We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location. Somewhat tired decor. But perfectly acceptable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good location. Somewhat tired decor. But perfectly acceptable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

The hotel's location is right on the Quay, and is within an easy walk of pretty much everything! Both the BALTIC and the Sage are just across the Tyne. The hotel itself is a little tired in terms of furnishings and decor, but the room was clean and I had a decent night's sleep. You get what it says on the tin, and at a reasonable price.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    564
    272
    88
    44
See reviews for
331
560
74
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

My room was very clean and the food was really great value for money . The steak was cooked just how i like it and the meal was all piping hot. I had trifle for desert and i have never tasted anything as lovely.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Reasonably priced hotel. great location, friendly efficient staff. Not often a premier Inn is in an old building but the rooms are absolutely fine, Breakfast adequate and well cooked. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, Cheshire
Level Contributor
250 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

The hotel is situated in a listed building on the river front. It's about a 10 minute walk from the main station if you know where you are going or a 10 min bus ride that will take you to the river front followed by a 5 min walk.
The rooms are spacious and come with all the usual ammenities that you can expect from a Premier Inn. Staff are friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff who noted my comments about the room being too warm and arranged for a fan to be sent up during our meal.
The location is ideal for walking along the banks of the Tyne and exploring the local sights and the restaurant served great tasting food for both breakfast & dinner.The bed was comfortable and they were able to provide plenty of extra pillows. On the negative side we were woken up fairly early by the noises outside from the early morning deliveries to the neighbouring premises and it did get warm even with the fan going on throughout the night. Great value and excellent staff and would stay there again if i was visiting the area.

Room Tip: Side rooms do not have a river view and you get a lot of noise in the morning from goods deliveries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apollo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel on a Sunday just before teatime, the road was closed for the market but we found the car park quite easily, there were plenty decent sized spaces to park the car and a lift straight up to reception. Check in went smoothly and we were allocated room 237. The room itself was not massive however there was only 2 of us so perfect for what we needed, there was a partial river view which was quite nice as the sun was shining and it was a lovely view!
I wasn't thrilled with the bathroom, the bath was black around the seals and bath panel and the bath inside was dirty looking where people have stood to shower over the years. The shower was nice and hot and powerful! There was a disgusting sewerage smell that came from the bathroom too, not a nice smell to walk in to!
The room is dated really and needs upgrading badly, I put it down to looking old because it is in an old building but when you look closely at the stained carpet and the cupboard door screwed shut you realise this is not the case.
The bed was massive and so comfy, this is where the premier inn really deliver! Apart from outside noise (which is outwith the premier inns control) we slept really well!
We had breakfast in the restaurant which was hot and had plenty choice, the waitresses didn't really look like they wanted to be there unfortunately though! We paid £54 for 2 nights and £35 for breakfast for 2 people so ended up not being that cheap at all!
Having said all this I would stop here again as for the money it wasn't bad at all, the location was good as we were a couple who just wanted to re-charge our batteries and this is what we did!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tara-Watson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This Premier Inn is located close to the "party district" by the river in a listed building. Unfortunately, the building's interior is not very nicely refurbished - for example, I have never in my life seen such a dirty lift.

Room size was okay, I was staying by myself but was allocated a family room with three beds which was a bit weird.

Staff very nice and friendly.

The hotel is located next to the river and a bridge and during a few months a year thousands of birds (I am not exaggerating) come to the bridge and the buildings surrounding it for breeding. There is lots of bird noise all during the day and night which makes sleeping difficult.

I would probably not stay at this Premier Inn again but look for something more in the city centre which is "newer".

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barca02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is a very good straightford, reasonably priced hotel just across the river from the Sage. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good. We went to the opera and simply walked across the bridge to it. We also went to the Baltic art gallery and walked round the city and over some of the bridges. The hotel was ideally located for these activities and there were lots of bars and eating places nearby. There was a street market outside on Sunday. Kittiwakes were nesting on the bridge and some nearby buildings, which added interest because this is apparently the furthest inland that these seabirds nest.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DianeRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing