We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In need of a refit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I usually stay in the Best Western Ryokan when in Newcastle and will head back there next time I'm in the area if the Premier Inn Newcastle South is my other option. First off trying to get parked in the hotel carpark is a pain as it shares the carpark with the onsite pub and on the day I arrived there'd been snow with no attempt to grit or clear it so it made for very slippery going.

I got checked in well and headed to room 15 on the ground floor which was ok although so much bleach had been used cleaning the bathroom it was irritating my eyes. The television was one of the older style mounted on a pole affairs and prone to interference at random moments.

The onsite pub / 'restaurant' was one of the worst of it's type I've ever eaten in. When travelling alone on business trying to bag a table number before going to queue at the bar to order and pay is nothing short of a pain in the proverbial. The food quality was at best poor with terrible presentation and very little in the way of flavour although at least I was sure the lettuce on my plate was dead (the brown colour gave it away). The service wasn't much better with plates unceremoniously dumped on the table by a waitress that looked overworked and underpaid running between tables with the budget offerings. One good side of the pub were the prices and probably why so many locals were eating there, it's dirt cheap. For a reason.

Back to the hotel and both nights I slept well, breakfast was a pain in the backside as I was told to sit down both mornings by an elderly looking waitress even though I'd told her I was having continental breakfast and one morning (when I dared to go and make myself a slice of toast) she decided to take away my partially drunk coffee because it was 'half empty'!!

To sum up if I'd have paid £29 per night I wouldn't have minded but at over double that room rate and no free wifi (not to mention the pub again) there's not a chance I'll be back!

Room Tip: Stay at Best Western Ryokan instead, cheaper, better food and free WIFI!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noddyinnapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2013

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide a high level of service in all establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants. Please be assured that feedback is very important to us and we would like the opportunity to investigate further. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 278 reviews

Reviewed 31 December 2012

Spent 2 niights at the Premier Inn , Gateshead South, had a great time , the staff were fantastic and we could not have asked for more. Good restaurant next door and good access to Newcastle and the Metro Centre.
Top Hotel

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Four of us stayed here as attending a concert at the Metro Arena, Newcastle. Great location, only a few miles from the Arena. Friendly, welcoming staff. Rooms quite large and clean. Bed was enormous and very comfortable. Plenty of hot water in bathroom, good powerful shower. We had an evening meal which was plentiful and tasty and very quickly served. Also breakfast, again fast service and good food. All staff friendly, helpful and professional. Only downside was the taxi firm recommended which let us down for the return journey. Would definately return and recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank janbuckHull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night as a quck stop over after day shopping, Excellent location for both city centre and Metro centre. Room was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. However we went for a meal about 5:30pm and ordered at the Bar. The meals arrived within 2 minutes and were pre-cooked and with cool chips. Sent chips back and waited 10 minutes for fresh chips but meat then was cold. Did not go to Breakfast!

Room Tip: Choose side away from A1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rogerjc_40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitbread-77, Naina - Social Media at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for your review.

At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, both in our hotels and restaurants.

We sincerely apologise that on this occasion we failed provide this. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team at this hotel.

We hope to welcome you back to Premier Inn in the future.

Naina

Social Media Team,
Whitbread Hotels & Restaurants.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Stayed for 1 night as a qucik stop over after day shopping, Excellent location for both city centre and Metro centre. Room was very clean and staff very friendly and helpful. Definately will return onour next shopping visit to Newcastle!!!!! A+

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed just 1 night and can't fault this Premier Inn. The location was ideal for the Metrocentre. Parking was fine and the evening meal in the adjoining restaurant was good and reasonably priced. We found the hotel very quiet even though it was Friday night. The lady on reception was very nice and helpful. We would definitely use this hotel again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHewitt103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janet57572, Manager at Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2012

Thank you kindly for your comments during your recent stay at The Premier Inn Newcastle South.
Your comments will be passed to all the team.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We have stayed at other hotels in this chain and they've all been very good to excellent and at a very good price.

The reception was very good and helpful and informative. The parking excellent though due to its location you have to drive to the nearest junction after exiting the A1. It is ideal for trips to Newcastle, Gateshead and the Metro Centre. Almost walking distance if you like a good walk.

Ideal for A1 travellers as you can almost see it from the road.

The views are of the industrial estate/ business park.

The bad bit was the lack of restaurant facilities on that day due to technical problems. We solved it by eating elsewhere. Fish and chips down by a beach about 20 mins away along a dual carriageway. The kitchen problems were continued into the next morning at breakfast.

Other than that very good and a very good price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raysol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
3.5 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
440 reviews
4.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Washington A1 M Northbound
7.4 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#27 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,667 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £44 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing