We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spacious, extremely clean room with friendly and helpful reception staff.

Not much of view (builders yard across the road) but ideally sited for access to the A1 and the Bensham/Saltwell areas of Gateshead (though being on the 'wrong side' of the dual carriageway, thus having to navigate two roundabouts, did make the journey a bit more lengthy and tedious than it need have been, especially as there is currently disruption caused by local roadworks).

I did get the 'good night's sleep' that is guaranteed by Premier Inn, only being woken up by some people talking loudly outside in the car park at around 6.40am.

The only 'weak link' in this 'guarantee' of an undisturbed sleep is reliance on the consideration and goodwill of other guests, since because the doors are probably too thin it was easy to hear people walking and talking normally in the corridor outside the room.

Room Tip: I was pleased with having chosen a room on the first floor facing the car park, as it insulated out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlp6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 287 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

We felt very welcome in the hotel, travelling as a group and with a numer of children. The staff are very friendly and made sure those people with food restrictions due to illness could eat properly and without fear. Thank you Newcastle South!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 700DanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2014

I chose this hotel because it was near to relatives we were visiting so glad i did everything was great all the staff were so helpful and friendley, the room was large and very clean and comfortable cleaned every day(we were there for 3 nights) and all for the low price of £29 per night. we had breakfast and an evening meal in the pub attached good food and reasonably priced the staff in there were also great, we will stay here again when in Newcastle.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamieWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Good value, clean room, nice and comfy. Not in a great area though. The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The Pub attached was middle of the road quality but altogether it made for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Occasionaltravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

I've recently stayed in this hotel for my 30th birthday, on arrival they had put a birthday cake and bottle of wine in my room with birthday banners as well. This was all done on the hotel expenses :) The staff were all fantastic and i will definitely stay again next time i come up to Newcastle. The rooms are a good size, very clean and the beds were very comfy. If you are looking to go as a group for night life and shopping we got a minibus for 10 people to the metro centre which was £11.00 and then to town at night it was £12 so staying on the outskirts really paid off with the hotel being cheaper :) We also ate in the pub attached to the hotel and the food was AMAZING! Good value for money and very tasty!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kerry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

Booked late on a budget and expected something unspectacular. Very pleased to be proved wrong. Friendly staff at check and in the bar. Room very clean and all essentials in place. Dinner great value and served by pleasant friendly staff. Very good value and would certainly recommend .

Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank DSP1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Fantastic, could park my car right under my window, best night's sleep ever - clean, warm comfortable. Good value food in the pub next door, fresh breakfast served by attentive staff.

No critisisms - will stay here as often as I can

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
8.8 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/Cramlington Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Gosforth/C...
#19 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
583 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ryokan Hotel
Ryokan Hotel
#39 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle Central
Travelodge Newcastle Central
#31 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,137 reviews
7.5 mi away
Village Hotel Newcastle
Village Hotel Newcastle
#24 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
2,822 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Me...
#15 of 83 in Newcastle upon Tyne
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 83 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range: £43 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Premier Inn and Agoda so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing