We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel, hard to find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
101 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good hotel, hard to find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

A decent enough Premier Inn. Only issue would be that if you are coming by train the directions from the station, which is about a 10 walk away took us about 45 minutes including several underpasses which may not be ideal at night or for the lone traveller.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    657
    564
    272
    88
    44
See reviews for
331
560
74
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group of 8 at PI for a 40th birthday. Great location for seeing the sights of Newcastle. Breakfast was good for the price...much better than the weatherspoons breakfast along the road ! Room comfortable but could be done with another electricity socket. Bathroom in need of a spruce up but generally clean enough.
Nice bars along quayside in the evening and a Sunday market was pleasant. Would stay here again for location purpose and price :)

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TCs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galgorm, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

This is the 3 rd time in a year that we have stayed here,comfy beds really friendly staff ,great location .It is always consistently good ..enjoyed the food and excellent service..nothing is too much bother for all the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear may have a little noise if window is open at the weekend…but nothing to worry abou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

was a lovely clean, well maintained hotel. i thought it would be noisy but it wasnt. al the staff were very friendly and answered any questions about the area i had. the beds were very comfy and a great nights sleep was had by all.

Room Tip: i had a family room it was lovely and spacious even with a travel cot in
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blackbean33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

I stayed here on Sunday 24th August for the bank holiday. The hotel is ideally located on the Quayside with shops and restaurants close by. A walk into the town centre for shops/bars and restaurants takes around 10 minutes, if that. The staff at the hotel were really friendly, we checked in online prior so only had to collect our key card at the reception. We booked a family room even though there was only 2 of us, it was priced at £58 which we were happy with seen as though it was bank holiday and prices do tend to increase. The room was fairly large with a very comfortable double bed and a single in the corner. The hotel is situated next to a bar but we didn't hear any noise and we were on the 1st floor. The only negative was the bathroom, it was rather small and the bath itself was starting to rust so could either do with a touch up or replacing. There was constant hot water though so no complaints there. Overall i would recommend this hotel, you can't go wrong for the price.

Room Tip: There is underground parking at the hotel and is it priced at around £7 for 24 hours but ring in adv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissRP82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

This was the second time I have stayed at this hotel.

The hotel is located on Newcastle's quayside so there's no shortage of places to visit nearby.

All the staff we spoke to were pleasant and friendly. Our room was on the fourth floor (this is not a small building); access to which was via a very small lift that was maybe in need of a coat of paint.

The room itself was certainly up to the usual Premier Inn standard - large, clean and with that fantastic bed!

We didn't eat at the restaurant on the evening, but did have a few drinks in the bar - here, too, the service was friendly.

The breakfast is an all-you-can-eat buffet - the quality and choice was excellent, but there were a number of children running about which quickly became annoying. That's certainly not the fault of Premier Inn, though.

The only criticism I could make was that the area where people queue to be seated for breakfast means that it can be difficult to negotiate your way back to your table after filling your plate from the buffet.

In summary the pleasant staff, decent room and good breakfast means this is a hotel I will certainly be returning to in the future.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

Having had a previous good experience at this hotel, I was not disappointed by the level of service on this occasion. The staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast/dinner facilities were excellent. The meal deal including 2 courses and breakfast the next morning was particularly good value, as was the price for the stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#5 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#55 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing