We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Reviewed 5 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here one night as was in town watching a concert at the Metro Radio Arena.

Had a huge room, very nice big bed, lots of space for luggage. Staff were great. Considering how close to the quayside the hotel is it wasn't overly noisy. The bar itself and the hotel menu looked lovely although we never used either.

No comparison to the Travelodge round the corner where we stayed recently. This hotel was far superior so would highly recommend it. Would look to book here first above any hotels in Newcastle when staying again. Extremely good value if you can get the cheap rate on offer.

Points to note, there are a couple of bars underneath/next to hotel but shouldn't spoil your stay. The train station, shops and Arena are all within walking distance if required.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJ58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,445 - 1,451 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed here 3 nights over a weekend. Obviously very popular and expensive for a Premier Inn.
Located in the 'clubbing' area but no soundproofing! Our room (99) was on the first floor corner at the front and with old sash windows was like being on the street with the revellers.
Managed to change to the fourth floor at the back which was much quieter.
Staff friendly and helpful. Good breakfasts.
Book car parking early if you need it (£7 per night!).
This hotel badly needs double/triple glazing but if you get a quiet room or don't mind the noise it is fine.
Another time we would consider staying at one of the many Premier Inns on the edge of Newcastle which can be a lot cheaper (And Quieter!) and get a taxi to/from the centre.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms at the front unless you have earplugs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012 via mobile

Stayed during the week for £39, worth every penny. Room was a ok size and clean. Could hear the nightclub at the side of the hotel but didn't stop us having a good sleep. Worth the money and would use them again. Also worth pre booking the car park.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garrye81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The room we stayed in was freezing. When we put the heating up it went back to what it was within 5 minutes. This affected our nights sleep greatly. We got woke u about 10 times throughout the night because of it.

The room was small but clean and tidy. The shower wasnt the greatest.

The reception staff were not very friendly rather frosty on arrival.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn our main objective remains to deliver a high level of customer service in all our establishments. We apologise for the service you experienced at our hotel.

Your comments have been noted and will be duly investigated by both Head Office and the Management Team at our hotel.

Please be assured at Premier Inn we take the service provided to all our guests very seriously and your feedback will be duly followed up.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay we do hope that we can welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

pleasantly situated by the quay in a wonderful converted building, this hotel reeks of history in the nicest possible way. Old windows, high ceilings, beautiful old staircase( made us NOT want to use the lift!). Rooms are spacious, staff very welcoming, and the ambient temperature of the hotel is just perfect.Food is excellent, especially for the vegetarian( none of your usual " we could do you an omelette, madam), and the actual setting is also perfect. Compared with Holiday Inns.............no comparison!! Visit and see for yourself

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

This is a typically good value Premier Inn where you know pretty well what to expect. The rooms were as usual comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bathroom included both bath and shower. However, this one differed from most in 2 respects:-

Firstly, it was absolutely superbly located for any trip to Newcastle, being right on the Quayside overlooking the river and below the iconic Tyne bridge with a view of the Sage Centre and The Baltic in Gateshead. If you want to you could stay virtually immediately across the river at the Hilton Gateshead paying their prices! The Premier Inn is within easy walking distance of all the main attractions of Newcastle and Gateshead, including the Main Station, although the station and city centre are uphill.

Secondly unlike most Premier Inns it is in an historic building - The Exchange. This means that the rooms, although furnished in the standard Premier Inn manner, are slightly different, being higher and with long old-fashioned windows. To us this was no defriment but gave some character to what is usually completely standard and lacking in character.

There is also an on site restaurant where we enjoyed good value meals.

We had a very pleasant and comfortable 3 night stay here at unbelievable prices for a city centre hotel by booking and paying in advance. Wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Silvertravelsurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Stayed over a weekend, rooms are freezing cold and little heater didn't make a difference, to add to this the kettle was broken....tried phoning reception 7 times on our 1st evening with no response...loud bar on corner so due to lack of double glazing it felt like u were inside the bar...asked receptionist next day and got shrugged off.
Great location for nightlife but rather unfriendly staff when u come back at 3/4am...they were obviously having a bad night!
Just getting heating sorted would be a great start tho!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityhopper86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.
It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations.
Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Thank you once again for your review.

Naina
Social Media Team,

Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#26 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#37 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,229 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,066 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,056 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing