set up along the quayside right outside our door. The road was closed to traffic and we were able to enjoy a Sunday stroll around the stalls which sold many different local and not so local items as well as some spicy aromas from food stalls.
Our main reason for being in Newcastle was to attend a concert at the Sage on the Monday evening, We were able to walk from the hotel to the theatre in under 15 minutes and a pleasant stroll back afterwards with no hassle with transport arrangements.
All in all, we had an enjoyable stay in Newcastle which in no small measure was added to by the comfortable stay at the Premier Inn. All the staff we encountered in our three days were polite. helpful and courteous in the extreme. We would stay again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenW_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I was asleep before my head touched the pillow. Highly recommended for a good night's sleep and ideally placed for spectacular views of the river. Friendly and helfpul staff. Couldn't be better for singles.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viv D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here for one evening during the week, it didn't seen too busy and there was no noise from other guests. It's in good condition but you can tell its a high use place probably at weekends! It's a short walk into the centre and the Tyne bridge is just across the road.
We were really surprised just how big this place is.
Make sure you book parking as there is a underground car park with limited spaces for £7 plus it seems secure.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

I've stayed here twice now and found it to be shocking on both occasions. Uninterested reception staff, they didn't have my business meal allowance registered when I booked in, the Receptionist blamed a colleague for not printing it. Room was very cold and the tiny heater didn't make a bit of difference. Bed sheets were dirty due the filthy restaurant menu that was placed on it. It appeared to be covered in some sort of food/grease. When I went down for dinner I was told certain things were off the menu as the deep fat frier was broken. no chips or fish, or anything fried. no problem as I ordered mash with my meal, they then told me I had been given the wrong menu! I chose to eat out! Breakfast was also poor. I stay in Premier Inn hotels every week, but I shall not be giving this one another chance!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.
We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.
Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#24 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
750 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Newcastle
Malmaison Newcastle
#15 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
980 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
554 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing