We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Euro Hostel Newcastle
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Staybridge Suites Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$98
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Village Hotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Newcastle Metro Centre(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jesmond Dene House(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$124
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Newcastle Airport(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Malmaison Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$140
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
easyHotel Newcastle(Newcastle upon Tyne)(Great Value!)
US$59
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$52
Official Hotel Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Reviews (478)
    Filter reviews
    478 results
    Traveller rating
    129
    153
    83
    50
    63
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    129
    153
    83
    50
    63
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsbunk bedsprivate bathroombottom bunkperson roomstag dolaundry roombar downstairscity centresingle roomlate checkfamily roombeanswould stay againfull englishstayed one nightyogurtdormitory
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    297 - 302 of 478 reviews
    Reviewed 8 September 2013

    The room was a bit on the small side but ideal for what we needed it for (had a 5 bed room with en-suite - 2 sets of bunk beds, 1 with a double on the bottom, the other a single). Both the room and en-suite (wet room) were clean.

    Literally a five minute walk into town for the bars, restaurants and shops. We parked in the NCP car park round the corner on Carloil Street and only paid £5 for 24 hours parking as guests of the hostel.

    Had the free continental breakfast the next morning, there wasn't a lot of choice really, toast, yoghurts, fruit or cereal but can't complain considering we didn't pay for it, could have upgraded to the fry up (which looked great) for £4.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful - booking taxis, advising where to go for night out etc.

    Room Tip: I'd advise taking an extension plug as there were only two plug sockets in the room.
    • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Dashlette
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

    Hello Dashlette

    Thanks very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

    I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do hope we will see you again in the very near future.

    Thanks again.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 30 August 2013

    You can sometimes learn a lot from other reviews, even negative ones.
    At time of me writing this, the 'complain' pile is headed by someone who complained about being chucked out for being disruptive and noisy.
    Good for the management.
    If you look just bellow their complaint, you will see another from someone who had to suffer the above idiots.
    Perhaps we had a lucky two nights, but one thing that really impressed us, and in fact clinched our booking the stay was the management making it clear that drunken noisy bad behavior was not accepted. Stag/hen groups have to consult with them before bookings are accepted. There is a notice saying groups will be fined to pay compensation to the victims of such behavior. On our two nights there was some noise, but, hey, this is a hostel, not a high star hotel, and even the doors banging was at an acceptable level.
    .
    We enjoyed our stay. The place is not perfect.. some other reviewers comments have validity.
    - The rooms are small and the walls not overly sound proof.
    -Stairwell doors do bang
    - Other guests can be noisy - we had a little disturbance, but nothing to warrant a complaint.
    - The breakfast could be better. Tinned grapefruit would make a world of difference, and those rotary toast machines cause no end of bottle necks, - but overall it was.. OK.
    Certainly the catering area and service was very clean, and well looked after

    BUT.. for the price and location, you can accept the above as part of the deal, and i certainly would stay there again. The good points;

    Everything was totally clean and well maintained.
    Staff were informative, friendly and helpful.
    Management obviously did ;'give a damn' about our comfort and enjoyment.
    Superb location.

    Thank you staff, well done.

    By the way, I manage a Youth Hostel myself.

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank ray m
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2013

    Hello Ray M

    Thanks very much for your comments and feedback on your recent stay in Newcastle with Euro Hostel.

    Your comments were very much appreciated and I have ensured that all the team have been made aware.

    Thanks as well for your suggestions on improving our standards of service. We appreciate all feedback on our performance/.

    I do hope you will come and see us again soon. Thanks again for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 27 August 2013

    Just wanted to write a short piece to say how very impressed we were with the pleasant and helpful staff and the quality of the hostel. It was clean, friendly and provided everything we were after. Many, many thanks

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank Sweatmans
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

    Hello Sweatmans

    Thanks for your review on Euro Hostel Newcastle following your recent Stag Party.

    I was delighted that you and your party enjoyed your stay with us and the team looked after your group during your time with us.

    Thanks again for your comments and i hope to see you again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2013

    Had a nice stay this month in Euro Hostel in New Castle with a couple of friends. Prior to that we were in the Euro hostel in Glasgow and we were very pleased by our stay there as well. We had high hopes for this Euro hostel as well, and it did not let us down. Since it is New Castle we are talking about, the night life and all that jazz (it was also weekend) we were kind of scared it will be noisy during the nigh time, but to our surprise it wasn't. The hostel was quite during the night and busy and lively during the day. They have an amazing self catering kitchen, newly furbished rooms with TV. The only thing is the bathroom. It looked like a closet (in a 5 bed room). It was tiny and airplane like, plastic on the inside and all Narnia closet on the outside (it really is not bigger on the inside).

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank wanderer2702
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2013

    Hello Wanderer2702

    Thanks for taking the time to provide a review on your recent stay with Euro Hostel Newcastle.

    The team and I were so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, particularly as you had enjoyed staying with our sister site at Glasgow.

    Thanks again for your comments and we hope you will come and see us again soon.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 22 August 2013

    Hostel has a great location, just 15min walk from the train station and 15mins from the quayside where the millenium bridge crosses over to the baltic flour mill art centre and where river escapes boat tours leave from. Good if your driving because its just a few minutes after the Tyne bridge so you dont have to deal with driving through the centre of newcastle, there is an NCP car park around the corner and you get a voucher towards the price (it was £11.40 for 24 hours) when you stay in the hostel. Most of the residences were, like ourselves, there to sample the famous Geordie nightlife, which far exceeded our expectations. The hostel sells wristbands which get you discounted food drink and entry to local clubs and bars. Theres a really cool beanie room where people can hang out. Would say to opt for a private room if you are loooking to stay on a weekend and arent planning on going out. While we thought the banter in the rooms was great before going out I can imagine it would be a bit frustrating if you were wanting to get an early night.

    • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank cdavis1992
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Paul S, General Manager at Euro Hostel Newcastle, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2013

    Hello cdavis 1992

    Thank you for writing such a comprehensive review on your stay with us at Euro Hostel Newcastle.

    The team and I were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hostel and its location very much to your liking.

    I do hope you will come and see us again in the very near future.

    Thanks again for your review.

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews