We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good loaction, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good loaction, friendly staff”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights on a weekend away with friends.

The hotel is in a great location. On the banks of the Tyne, close to the Baltic art gallery and handy for Quayside walks.

The room was clean, spacious and fairly modern although it was a little cold due to single glazed windows. I had a great view from the room of the Tyne.

We had diner in the restaurant and opted for the meal deal, which was excellent value. Our waitress was Jo and she provided 5 star service. Jo explained all the options to us and made sure we had everything we needed. We also had a lovely chat with James who helped us with directions and local information.

All in all a good hotel but a fantastic stay due to the friendliness of the staff.

Will be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lawyer28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    570
    278
    88
    45
See reviews for
337
568
75
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights for a work trip and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the hotel and room. The room was clean, spacious and fairly modern although it was a little cold due to single glazed windows. I didnt have a great view from the room but this didnt matter as i was only in the room at night anyway. The bathroom was fine, very basic but functional. The location of the hotel is good and down on the quayside which is very pretty at night. The selection at breakfast was very good and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here especially if you get the cheaper room rates as it is well worth it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louflan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormiston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Unusual that this Premier Inn is within an old building. Very nice though. Great location wise on the quayside. Very warm which was good as it was freezing outside. Breakfast was very good. Comfortable large room (double and single beds). Limited car parking.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KennybOrmiston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Clean and welcoming staff are very friendly and go out of their way to ensure you enjoy your stay
Food was of a good quality with sufficient choices family room very spacious would recommend as although reasonably priced the service is good

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Unlike the majority of Premier Inns this one is in an old building that has been converted to an hotel. I had a bedroom on the first floor with a relatively small floor plan but very high ceilings. As regular Premier Inn customers will know, they have a standard set of furnishings for all rooms throughout the country, and they were designed with much lower ceilings in mind. It gave the room a rather odd look as though it had only been decorated part way up, as though there was insufficient stuff to fill the room, as though the bedroom was a temporary visitor in the high ceilinged space. Apart from that, the room was rather warm, but on the plus side the bed was comfortable, the shower was hot and, with the location on the quayside it was quiet at night. If you are only going to sleep in the room then I would not hesitate to stay here again, if you think you may spend a bit more time in the room then I would suggest you look for somewhere else. Breakfast was to the usual good Premier Inn quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arborfieldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Ideal for Metro arena, staff friendly, breakfast good and U16s eat free. However, the room was really cold when we arrived on Monday 25th Nov. Turned heating up but as 4 of us were sleeping in the room the bed that was next to the window was right in a draft due to the old windows. Also bathroom smelt of stale smoke presumably because of the age of the hotel. Other than that it was good value for money. Beds were clean but reading other reviews below, the room was a bit dingy.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet family room to obtain least possible noise during your stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Stayed on a Monday night whilst seeing a show at the metro arena, paid £29.00. Arrived a 1.30 and was allowed to check in & use our pre booked parking early. Went into town and when we came back heating was off but room soon warmed up. Room was clean, bed was comfortable no problems. When we came back after the show the heating was off again so once again the room was freezing. We woke during the night and again it was cold so,turned heating on again but once again when we awoke no hearing on and we couldn't get room to warm up. I don't know how there heating system works but it looks like it turns its self off all the time.
All staff very friendly, booked a taxi etc. Had a drink in bar good service and nice atmosphere. Popped into town the next day and were allowed to leave car in car park without extra charge.
Have stopped here before and have just read my previous review where again the room was cold. Would stop here again if they sort the heating out.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,154 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#21 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#28 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 82 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing