We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Unusual that this Premier Inn is within an old building. Very nice though. Great location wise on the quayside. Very warm which was good as it was freezing outside. Breakfast was very good. Comfortable large room (double and single beds). Limited car parking.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,317 - 1,323 of 1,827 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

Clean and welcoming staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay
Food was of a good quality with sufficient choices family room very spacious would recommend as although reasonably priced the service is good

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Unlike the majority of Premier Inns this one is in an old building that has been converted to an hotel. I had a bedroom on the first floor with a relatively small floor plan but very high ceilings. As regular Premier Inn customers will know, they have a standard set of furnishings for all rooms throughout the country, and they were designed with much lower ceilings in mind. It gave the room a rather odd look as though it had only been decorated part way up, as though there was insufficient stuff to fill the room, as though the bedroom was a temporary visitor in the high ceilinged space. Apart from that, the room was rather warm, but on the plus side the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and, with the location on the quayside it was quiet at night. If you are only going to sleep in the room then I would not hesitate to stay here again, if you think you may spend a bit more time in the room then I would suggest you look for somewhere else. Breakfast was to the usual good Premier Inn quality.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Ideal for Metro arena, staff friendly, breakfast good and U16s eat free. However, the room was really cold when we arrived on Monday 25th Nov. Turned heating up but as 4 of us were sleeping in the room the bed that was next to the window was right in a draft due to the old windows. Also bathroom smelt of stale smoke presumably because of the age of the hotel. Other than that it was good value for money. Beds were clean but reading other reviews below, the room was a bit dingy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet family room to obtain least possible noise during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed on a Monday night whilst seeing a show at the metro arena, paid £29.00. Arrived a 1.30 and was allowed to check in & use our pre booked parking early. Went into town and when we came back heating was off but room soon warmed up. Room was clean, bed was comfortable no problems. When we came back after the show the heating was off again so once again the room was freezing. We woke during the night and again it was cold so,turned heating on again but once again when we awoke no hearing on and we couldn't get room to warm up. I don't know how there heating system works but it looks like it turns its self off all the time.
All staff very friendly, booked a taxi etc. Had a drink in bar good service and nice atmosphere. Popped into town the next day and were allowed to leave car in car park without extra charge.
Have stopped here before and have just read my previous review where again the room was cold. Would stop here again if they sort the heating out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I have stayed in a few Premier Inns across the country and this was probably the worst. I usually like them because they're relatively new, clean and reasonably priced. Newcastle is an expensive city, so I wanted something that wasn't £200 for 2 nights. I paid £125 for 2 nights 19/11/13-21/11/13. The location was excellent for the courts (where I needed to be), but it's in dire need of refurbishment. The reception is shabby, the restaurant is overpriced for what it is, and I was stuck in a dingy 3 bed (just for me!) room (404), on the fourth floor. The room was dark because the windows were practically non existent, it wasn't spotless (dusty, hairs in the bath etc), it wasn't very soundproof and it was ABSOLUTELY FREEZING. The room was quite large, given there was a double and a single bed, and it only had 1 little heater that was as much use as a slack tooth. In general, it just looked shabby. However, I did actually slept quite well given the situation. Shower was also ample, although I have to say I absolutely hate shower curtains!!! The facilities - i.e. the TV, wardrobe space, hairdryer, kettle etc were ample. I also received a letter from them today requesting an additional £125 because I 'failed to check in.' After a prompt phone call it was resolved...but it still shouldn't have happened and I shouldn't have to pay 10p per minute for something that was quite clearly an administrative error at their end. Would I stay here again? Only if it was all I could afford, and I had to be in that area again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lozorro92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Trying to contact this hotel to establish whether they do food on Christmas day having booked for 5 days. Whilst prompt to take payment. Not responded to e-mail nor can I get through to via telephone at 10 per minute as it keeps telling me they are busy and to call back later after so long. Does anyone know if they service food at all on Christmas day as wanted to me away or do I need to take a pack up!!!

Room Tip: Hopefully a good view in view of length of time I am staying.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. We are pleased to learn that the team here has been in contact with you over the weekend. They will be serving food on Christmas Day. We hope you enjoyr your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,272 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
823 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,960 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#21 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,449 reviews
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £43 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up Newcastle's rich shipping history in the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle Quayside. With stunning views over the River Tyne, this Grade 2 listed building is perfectly positioned for exploring the city. Get a taste of Newcastle's most popular eateries and buzzing nightlife. Tune into cultural events or attend a conference at the iconic Sage Music Centre. Watch the beautiful game at St James Park or the Stadium of Light in neighbouring Sunderland. Or join the runners at the starting line for the Great North Run. Then head back to our tasty restaurant before sinking into our extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing