We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good family hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

Another enjoyable stay at the Quayside. Helpful and friendly staff, quiet comfortable rooms with enough space for the extra beds and a good breakfast. The underground car park was a little cramped but very convenient. The easy access to the centre of town is a real bonus.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank Dr_Purple_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,836)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,229 - 1,235 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is the best premier inn we have stayed in. We are a family of 4 all in one room eeek!
We had a lovely view of the Tyne and bridge and although we had the window open it wasn't noisy either from the nesting birds or the traffic. The bed was huge and comfortable and the shower fantastic. The staff were superb and the bar was great. Finally the breakfast was the buffet type, kids went free and it was hot and plentiful. An excellent hotel!

Room Tip: Ask to face the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wabosso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've been to dozen or more Premier Inn hotels so far. This one was the worst, I'm afraid. What to start with...?
"Great night sleep" doesn't relate to this hotel. We stayed in 136 and I've never been in such noisy room! My kids couldn't sleep due to noise from the street and terrible windows. To be honest I did not know that there are still hotels with windows such low quality. The noise continued through nights and people jumping one floor above did not make anything easier.
Another thing is that our room was really big, but empty white walls made us feel that something was missing. Not the best example of design. For a tall man (6 feet+) all mirrors and shower are too low. Only two electric sockets in the room is a quite archaic idea. Although we did not spent much time watching TV I need to mention its tiny size. Anyway we weren't able to hear it due to noise outside.

But there is something exceptionally good about that hotel and it's staff. I have never met so friendly people in any of Premier's hotels. Kindness and friendliness were extraordinary, both in the reception and in the restaurant. That's the only positive memory I'll save from this hotel.

Room Tip: Do not take rooms from the riverside. You won't be able to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thathanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The staff in this hotel are lovely! So friendly, attentive and efficient. Exceptional service from every single member of staff. Great location also only a short walk away from the Monument and right by the quayside.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEdwards2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Very good location ,clean hotel would recommend to anyone, staff very friendly
Did not hear much noises did not eat in the hotel spoons much cheaper
Just on the keyside.
Enjoyed the nights out in Newcastle

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Perfect location, only 5mins walk into the city centre where all the main bars and restaurants are. Right by the Tyne Bridge on the Quayside. Hotel a bit dated but its okay for one night! Service was great

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

had a recent night here, really nice location, by the quays, around ten minutes walk from the train station, or take the frequent 'quaylink' bus to the door for £1.30 hotel really pleasant and cozy, staff very helpful, only thing that was an issue was the seagulls nesting under the bridge outside which were a tad noisy at times! would definately stay again, really nice part of the city and very cozy room...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
848 reviews
0.1 mi away
easyHotel Newcastle
easyHotel Newcastle
#17 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#36 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#22 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#25 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal Station Hotel
Royal Station Hotel
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £48 - £113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soak up Newcastle's rich shipping history in the Premier Inn Hotel Newcastle Quayside. With stunning views over the River Tyne, this Grade 2 listed building is perfectly positioned for exploring the city. Get a taste of Newcastle's most popular eateries and buzzing nightlife. Tune into cultural events or attend a conference at the iconic Sage Music Centre. Watch the beautiful game at St James Park or the Stadium of Light in neighbouring Sunderland. Or join the runners at the starting line for the Great North Run. Then head back to our tasty restaurant before sinking into our extra-comfy beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing