We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some good; some bad!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Some good; some bad!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

We got off to a bad start because the taxi from the railway station took us to the wrong Premier Inn, even though we had specifically asked for Premier Inn Quayside. If you're going to Premier Inn Quayside, you should find yourself under the big green bridge next to the river - anywhere else is the wrong Premier Inn! Apparently, taxi drivers make this mistake all the time because there are so many Premier Inns in Newcastle.

First the good points. The reception staff and breakfast staff couldn't be faulted. They were all cheerful, welcoming and very, very helpful. There was a nice atmosphere from the staff throughout the hotel.

The room was larger than I was expecting, as was the bathroom. There was a bath as well as a shower. There were windows on two sides of the bedroom, with a view across the river.

We were worried when we arrived at our room because we could hear loud music coming from the adjoining room. However, we couldn't hear it at all once we were in our room. At night there was some traffic noise and a "dawn chorus" from the birds outside, but not enough to disturb us. The only way to prevent this would be through double-glazing and the windows are traditional sashed. Mind you, we were staying mid-week. It might be noisier at weekends.

I get the impression that Newcastle hotels suffer disadvantages as well as reap the benefits from the popularity of hen and stag weekends. The rooms were a little shabby, with bits peeling off in the bathroom.

I have stayed in several Premier Inns in the past so thought I knew what to expect. I knew, for example, that there wouldn't be much in the way of toiletries in the bathroom but that there would be a reasonable breakfast. However, what I wasn't expecting was the appalling standard of housekeeping. Our beds weren't properly made. Tea bags weren't replaced. The basin wasn't cleaned. Worst of all was that our towels were replaced with damp ones. There was nowhere to dry them and I had to go down to Reception to ask for replacements.

Would I stay at a Premier Inn again? Yes, I would stay at other Premier Inns but I wouldn't stay at Premier Inn Quayside unless I could see from subsequent reviews that the standard of housekeeping had improved. It was such a shame that the rest of the staff were so professional but were let down because of the low standard of housekeeping.

This is something that could easily be put right and it would make a huge difference to customer satisfaction.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dodiegale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    643
    552
    267
    86
    42
See reviews for
323
547
72
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

4 of us stayed at the Premier Inn (Quayside) for 2 nights at Easter. I booked this hotel based on reviews on Trip Advisor, and I agree with them - location is excellent, rooms are ok, hotel is a bit tired & dated, but value for money is excellent, considering the Hilton is literally just across the river and is both more expensive & further away from the city!
The Quayside area is very nice, with bars & restaurants within a few minutes walk (The Slug & Lettuce is about 30 seconds walk!). I recommend Gusto, behind The Pitcher & Piano for a nice meal. Millenium Bridge in all its glory is reachable in no more than 4 minutes walk along the Tyne. True, if you want to get into central Newcastle, you have a hill to climb, but it's not really that steep.
The rooms: king size bed & flat screen LCD TV are the 2 best bits. Bathroom was acceptable, room was clean although the ceiling looked water damaged. But at £75/night for the room, at Easter, in a great location, you don't really worry about it.
You can easily stumble home at 1am when the bars close as the hotel is so close to nightlife we could hear singing at 2am when the last revellers were heading home. I must stress that road facing rooms might encounter the same thing, so pack earplugs!
Oh, and book the car-parking in advance.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mat_in_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2009

just back from 2 days in newcastle. After reading reviews on tripadvisor decided to stay in the Premier Inn hotel on the quayside. delighted we did. lovely modern, clean hotel with very friendly staff. they were very helpful , even helping us to book a restaurant. good location and very reasonably priced. lovely location right beside the Tyne and plenty of pubs/restaurants nearby.
But be warned there are some steep hills from the hotel to the main shopping/pub areas. Will definitely be back to newcastle - loved it! - and this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amocon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2009

Spending a fair bit of time in Newcastle on business. This hotel has good sized rooms with fast wifi and modern facilities. Breakfasts are good and evening food is surprisingly reasonable. The hotel is well located for offices on the Quayside, bars & restaurants, and many tourist attractions such as the Baltic. The staff are helpful too.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SJS15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (The Gate)
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#4 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (Millennium Bridge) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#30 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Newcastle
Jurys Inn Newcastle
#24 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Newcastle City
Roomzzz Newcastle City
#2 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside
Address: Lombard Street | Lombard Street, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 3AE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#7 Family Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
#10 Business Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located by the waters of the Tyne, with great bars and views of some of Newcastle's best architecture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle Quayside Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing