We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“excellent”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Myself and friends stayed here for two nights the hotel was very clean and tidy and rooms are great and very spacious. Tim was on duty when we first arrived and was very welcoming and very helpful as are the rest off the staff we will be returning soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xsharlenex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    77
    27
    13
    2
See reviews for
112
62
5
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Loved the hotel. Staff were excellent and the hotel was extremely comfortable. Great being attached to a very good and reasonably priced restaurant with good beer.Still think all hotels should have free wi-fi and after the first half hour you pay which I won't do. Also handy for wherever you want to go in the Newcastle area and a very good car park onsite. I do think Premier Inns could be a bit cheaper. No lift which could be a problem although the guy on the desk gave us a lift without any problem. Overall though this Premier Inn is very very good and we came away having enjoyed the stay


  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raymond_191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dewsbury
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Comfy hotel, close to Newcastle and Gateshead centres.
Issue with check in, tried to get me to pay additional money when I had in fact paid. Lady concerned seemed out of her depth and a little clueless.
Food OK, nothing special. Staff all friendly

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jedburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Very clean. Very convenient for shopping at the metro centre and seeing a show at the metro Arena. Staff very friendly and very helpful. Great breakfast next door too. Definitely stay again. As with all premier inns excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kelly150474
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We stayed for 2 nights . The staff were very helpful and welcoming, the hotel was clean and bright. The rooms were brilliant king size bed , small sofa, tv , shower and a bath . Close to the town center but not so close that noise will be a problem , very quiet location . I will be returning to this hotel later this year without a doubt .

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Spacious, extremely clean room with friendly and helpful reception staff.

Not much of view (builders yard across the road) but ideally sited for access to the A1 and the Bensham/Saltwell areas of Gateshead (though being on the 'wrong side' of the dual carriageway, thus having to navigate two roundabouts, did make the journey a bit more lengthy and tedious than it need have been, especially as there is currently disruption caused by local roadworks).

I did get the 'good night's sleep' that is guaranteed by Premier Inn, only being woken up by some people talking loudly outside in the car park at around 6.40am.

The only 'weak link' in this 'guarantee' of an undisturbed sleep is reliance on the consideration and goodwill of other guests, since because the doors are probably too thin it was easy to hear people walking and talking normally in the corridor outside the room.

Room Tip: I was pleased with having chosen a room on the first floor facing the car park, as it insulated out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlp6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We felt very welcome in the hotel, travelling as a group and with a numer of children. The staff are very friendly and made sure those people with food restrictions due to illness could eat properly and without fear. Thank you Newcastle South!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 700DanS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle upon Tyne
1.3 mi away
Beamish Park Hotel
Beamish Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marley Hill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
3.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle - Team Valley
2.1 mi away
Best Western Beamish Hall Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Farm Hotel
Park Farm Hotel
#1 of 20 in Gateshead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
6.2 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Washington) Hotel
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle (Metro Centre) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel
Address: Lobley Hill Road | Gateshead, Newcastle upon Tyne NE11 9NA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is located on the Team Valley Trading Estate next to the A1(M). For shops and local amenities Newcastle city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Newcastle South Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Premier Inn so you can book your Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Newcastle South Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing