We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms but would not stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Me and my family stayed in this hotel for 2 nights, although the bedroom was clean the beds were a lot to be desired! If you like to sleep on rocks then this is the hotel for you!! When I approached the receptionist who was quite frankly a bit miserable looking she informed me that all the beds were the same and she could put a duvet on top of the mattress to cushion it a bit! Sorry it was already hot enough without having to lie on 2 duvets, 1 under me and 1 on top of me. She wasn't very helpful or apologetic, she just gave the impression that she just couldn't be bothered with the hassle. However after a sleepless night we made our way to breakfast in the morning, there were no staff what so ever to run things, there was no juice, no bread for toast, no sugar for my tea and no spoons to stir my tea in the hope that I found some sugar. It was an a total disgrace, everything you needed for breakfast was not available, we ordered a cooked breakfast and when it eventually came it was literally floating in cooking oil so we left and went somewhere else for breakfast. I approached the receptionist once again to complain about this and demand a full refund for the uncomforable bed and the breakfast we could not eat, which she did. Really for the price you are paying for this hotel is a good price but if you do like a good nights sleep in a comfortable bed and a nice cooked breakfast in the morning then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have an enjoyable stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please be assured your comments have been noted and will be followed up with the Management Team at our hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Only 15 minutes away by car from Beamish Open Air Museum. Hotel is modern, comfortable, everything you would expect, and the food in the Wagon Team pub next door is very good. Staff were all cheerful and helpful. Situated in the Team Valley Industrial Estate, so no close amenities. Gets my recommendation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank IanFaeFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

You know what you're going to get with Premier Inn, which is part of the attraction of staying with them, but this one just seemed to be that little bit better in every way. We asked for quiet rooms - knowing what a mecca Newcastle is for stag and hen parties - and we were delighted to find we'd been put in a quiet part of the hotel - which made for a peaceful nights sleep. Rooms were spotless, beds comfy and staff extremely helpful and friendly. Next door in the restaurant we received the same friendly welcome and service with a good breakfast as well. What more could you ask? Definitely will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 42 or 43 if you want a quieter night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carolyn38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

This is located in a busy area near the A1, but the rooms are sound insulated and we never had problems with noise. Pleasant staff, the restaurant next door is fine for breakfast but the dinner menu is a bit limited and if you stayed for more than a couple of nights you'd be fed up with it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertthefish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Booked this hotel via the recent Spring Sale event, and what a bargin it turned out be !!
Firstly, if you want a room 'with a view' , forget it, this hotel is situated on the fringe of the Team Valley Retail & Industrial Park. However, if you require an hotel for a 'stop over' or as a base to explore Newcastle and the Metro Centre it would be a good choice.
Our personal experience of Premier Inn Newcastle South was very good, a spacious clean bedroom and a comfortable bed. The staff made our stay even more enjoyable, they were friendly and very helpful,(Northern hospitality at it's best)
The adjoining pub/restaurant served typical pub food, at resonable prices. Limited menu choice, but worth a visit.
We will certainly stay at this Premier Inn again.

Room Tip: Premier Inn website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liberty59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2011

This was our first stay in a Premier Inn and I would certainly stay here again! The staff were extremely friendly and always made conversation when collecting or handing the key in at reception. The room was lovely and clean, not the greatest view in the world but we only used it as a base to sleep at for a weekend of shopping and clubbing......both of which were close by :) A taxi into the city centre (to the Gate) cost around £7 and they have a telephone on reception with a direct line to the taxi company which is handy and also have a card with the taxi number and where you're staying should you get a little worse for wear on your night out :) The bed in the room was one of the comfiest I've slept in and for once I'm quite disappointed to have to come home to my own bed! The pub that is attached to the hotel was a major let down though, waited ages for our starters to come out to then find out that the order hadnt even been sent to the kitchen, got told that to compensate we could have dessert on the house and they even messed that up with me having to go and chase that up too to find the same thing had happened as with our main meal!

We usually stay at a Travelodge when visiting Newcastle but would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel instead :)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lovatt80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2011

Thanks for your review we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and our team ensured you were comfortable and well looked after. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay and for our guests to receive a high level of service from our team. Thank your for your comments regarding the service you received in the adjacent restaurant, Whitbread do not run this establishment however please be assured we will pass on you feedback to the company responsible. We look forward to welcoming your back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2010

We stayed one night at this Premier Inn, we were warmly greeted at check in. We were given a recommendation for a Turkish Restaurant "Mesa" near the Stadium, It was very good and inexpensive too.
The hotel was clean and quite although right near the motorway. The breakfast was good value since both my teens were under 15, they ate free.
The receptionist was helpful and friendly.
Good value and clean, quiet hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traverler7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Premier_Inn, Online Guest Relations at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2010

We delighted that your stay with us met your expectations and you experienced the high level of service we endeavour to give our guests. Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay, your feedback is so important to us in our continued efforts to delivery the best service. We do look forward to welcoming your back to Premier Inn in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.3 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
425 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
2.4 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
269 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing