We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Reviewed 9 April 2013

stayedin this hotel a number of times its fab rooms nice staff great food good what more can you ask for ....its near shops restaurants pubs
. and they have a great open market just outside hotel on a sunday, great for a weekend away,xx

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brendageorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,361 - 1,367 of 1,749 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

Last minute had to travel to Newcastle for work. The office booked me into the Travelodge which is the worst hotel I have ever had to endure. After the first night in Newcastle I transferred to the premier Inn and in comparison its an absolute palace! Good location, standard food, reasonable breakfast and excellent staff.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dljones75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here one night on a visit to Newcastle with friends.
The hotel is in a lovely old building and my room was very clean, in good condition (new carpets recently laid!) and had a very large bed, which was comfortable. Reception staff were excellent and we had no problem with checking in. We’d reserved a parking space in advance, which is advisable as it’s very small.
It’s in a great location near the Quayside with plenty of bars and restaurants nearby, however this did mean some noise was experienced – thumping music (which I could tune out of, thankfully), some drunken shouting, and the occasional tinkle of bottle bins being emptied! But, the hotel being in such a location, and it being Saturday night, this wasn’t a surprise.
As there were three of us, it was a shame we were not able to book a triple room for 3 adults. My friends (in a twin room) had a large double and a single and the room could have easily accomodated us all. However, it’s a budget hotel and the very reasonable price of the rooms meant having two rooms between three wasn’t expensive.
The unlimited breakfast was excellent – a huge range on offer and was nicely cooked and presented. The scrambled eggs were fresh and not crusty, which I always find is part of the measure of a good brekkie!
We also had friends staying in the nearby Travelodge, who experienced no end of problems, so we were very glad we’d chosen the Premier Inn and would gladly recommend it as excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Room 103 had some mild noise issues from outside nightlife and internally from a noisy-closing fire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HellieCopter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Hotel is in what looks like an old bank type building very close to the Tyne river. Location is great, not too far to restaurants/bars and a 10 minute walk to the main town/shopping area, although up quite a steep hill. Room was on the 4th Floor so was nice and quiet and quite large. It was snowing whilst we were there and the room could be quite cold (it had three large windows), but there was a wall mounted heater plus a free standing heater which we could plug in too. This made for a nice warm room, however had there just been one heater this review may have been very different! Room was clean and more than adequate, with a nice comfy bed and no trouble with noise whatsoever. We stayed during the week but upon leaving on Friday saw a lot of stag and hen parties arriving so be warned.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tunsttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a one night stay at this hotel with my 10 year old daughter.

We checked in with the guy at reception who said he would put us at a room at the back of the hotel as it was the quietest away from the stag and hens and the club across the road for which we were grateful as he just did this automatically to ensure a good stay.

The location is fab if you want to go shopping or clubbing.

The room was clean and warm and there was plenty of hot water can't say any better than that.

Staff were excellent and very happy to help.

Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 12princessb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Just had a two night stay at the Premier Inn on the Quayside Newcastle. The hotel has friendly welcoming staff and is convenient for shopping and exploring the city on foot and does have its own small pre-bookable car park underneath the hotel. Our double room was quite small, I did need to walk sideways to get into bed and thus needless to say I missed not having a bedside table. Having said that, we only paid £54 for two nights plus £14 parking but for the money it was fine. We ate out for all our meals as we wanted to explore the city. From what we say of the restaurant it looked appealing. All said and done I think we got what we paid for.

Room Tip: I think we were in 236 I would recommend I'd there's 2 of you to ask for a different room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipsagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

stayed there on a saturday night. good welcome. At night the place gets very noisy as the quayside are full of people going out to the local bars. The thing is that those people are also coming back at night drunk and shouting to their friends through the door that they have lost their keys or that they don't remember which floor they are on.
I called reception at about 1am to ask them to come and collect some drunk person on the floor as they were making noise. I could not be bothered to get out of bed to make a second call at 4am. The fact that the telephone is not next to the bed is making sense to me now.
At check out, was not reminded about the good night guarantee although I told the receptionist that it had been noisy. And they had my room number from my call during the night.
I really wish I had been more awake and ask for my money back as the night was not satisfactory at all.
Premier Inn Central is much better and looks cleaner too in the common areas. For the price paid, it's not worth it at all.
I wanted to be near The Sage as I was going for a show. But next time I will stay in central Newcastle as I used to.

Room Tip: don't take rooms that have windows on the streets. It's busy at night with all people going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sandy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#23 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
802 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,069 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#20 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,057 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £45 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing