We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Hostel Newcastle
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING PLACE TO STAY!”
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Myself and 5 friends stayed at the hostel for 2 nights last week for a friends birthday weekend away. We could not have been more impressed with the facilities and the friendliness of the staff. The room itself was small but just what we needed, it was clean, light and the bathroom was perfectly fine. All of the staff we encountered were lovely and very accommodating even listening to us chat mindlessly for hours when we got in from our night out! The food and drinks were reasonably priced and very nice. I would recommend this hostel to anyone looking to have a great night and the beanbag room is the best idea in the world!! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank p0d1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Hello p0d1

Thanks very much for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was delighted to note that you appeared to enjoy every aspect of your stay with us.

We really appreciate your comments and I hope you will come and see us again in the very near future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    133
    74
    42
    52
See reviews for
31
33
63
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2013 via mobile

Was in Newcastle a few weeks ago for a stag do and decided to stay in the Eurohostel. We arrived early in the morning and had not slept all night due to flights. The staff behind reception seemed very cold and not welcoming at all. We decided to get some breakfast in the dining area and after ordering we were told that there would be a waiting time of 10mins. An hour later we finally got the food which wasn't great to say the least.
A few of us sat on the tiny sofas then in the dining area to try and get some sleep as check in wasn't until 3, there was a low table which one of my friends put his feet up on but was woken to be told to remove them, which was fair enough. However it wasn't until the next day that we found out ourselves that there was a room just off the lobby with large bean bags were people could lay and sleep!
The rooms were small and for a hostel considerably expensive. Ours didn't even have a window.

Won't be returning.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tiernan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello Tiernan M

Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

I was concerned to note that you did not enjoy your stay with us and in particular the comments relating to your welcome at reception and wait for for food. Please rest assured these issues will be addressed.

Unfortunately all of the team, and I include myself in this, do not allow any of our customer s to sleep in The Ware Rooms and if noticed, the people concerned are woken and reminded that the bar is a licensed area. I am not aware of any licensed premises where the staff would condone customers sleeping during operating hours.

The Bean Bag room to which you refer is also not a sleeping area but an informal lounge with TV and Xbox provided for guest use. If we discover any guests sleeping they are woken and advised to return to their rooms.

Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Upon arrival we were seen immediately and the check in service was very good. The room was quite basic but also quite modern. The staff were all very helpful and friendly. The location is central and walking distance to all local amenities. A very impressive hostel that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G_MC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello G_MC16

Thanks very much for taking the time to review Euro Hostel Newcastle for Tripadvisor.

I was very happy to see your positive comments and that you appeared to have enjoyed your time with us.

We treat all feedback from our guests very seriously and it was great to note so many positives in your comments.

Thanks once again for your review. I do hope you will come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2013

an unforgettable experience. one of the finest hostels that i've ever seen. the only thing that differs them from the hotel is the bunk beds otherwise its better than a hotel !! comfortable beds that made me sleep the whole day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyankit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello priyankit

Thank you very much for writing such a great review on your recent stay at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

It was fantastic to see such a positive review and it seemed that we exceeded your expectations in every aspect of hostel accommodation.

Thanks again for your kind words and I do hope you will come and see us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The location of this hostel is so central.....it is perfect for seeing Newcastle and especially for a late night out on the town. The bar at the hostel is really lovely and one I would happily go to anyway. The rooms were clean, although the triple was a little small. I was attending a conference with my friends and it can be a little noisy but the staff work hard to maintain control over noise levels, with strict penalties for disruptive behaviour. We had a noisy group on our first night and the management provided the BEST customer service to resolve this issue to my satisfaction. Great for a party night sleep....with a decent breakfast where you can buy extras like fresh hot porridge or a fry up.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zna79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello zna79

Thank you very much for providing Tripadvisor with a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

As with many accommodation providers in Newcastle, we have proved to be very popular with the younger clientele and, on occasion, their behaviour becomes unacceptable. We always attempt to maintain control over these situations and I was delighted to note that you, as a valued customer, could see the efforts being made by the team on duty.

I was also delighted to note that the issues experienced by your party had been dealt with to your satisfaction.

Thanks once again for your comments and I do hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

Stayed at the start of March as part of a large group (40+ people) for two nights. The party were very well looked after by the patient and helpful staff. The rooms are 'hostel-like' being basic, sufficiently clean and functional with numerous bunks in each. The attached bar & restaurant proved a big plus being open all day & night with decent food served all the time. Its only a 2 minute walk away from all the night life so it has a tendency to attract stag/hen do's which in turn creates a racket at 3 in the morning when they start coming in, but as i say above, its a hostel -its in the city centre & its cheap! I'd have no problems staying again with a bunch of mates or a group, and the bar area is excellent even just for a social drink (& sensibly priced) - however if i was looking for a romantic weekend away with my wife then perhaps this ain't the place. 'Horses for courses' as they say!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 17 April 2013
Hello Stuart J

Many thanks for taking the time to provide such an honest and accurate review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

We really appreciate all guest feedback and I was pleased to see that you appeared to have enjoyed your time with us.

I do hope you will come and see us again in the future.

Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My friends and I stayed here for three nights at the end of March and it was fantastic, we had a two minute walk to the main shopping areas and nightclubs. On arrival, the check-in went smoothly and the guy that checked us in was very helpful and friendly. We had booked a private room for three people and upon reaching our room discovered sleeping room for 5 which was great as we could spread out a little! the beds were comfy and very clean, as was the room which was surprisingly modern. We quickly interacted with other guests and made plenty of friends, and there was a bar down stairs which was lovely and very handy for a quick meal or drink before heading out at night, (it was reasonably priced). Overall, it was definitely the nicest hostel I've stayed in, and if we return to Newcastle my friends and I have already agreed it's where we'll be staying!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Hello L M

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

We were all delighted to read your comments on our facilities and services and it was fantastic to note that you seemed to enjoy everything about your stay.

Thanks again for the feedback and we hope you come and stay with us again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newcastle upon Tyne hotels
0.3 mi away
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
Tune Hotel - Newcastle
#20 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
501 reviews
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centre (New Bridge Street) Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle City Centr...
#38 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
Sleeperz Hotel Newcastle
#22 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Motel One Newcastle
Motel One Newcastle
#6 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
Hampton By Hilton Newcastle
#14 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,134 reviews
0.3 mi away
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
Staybridge Suites Newcastle
#1 of 84 in Newcastle upon Tyne
1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Hostel Newcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Hostel Newcastle

Property: Euro Hostel Newcastle
Address: 17 Carliol Square, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6UQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Tyne and Wear > Newcastle upon Tyne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Newcastle upon Tyne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Euro Hostel Newcastle 4*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now you can "budget stay - your way"... in Euro Hostel Newcastle. City centre location just 10 mins walk from Central Station and 2 blocks from world famous Grey Street. All rooms fully en-suite. Fabulous bar with cocktail menu. Food served all day. Dorms and private rooms available. Guest kitchen, laundry, dining and chill out room. FREE Wi-Fi available throughout the Hostel Bedrooms, Public Areas and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Euro Hostel Newcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Hostel Newcastle Hotel Newcastle Upon Tyne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing