We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly welcome”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2008

Very warm and friendly greeting upon arrival, We arrived earlier than the 2pm checkin and Stuart the duty manager made us a cup of coffee whilst he went to see about making a room available for us.
very professional and polite, nothing seemed to much trouble,
would definately stay again,

Stayed: May 2008
Thank LondonTrekkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 275 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 12 April 2008

Stayed in the hotel April 2008. The room was very clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. The staff at reception were very helpful and could not do enough for us. There was absolutely no noise at night even with the hotel being next to the A1 there was still no noise. The restaurant next door was nice. The food was good and did not have to wait too long. I would definately stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: April 2008
Thank tiniayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2007

On arrival, we asked for a double smoking room. There wasn't one available so the friendly lady behind the counter went and cleaned one for us.

The room was clean and pleasant and what one would expect from a budget hotel.

We had a good meal in the adjoining restaurant, which was excellent value for money.

As a business traveller, I am used to budget hotels, where the staff couldn't care less if you're pleased or not with a "It was cheap - What do you expect" type attitude, this was not the case here.

On leaving, our car Broke down. We had been stood in the car Park for 10 minutes with the AA, when a bald chap came out of the hotel and offered us all a cup of tea, which he duly delivered 5 minutes later.

Top marks and thanks to all the staff, you were wonderful!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Petehmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2006

This hotel was originally built as a Premier Lodge and then became a Premier Travel Inn when they were taken over. It doesn't make a great deal of difference, internal decor is blue rather than the travel inn purple, but the rooms seem to have been built from the exact same design template.

It is NOT in Newcastle. It is in Gateshead, which granted, is South of Newcastle. It's a few metres off the Lobley Hill junction with the A1. There is a pub attached to the hotel by an internal walkway however there is nothing else in the immediate area as it's at one end of and industrial estate. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you wanted to go into Newcastle centre without a car, it's just too far.

The room itself was a good size but apart from the bed only had one armchair, no sofa or table. One advantage of it being an ex-Premier Lodge is the large bed, quite a bit wider than you would usually find, the price you pay is that it's also quite a bit shorter, I'm 5'8" and I only just fit, so you may have problems if you are over 6'.

TV was just the terrestrial channels plus some radio, but at least it worked! The shower was below average, not the worst I've experience but barely adequate sums it up, thankfully there is a nice large bath to make up for it.

The rear of the hotel is quite close to the A1 so you might expect a bit of traffic noise, however the A1 runs through a cutting at this point which keeps noise to a minimum however through the night I could still hear a small amount of traffic nosie, but it was nothing to stop me from sleeping. Even so I might request a room at the front of the hotel instead if I was to stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2006

I recently stayed at this hotel and I was pleasantly surprised. It cetainly did not feel like budget accomodation. The rooms were spacious and inviting and were exactly what I needed for a good night's sleep. The staff were always friendly and efficient. The pub/restaurant next door was of equal standard and the 2 for 1 meals (all day every day) was an added bonus.Beautiful location as well, within easy reach of the city centre.

4  Thank holidaygirl123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steopelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.3 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
426 reviews
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
2.4 mi away
Best Western Gibside Hotel
Best Western Gibside Hotel
#35 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
270 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £46 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Premier Inn and Odigeo so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing